Database List
Resources with Images
| Academic OneFile Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present. |
|
| Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals. |
|
| AdViews (Duke University) Over 1,500 historic TV commercials from the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in the Duke University Special Collections Library. As of fall 2009, the majority of advertisements are from the 50s and 60s. More ads, up to the late 80s will be available by the end of 2009. Requires iTunes software. |
|
| Aging Integrated Database (AGID) An on-line query system based on aging-related data files and surveys, and includes population characteristics from the Census Bureau. The system allows users to produce customized tables in a step-by-step process and output the results in print or spreadsheet form. |
|
| Alta Vista Image Search Search for photographs and graphics. |
|
| America's First Look Into the Camera From the Library of Congress American Memory project - a collection of daguerreotypes taken from 1838-1864 - includes portraits and architectural views. |
|
| American Ethnic Geography County-level choropleth maps which depict ethnic and ancestry groups in the United States, using data from the 2000 Census. The maps are in PDF format and require the Adobe Reader to view. |
|
| American Memory: Landscape and Architecture Digitized images and texts for the study of the American landscape and landscape architecture including panoramic maps, other maps (many of them illustrated), panoramic photographs, materials documenting the national parks, and environmental photographs. |
|
| American Sign Language Browser Michigan State University's ASL Browser Web site presents a video dictionary of thousands of animated ASL signs using QuickTime. |
|
| Anatomy of the Human Body The Bartleby.com edition of Grays Anatomy of the Human Body with color images. |
|
| Andrew's Test of an item with two location types |
|
| AOL Video Video search portal. Users can also upload their own video or browse by: category (sports, music, television), channels (MTV, ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, etc), & TV Shows A-Z. This is the only portal that offers streaming ABC television programs. NBC and FOX programs stream from Hulu. |
|
| AP Images Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials. |
|
| Archatlas An online atlas of archaeology that uses satellite imaging and electronic mapping to depict rnthe spread of agriculture, trade and urbanism. |
|
| archINFORM Database for international architecture includes worldwide architects and buildings from past to present, has over 14,000 built and unrealized projects from architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database. |
|
| Archnet Collection of Islamic architectural images - includes historical monuments, contemporary sites, and general views. |
|
| ARTstor Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page. |
|
| Asian American Drama The full-text of 186 plays by 35 playwrights. Search by author, play title, characters, scenes, subjects, years, productions, theaters, and companies. The database also contains playwright biographies, details on productions, theaters and theatrical companies, as well as production photographs, selected playbills and other information related to the plays. From Alexander Street Press. |
|
| Asian Historical Architecture Photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Over 14,600 photos of 744 sites in twenty countries, with background information and virtual tours. |
|
| Association of American Editorial Cartoonists (AAEC) Search or browse editorial cartoons from 1997 to current by searching the Cartoon Research Library Database. |
|
| Atlas of Human Anatomy A library of digital images of human anatomy. |
|
| Audubon's Birds of America Digitized images from Audubon's Birds of America. Site includes links to reprints from Audubon's Ornithological Biography, his five-volume text describing each of the birds. |
|
| Ayer's American Newspaper Annual and Directory Digitized directories of American newspapers (1869-1922) in image format with both low and high-quality images in PDF format. Geo. P. Rowell and Co.'s American Newspaper Directory was first published in 1869. In the 1880's it dropped the Rowell portion of the name. In the early 1900s, it was absorbed into Ayer's American Newspaper Annual |
|
| Beolingus More than 900,000 translations with examples and hints, explanations, synonyms, sayings, aphorisms, and quotations in English and German. Browse lists for special topics. Listen to German and English pronunciations spoken by native speakers. |
|
| Biology A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of biological science, including its history and issues. Includes articles on biology-related careers and important individuals, as well as topics from active transport to zoology research. Illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. Includes a glossary of scientific terms.rn |
|
| Birds of North America Online Life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in North America. Features include images, sounds, data tables, conservation, management and priorities for future research. |
|
| Black Drama The full-text of over 200 plays by 64 black playwrights. Searchable by author, play title, characters, scenes, subjects, years, productions, theatres, and companies, includes selected playbills, production photographs, and biographical information. From Alexander Street Press. |
|
| Business Journalism.org : tutorials Combination of web & audio files provides a primer to a variety of topics such as how to cover: the Business of Health Care, Private Companies, the Business of Sports, S.E.C. filings, Financial Statements, use & interpretation of numbers and the Economy, etc. |
|
| C. Hadley Smith Photograph Collection Digitized photographs of Ithaca College people, events, and buildings, from 1950 into the 1980s. Part of the regional "Tools of History" online database. |
|
| Cartoon Research Library Index to cartoons archived in the Ohio State University Cartoon Research Library. |
|
| Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts A centralized database of links to various medieval manuscripts online. Search across the database or browse around the collection by location, author, title, language, or repository. The database contains links to over 1000 manuscripts and more are being added on a regular basis. |
