Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search for keyword     Research by Subject

Resources with Audio Files


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    Academic OneFile Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.

    Alta Vista Audio Search Some full text Resource contains audio
MP3, Wave, Real Media, and other files.
    American Presidency Project Resource contains audio
A digital archive of the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from Hoover to Bush (1929 to present); see also IC Library stacks at: J80 .A283. The site also includes: inaugural addresses, radio addresses, fireside chats, debates, convention speeches, and party platforms.
    American Rhetoric Some full text Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A database of over 5000 full text, audio, and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates and interviews.
    AOL Video Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Video search portal. Users can also upload their own video or browse by: category (sports, music, television), channels (MTV, ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, etc), & TV Shows A-Z. This is the only portal that offers streaming ABC television programs. NBC and FOX programs stream from Hulu.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    AP Images Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
    Beolingus Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
More than 900,000 translations with examples and hints, explanations, synonyms, sayings, aphorisms, and quotations in English and German. Browse lists for special topics. Listen to German and English pronunciations spoken by native speakers.
    Bird Songs: Songs and Calls of Some New York State Birds Resource contains audio
Audio files of common bird calls.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    Birds of North America Online Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in North America. Features include images, sounds, data tables, conservation, management and priorities for future research.

    Borror Lab of Bioacoustics Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A collection of recorded animal sounds in the world -contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.
    Business Journalism.org : tutorials Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Combination of web & audio files provides a primer to a variety of topics such as how to cover: the Business of Health Care, Private Companies, the Business of Sports, S.E.C. filings, Financial Statements, use & interpretation of numbers and the Economy, etc.
    CCMixter Resource contains audio
ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.  Supports MP3, AAC, OGG, FLAC and WAV.  Celebrities such as David Byrne and the Beastie Boys have posted legally available samples for you to remix. Post and tag your samples as well. Sound clips are available to stream or download.
    Civil Rights Digital Library Some full text Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Chronicles the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s with primary sources and other educational materials. Search, or browse by events, places, people, topics, or media types to locate sound recordings, texts, visual works (including video clips), websites, and instructional material.
    Collect Britain Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs,newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings. Includes the Penny Illustrated Paper (1861-1913).
    Democracy Now! Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Independent news program hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.

    Digitale Sammlung Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A wiki in German, with a collection of links to digital resources from around the world with an emphasis on those in German.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    DRAM Some full text Resource contains audio
Scholarly music database containing recordings from nearly 2,300 albums and covers folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and more. Also features liner notes and essays from New World Records.

    ESPNU Resource contains video Resource contains audio
ESPN's college sports network includes news, scores, columns, video and audio highlights, podcasts and the live streaming of games.
    Eufeeds Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
    Europeana Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
European collection of cultural materials from museums, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. Includes images, texts, sounds and videos.
    FIR: The Hobson & Holtz Report Resource contains audio
Twice weekly commentary on public relations and technology by Shel Holtz & Neville Hobson.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff   ArticleLinker enabled General OneFile Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues. Formerly InfoTrac OneFile.
note: Formerly known as InfoTrac OneFile
    Grooveshark Resource contains audio
Search for and stream music online. Users can create accounts.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    Health Reference Center Academic Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Multi-source database providing access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Coverage is from 1980-present.

    Hobnox Resource contains video Resource contains audio
International entertainment media site where artists can submit their projects. Streaming video can be slow at times. [beta 4/08].
    Homeland Security Digital Library Some full text Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides  access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. HSDL content includes multi-media offerings.   Registration is required.

    Imooty Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
European news navigator
    Internet Archive Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form - includes links to images, live music, audio, text, and software.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    Jazz Music Library Resource contains audio
Growing collection of more than 120,000 jazz recordings. Content covers artists, performances and record labels in all jazz genres and time periods.

    Kidon Media Link Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.
    LibriVox Resource contains audio
Volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then release the audio files back into the public domain. LibriVox is a volunteer, open source, free content, public domain project.
    Link TV Some full text Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Broadcasts programs to educate and motivate viewers to become engaged in the world.  More about Link TV.

    MAAP: Mapping the African American Past Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A site created for the study of significant sites and moments in the history of African Americans in New York City from the early 17th-century through the recent past. Browse locations in New York and read profiles of people and events associated with these locations. The site includes film and music clips; photographs, documents, and maps.
    Macaulay Library of Animal Sounds Resource contains audio
Digital archive of animal sounds from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

    Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Some full text Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Covers a broad spectrum of medical and psychiatric disorders and their treatments.  Disorders are mainly organized according to organ systems primarily affected, on the basis of disciplines (e.g. gynecology, obstetrics etc.) Normally gives etiology, pathology, symptoms and signs, diagnosis, treatment.
    Moving Image Archive Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Library of free movies, films, and videos. The digital movies range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to videos of every genre uploaded by Archive users. Most of these movies are available for download.
    Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC): Archives Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Located in Chicago, the MBC provides publications, events, a searchable archive, and a Radio Hall of Fame to preserve and protect the history of radio and television. MBC's archives includes television and radio programming, commercials and images.  Users must register for a free account.  Check the Digital File Available box to retrieve fulltext.

