Database List
G
| Gale Virtual Reference Library Collection of reference books covering, but not limited to, business and finance, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies and ethics. |
|
| GenderWatch Full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. A repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years. |
|
| General OneFile Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues. Formerly InfoTrac OneFile. note: Formerly known as InfoTrac OneFile |
|
| GEOBASE Abstracts for worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology and related disciplines published since 1980. Includes all references published in Geographical Abstracts journals. Indexes more than 5000 journals; as well as books, conference proceedings and reports. |
|
| Google Books Search the full-text of millions of books and magazines -click the "Full view only" button to find full-text books or magazines. Newer titles still under copyright can be searched, but the full-text is not viewable. Use the "Find this book in a library" link to see if the IC Library has the title. Enter 14850 to see a list of local libraries that own the book. If IC is listed, clicking on the link will take you to the record in the IC Library catalog, displaying its call number and availability. |
|
| Google Scholar Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't been indexed in other databases. Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available. |
|
| GPO Access Government Printing Office site. Links to official U.S.government documents such as the U.S. Code (USC) and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Search the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications in the middle of the homepage to find Congressional hearings, reports, etc. |
|
| |
GreenFILE An index drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. GreenFILE provides a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Nearly 300,000 records (full text for selected titles) from scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. |
| Grolier Online Passport Three encyclopedias: Encyclopedia Americana (all audiences), Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia (middle school and higher), and The New Book of Knowledge (elementary school and higher). Targeted for middle school and high school students. |
|
| Grove Art Online Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images. |
|
| Grove music online Music dictionary-encyclopedia: full-text, bibliographies, biographies, terminology, history, genres and links to images; incl. New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dictionary of Opera and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. Part of Oxford Music Online. |
|
| Gutenberg-e Collection of digital books from Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Subjects include Africa, colonial Latin America, South Asia, Europe before 1800, military history, history of foreign relations, history of North America before 1900, women's history, history of gender and more. |