|
| Catena: Digital Archive of Historical Gardens + Landscapes A collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies. The images and intellectual content on this site should be used for educational purposes only. Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Note: Pop-up blockers on browsers must be disabled for viewing content. |
|
| The CIA World Factbook Provides basic history of all countries - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data. |
|
| Cities and Buildings Database A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world; intended for educational use. |
|
| Classical Scores Library Music database featuring over 400,000 pages of classical music scores, manuscripts and previously unpublished material. Users can search multiple types of scores across various composers, genres, and time periods. |
|
| Collect Britain Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs,newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings. Includes the Penny Illustrated Paper (1861-1913). |
|
| Costume Institute Database A searchable database of images of the Metropolitan Museum's Costume Institute collection, consisting of more than 30,000 costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries. Search by type of object, artist or maker, or date. |
|
| CQ Researcher Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. |
|
| Diagnostic Imaging for the Physical Therapist An introduction to diagnostic imaging. Includes explanations of various modalities (including MRI), plain and pathological films for upper and lower extremities and the spine, and selected cases with associated films and explanations. |
|
| Digi Zeitschriften Images of periodicals in Economics, English Languages, Geology, Germanic Languages, History, Law, Librarianship, Philology, Romance Languages, the Sciences, and Sociology. |
|
| Digital Archive of American Architecture Scans of 15,000 slides grouped by century from the 17th to the 20th. Each group can be accessed by location, architect, building type, and style. |
|
| Digital Collections: a Gateway to Materials held by the NY State Archives, Musuem, and Library Primary source material collections include: Native American Collection, Environmental History Collection, Harlem Hellfighters Collection, Factory Investigating Commission, NY Chamber of Commerce Portraits, NY Lantern Slides Collection, Fairchild Aerial Surveys, NY State Conservation Department Photographic Prints and Negatives, Erie Canal. |
|
| Digitale Sammlung A wiki in German, with a collection of links to digital resources from around the world with an emphasis on those in German. |
|
| Discovering American Women's History Online Links to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. |
|
| e-skeleton Project (National Science Foundation) Interactive comparison and examination of the human and gorilla skeletal systems. Requires Quick Time or VRML Player. |
|
| Early photography 1839-1860 : the Rijksmuseum, the Leiden Print Room and other Dutch public collections Online catalog of early photographs - covers a wide range of subjects, places, techniques and forms. The collections include portraits, city views and landscapes from the Netherlands, France, England, Germany and the United States. Techniques represented range from daguerreotypes to salted paper prints, glass negatives, paper negatives and photolithographs. |
|
| Early Visual Media by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television. |
|
| ebrary Over 45,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 175 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use. |
|
| EBSCO Image Collection Search for articles with images across EBSCO databases using the Image Search interface. Thumbnails will display in the results list when using this interface. |
|
| EduHound Education website with links to lesson plans, grants & funding sources, state assessment standards, worksheets and tutorials. |
|
| Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - 2nd edition Covers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day in the U.S. and throughout the Western hemisphere. Articles are signed by experts in the field and are accompanied by a selected bibliography. The appendix contains statistical data and a selection of primary source documents. Online version is the 2nd edition, c2006. |
|
| Encyclopedia of American Indian History Covers the period from precontact through European colonization; the years of non-Native expansion (including Indian removal); and the modern era of reservations, reforms, and reclamation of semi-sovereignty. Articles on key events, places, people, issues, and the histories of Native American nations. |
|
| Encyclopedia of Life An ambitious project whose goal is to compile everything known about the 1.8 million species on earth and create a comprehensive biodiversity website. |
|
| Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Covers European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. Includes 1,150 articles covering major topics in art, government, and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period. |
|
| Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. |
|
| Eufeeds News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country |
|
| Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction Profiles European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, with a focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments. |
|
| Europe, 1450 to 1789: an encyclopedia of the early modern world Survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. |
|
| Europeana European collection of cultural materials from museums, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. Includes images, texts, sounds and videos. |
|
| Facts.com: Editorial Cartoons Browse editorial cartoons by subject: Arts, Entertainment &the Media; Business, Labor &the Economy; Crime & Terrorism; Education; Environment; Families and Family Life; Human & Civil Rights; International Affairs; Judiciary; Medicine & Health Care; Minorities & Race Relations; Politics & Political Reform; Religion; Science and Technology; Sports; Wars, Weaponry & Military Forces; & Women |
|
| Fashion, Costume, and Culture. Covers clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear. Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. Illustrates how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs. |
|