    National Gallery of Art Classroom for Teachers and Students Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The National Gallery of Art website provides lesson plans for k-12 students, using art to teach English, environmental issues, geography, history, math, science, and social science.
    National Public Radio (NPR) Resource contains audio
A privately funded non-for-profit member organization, NPR.org produces news, talk, and entertainment programs.  Member stations offer national and local programming.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    Naxos Music Library Some full text Resource contains audio
A comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.  Works best on library computers with Internet Explorer. 
note: LIMITED TO 15 SIMULTANEOUS USERS
    Old Time Radio Network Library Resource contains audio
Audio files for over 12,000 vintage radio programs.

    On the Media Some full text Resource contains audio
On the Media is a National Public Radio Program that reflects on how the media covered events in the weekly news. It also discusses issues in the media such as freedom of information .

    Oyez : U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
User friendly website that contains biographies of Supreme Court justices, case decisions, and some transcripts audio of select cases.
    PACER Some full text Resource contains audio
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator via the Internet. PACER is provided by the federal Judiciary in keeping with its commitment to providing public access to court information via a centralized service.  There are fees associated with using PACER, but if your usage does not exceed $10 in a quarter, fees for that quarter are waived.

    Pandora Resource contains audio
Internet radio established in 2000 that uses the Music Genome Project to select songs that appeal to individual listeners.

    PodcastAlley.com Some full text Resource contains audio
Website with a podcast (audio programs that are broadcast over the internet) directory and the top 10 podcasts, as voted on by the listeners. Includes links to podcasting software, a service to upload and distribute podcasts, and a user forum.rn
    Prelinger Archives Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Over 48,000 films, over 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, advertisements and industry films)
    Presidential Libraries Podcasts Some full text Resource contains audio
Historical clips from the Presidential Library collections for Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton.  Listen to discussions about  policy issues with  advisors, addresses to the nation, and conversations with friends and family members.   Hear the presidents speak both publicly and privately about issues of their day.

    Public Health Grand Rounds (University of Albany) Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to streamed multimedia presentations on public health topics. Requires Realplayer.
    Smarthistory Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A multimedia web-book "designed as a dynamic enhancement  for the traditional art history textbook."  Visitors to the site will find several hundred artworks (along with videos and podcasts) organized thematically and by time period. Use the drop down menus to look for certain styles, artists, and themes.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff    Smithsonian Global Sound Some full text Resource contains audio
World' s music and aural traditions in streaming audio. Individual tracks of music, spoken words, and natural and human-made sounds; incl. published recordings from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels and recordings from Africa and South Asia. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
    Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS) Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Searching gateway for the Archives of American Art catalog, National Inventory of American Paintings Executed before 1914, Inventory of American Sculpture, Archives of American Gardens catalog, and other resources. Includes links to images, video files, and sound files.
    Teachers' Domain Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
An online educational service with collections and course materials that help teachers enhance student learning experiences and advance their own teaching skills. The site includes classroom-ready multimedia resources including video and audio clips, interactives, images, and documents. There are also explanatory background articles for each resource, links to state and national curriculum standards, media-rich lesson plans, and resource management tools.
    TV Guide: Online Video Guide Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Video portal that contains current tv clips, search engine, browse by genre, commercials, etc. Search by date, genre, and/or network.
    Vevo Resource contains audio
Site for streaming music videos created by a partnership between Universal Music Group, Sony Music Entertainment, and Abu Dhabi Media company.

    Vorleser Some full text Resource contains audio
German language audiobooks in mp3, from around 150 authors. Mostly German and European literature, with text links often included. For download at CD quality.
    Why Files Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Web site focuses on the theme of "science behind the news." Every two weeks, a new Why File is posted that deals with a current events issue in the news involving science. Each file contains graphics, audio and links. The site contains areas on sports science and "cool science images." Includes links to materials geared towards grades 5-12 education.
    Wikimedia Commons Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"a database of 2,413,359 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. ... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as the source and the authors are credited and as long as users release their copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. " -- Wikimedia Commons (Contains audio, sound effects, video, photographs and images)