| fotoerbe.de German historical photograph site. |
|
| The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine Presents current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. |
|
| Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer. A guide to cancer and its treatments. |
|
| Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders. Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. |
|
| Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. |
|
| Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health. Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals. |
|
| Gallery of Costume Images of costumes from the 18th to 20th centuries. |
|
| Gazettes (United Kingdom) Search 350 years of official government notices from London, Belfast and Edinburgh. Full-text searching and PDF results. |
|
| General OneFile Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues. Formerly InfoTrac OneFile. note: Formerly known as InfoTrac OneFile |
|
| Gottscho-Schleisner Collection - Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America A collection of over 29,000 images taken from 1935 to 1955. Primarily of American architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory Project. |
|
| Great Buildings Collection Portal to current and historical architecture around the world. Documents buildings and leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, and web links. |
|
| Grolier Online Passport Three encyclopedias: Encyclopedia Americana (all audiences), Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia (middle school and higher), and The New Book of Knowledge (elementary school and higher). Targeted for middle school and high school students. |
|
| Grove Art Online Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images. |
|
| Gutenberg-e Collection of digital books from Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Subjects include Africa, colonial Latin America, South Asia, Europe before 1800, military history, history of foreign relations, history of North America before 1900, women's history, history of gender and more. |
|
| HEAL: Health Education Assets Library A digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching resources, including images, for health sciences educators and learners. |
|
| Health Reference Center Academic Multi-source database providing access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Coverage is from 1980-present. |
|
| Healthfinder.gov Consumer health information from the US government, including a drug interaction checker and an encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from trusted sources. |
|
| HealthMap Website provides an interactive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. It integrates outbreak data of varying reliability, ranging from news sources to curated personal accounts to validated official alerts. The data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location. |
|
| Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Developed by the Metropolitan Museum of Art - study art history by date, geography, or theme. |
|
| Human Anatomy Online Interactive links to graphic depictions of the major physiological systems. |
|
| Image Permanence Institute Photography Timeline Timeline includes examples of images created using a variety of photographic processes. |
|
| Imooty European news navigator |
|
| Internet Archive A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form - includes links to images, live music, audio, text, and software. |
|
| The Ithacan (Ithaca College Student Newspaper) Historical issues of the Ithaca College student newspaper (1926-2002). Searchable by word for every article, photograph caption, and advertisement from the newspaper. Search current issues at The Ithacan Online. |
|
| JSTOR Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal (1 or more), keywords, author, title etc. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images. Results from image searches can be dragged from the website to your desktop and then used in a paper or presentation (for educational use only). |
|
| Kidon Media Link Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world. |
|
| Lambiek Comiclopedia Illustrated compendium of over 10,000 comic artists from around the world. Search for artists, books, strips or comic characters. |
|
| Library of American Civilization: titles available free on the web Online full-text links to scanned Google Books editions for selected titles from the microfiche collection of the Library of American civilization. |
|
| Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia A guide to the performing arts collections and resources at the Library of Congress that pertain to music, theatre, and dance. Each collection, exhibition or resource includes a descriptive summary. If the collection has been digitized or is available online, a link is provided. |
|
| Life Magazine Photo Archives (powered by Google) Search LIFE Magazine images by date or subject, from 1860s -1990s. |
|
| MAAP: Mapping the African American Past A site created for the study of significant sites and moments in the history of African Americans in New York City from the early 17th-century through the recent past. Browse locations in New York and read profiles of people and events associated with these locations. The site includes film and music clips; photographs, documents, and maps. |
|
| Major Acts of Congress. An illustrated encyclopedia of congressional acts from the earliest days of the American republic up through recent years. |
|
| Many Eyes Data analysis using visualizations to seek patterns. |
|
| Medline Plus - Sports Fitness Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus is updated daily and offers extensive information on prevention/screening, nutrition, specfic conditions, clinical trials, and research. |
|
| Medline Plus - Sports Injuries Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus is updated daily and offers extensive information on over 600 diseases and conditions. Their site provides access to an overview, research, treatment and an extensive list of specific conditions/injuries. |
|
| Mixed Messages: Tracking Political Advertising A database that includes political advertisements funded by campaigns, parties, committees, and independent advocacy groups. Most of the ads are tied to specific U.S. House, U.S. Senate, or gubernatorial races throughout the country. Some of the ads are more general "issue" or advocacy ads not tied to a particular race or candidate. |
|
| Molecular Workbench Museum of Models Animated, interactive models demonstrating principles of physics, chemistry, and biology. |
|
| Moving Image Archive Library of free movies, films, and videos. The digital movies range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to videos of every genre uploaded by Archive users. Most of these movies are available for download. |
|
| Museum of Online Museums Links to museums with an interesting online presence, exhibits of particular interest to design and advertising, and collections and galleries. |
|
| National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs Biographical treatments of notable scientists. |
|
| National Gallery of Art Classroom for Teachers and Students The National Gallery of Art website provides lesson plans for k-12 students, using art to teach English, environmental issues, geography, history, math, science, and social science. |
|
| National Gallery of Art: Collection Database Browsable and searchable database of the collection held at the National Gallery of Art |
|
| NBII Digital Image Library The National Biological Information Infrastructure's Digital Image Library includes images related to nature and the environment. Collections contain images associated with plant and animal species, scenic landscapes, environmental issues, wildlife management, and biological study/fieldwork. |
|
| New York Heritage Digital Collections A research portal to hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions. Search the digital collections from libraries, museum, and archives. |
|
| New York State Archives Images and video of New York are organized in categories: business & labor; environment & landscape; legal; military; people, groups, cultures; politics; and transportation. |
|
| New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Complete archive covering 1851-2005, fully searchable cover to cover; includes full text and full image, as well as advertising.&nbs Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates. The Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to display full-text and images. note: The direct link for the Historical New York Times will be at the bottom of the ProQuest database list. |
|
| Newseum Front pages from US newspapers and international newspapers are posted daily. Geographic and alphabetical by title searching is available. Viewing front pages provides a sense of how important a particular issue is to a specific region or country. |
|
| Nobel Laureates in Chemistry Website from the Nobel Foundation listing all Nobel Prize Laureates in Chemistry. Includes portraits. |
|
| NYPL Digital Gallery Over 275,000 digitized images from the New York Public Library's collection. Includes photographs, posters, historical maps and more. |
|
| NYPL Digital Library Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'. High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division. |
|
| Orthopedic FAQs and Patient Information FAQ for general orthopedic topics and specific faqs for the elbow, hand/wrist, shoulder, rnback, spine, knee, and foot & ankle. Developed by the Southern California Orthopedic rnInstitute. Includes images and video files. |
|
| Oxford Art Online Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online. |
|
| Oxford Companion to the Body Covers the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. |
|
| Oyez : U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia User friendly website that contains biographies of Supreme Court justices, case decisions, and some transcripts audio of select cases. |
|
| Perry-Castaņeda Library Map Collection Features historic maps as well as maps that are of current interest (for example, sites of natural disasters, political turmoil, etc.). Historic maps include digitized maps of U.S. cities, national parks, and monuments. |
|
| Photomuse A timeline of photography from 1830 to 2006. |
|
| Pictorial Americana Offers pictorial material on various phases of American life and history. Images are intended for educational use, but their inclusion within this collection does not imply that they are public domain. |
|
| Prelinger Archives Over 48,000 films, over 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, advertisements and industry films) |
|
| Proteopedia A collaborative web site that offers text descriptions of proteins and other biomacromolecules related to biological functions and disease, as well as interactive 3-D images. |
|
| PubChem Free database of biologically active chemical compounds from NCBI. Searching help is available here. |
|
| Public Health Grand Rounds (University of Albany) Links to streamed multimedia presentations on public health topics. Requires Realplayer. |
|
| Recovery.gov The U.S. government's official website provides easy access to data related to Recovery Act spending and allows for the reporting of potential fraud, waste, and abuse. |
|
| Researcher's Toolbox (Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division) Website provides information and methods for exploring image history, processes, content, and meaning. Includes a VIsual Literacy exercise and information on dating photographs based on clothing and portraiture styles. |
|
| Rumsey Historical Map Collection The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 13,600 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. |
|
| Shorpy Photo Archive High quality archive of old photos particularly from the 1850s to the 1950s. |
|
| Silent Film Still Archive Links to original photos, advertising, and other memorabilia from silent films. |
|
| SIRIS Image Gallery (Smithsonian) The Image Gallery includes over 266,300 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian. |
|
| Skull Module Online tutorial on the human skeleton. A thorough treatment of the bones of the skull, combining labeled bones and descriptive text. |
|
| Smarthistory A multimedia web-book "designed as a dynamic enhancement for the traditional art history textbook." Visitors to the site will find several hundred artworks (along with videos and podcasts) organized thematically and by time period. Use the drop down menus to look for certain styles, artists, and themes. |
|
| Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS) Searching gateway for the Archives of American Art catalog, National Inventory of American Paintings Executed before 1914, Inventory of American Sculpture, Archives of American Gardens catalog, and other resources. Includes links to images, video files, and sound files. |
|
| Sports Illustrated Vault 54 years of Sports Illustrated content, includes video and image content. |
|
| Stage Costume An online exhibit from the Victoria and Albert Museum in London that highlights stage costume designers, costume makers, and the costumes themselves. A "Guided Tour of Stage Costuming" has examples from the museum's collection. t"Designing Stage Costumes" and "Making Stage Costumes" are links which also contain explanatory text and original designer sketches. The "Links" section provides half a dozen websites of costume collections from around the world. |
|
| Teachers' Domain An online educational service with collections and course materials that help teachers enhance student learning experiences and advance their own teaching skills. The site includes classroom-ready multimedia resources including video and audio clips, interactives, images, and documents. There are also explanatory background articles for each resource, links to state and national curriculum standards, media-rich lesson plans, and resource management tools. |
|
| The Canadian Encyclopedia Comprehensive source for information on all things Canadian. |
|
| Theatre in Video Database uses streaming video to provide films of original productions of plays, along with film documentaries on the subject of theater. Contains more than 250 plays and 100 documentaries. Search by production, theater, director, actor, and dates. Requires Flash version 8 or higher. Create playlists and save clips to share with others. To obtain your free upgrade visit the Flash Player download page. note: NOTE: LIMITED TO 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS |
|
| Time Magazine Cover Archive Images of Time Magazine covers from 1923-current. |
|
| TimeSpace: World (Washington Post) Washington Post's interactive map that displays articles, photos, video & commentary from around the world. |
|
| Tineye TinEye is an image search engine that uses image identification technology. Given an image to search for, TinEye tells you where and how that image appears all over the web–even if it has been modified. TinEye lets you submit an image to find web pages that contain that image. |
|
| Tools of History Online access to historical materials of South Central New York. The Ithaca College Archives contributed to this collection. |
|
| Trademarkia Non-governmental free search engine for finding United States federally registered trademarks. |
|
| UCLA Library Digital Collections Image Collections included: AIDS posters, Architecture & Urban Design, History of Los Angeles, Primary Care Research Projects, Japanese American Relocation, Arabic & Persian Manuscripts, Sheet Music Consortium, Mexican & Mexican-American Musical Recordings |
|
| Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels Comic books and graphic novels beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists. Contains more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles. note: Available for one year only |
|
| VADS Online Resource for the Visual Arts. The Visual Arts Data Service holds over free 100,000 images for educational use. |
|
| Visual Dictionary Online from Merriam Webster Over 6,000 images which visually illustrate objects. Individual parts of the objects are labeled. Topics include animals, architecture, astronomy, art, clothing, communications, food, Earth, energy, games, gardening, household items, humans, kitchen items, machinery, plants, science, society, sports, and transportation |
|
| Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Complete archive covering 1889-1991, includes the full text and full image,and advertising.Search for names, events and concepts, see a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates.The Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to display full-text and images. |
|
| Wellcome Collection Over 40,000 high quality images in both color & black and white covering "2000 years of human culture". Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences. |
|
| WHO Global Health Atlas Data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels for analysis and comparison. The analysis of data is supported with demographic, socioeconomic, and environmental information. |
|
| Why Files Web site focuses on the theme of "science behind the news." Every two weeks, a new Why File is posted that deals with a current events issue in the news involving science. Each file contains graphics, audio and links. The site contains areas on sports science and "cool science images." Includes links to materials geared towards grades 5-12 education. |
|
| Wikimedia Commons "a database of 2,413,359 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. ... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as the source and the authors are credited and as long as users release their copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. " -- Wikimedia Commons (Contains audio, sound effects, video, photographs and images) |
|
| World Architecture Index : A Guide to Illustrations This reference guide helps pin-point images of well known buildings, gardens, plazas, monuments, gates and walls in a variety of architectural survey books. Includes references to elevations, drawings, exterior and interior views. |
|
| World Digital Library (United Nations) A collection of historical manuscripts along with secondary literature describing them—translated into seven different languages. The library includes scanned documents from 27 libraries in 19 countries so far. The project's ultimate goal is to put all of mankind’s most precious artifacts in a single, shared digital repository. |
|
| World factbook Gives basic history of all countries including map, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military among other. |
|
| World War I Document Archive Archive of primary documents from World War One - includes diaries, treaties, conventions, and images. |
|
| Worldmapper "A collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the rnsubject of interest. The maps presented on this website are equal area cartograms, which re-rnsize each territory according to the variable being mapped." |
|
| Yizkor Books Online The New York Public Library's Digital Yizkor Book Viewer provides digital images of 650 Holocaust memorial books. |