THEA 35100: Fund Raising for the Performing Arts

(Click to run targeted Subject searches in the IC Library catalog)
Arts--Audiences
Arts--Economic aspects--United States
Arts--Finance
Arts--United States--Finance--Case studies
Arts--United States--Management
Government aid to the arts--United States
Government aid to the arts--United States--Case studies
Arts fund raising--United States
Arts fund raising--United States--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Arts--Management
Arts--Marketing
Arts--United States
Arts and society--United States
Performing arts--Audiences
Performing arts--Economic aspects
Performing arts--Finance
Performing arts--Law and legislation--United States
Performing arts--Management
Performing arts--Marketing
Performing arts--United States
Theater--Economic aspects
Theater--United States--Finance
Fund raising
Fund raising--United States
Proposal Writing for Grants
Nonprofit organizations
Nonprofit organizations--Finance
Nonprofit organizations--Management
Corporate sponsorship
Note: The IC Library no longer subscribes to the Annual Register of Grant Support or the Foundation Directory. If you wish to consult the latest edition, the 2011 Foundation Directory and the 2011 Annual Register of Grant Support are available at the Tompkins County Public Library in downtown Ithaca or at Cornell University’s Olin Library.
Arts--Audiences
Arts--Economic aspects--United States
Arts--Finance
Arts--United States--Finance--Case studies
Arts--United States--Management
Government aid to the arts--United States
Government aid to the arts--United States--Case studies
Arts fund raising--United States
Arts fund raising--United States--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Arts--Management
Arts--Marketing
Arts--United States
Arts and society--United States
Performing arts--Audiences
Performing arts--Economic aspects
Performing arts--Finance
Performing arts--Law and legislation--United States
Performing arts--Management
Performing arts--Marketing
Performing arts--United States
Theater--Economic aspects
Theater--United States--Finance
Fund raising
Fund raising--United States
Proposal Writing for Grants
Nonprofit organizations
Nonprofit organizations--Finance
Nonprofit organizations--Management
Corporate sponsorship
Note: The IC Library no longer subscribes to the Annual Register of Grant Support or the Foundation Directory. If you wish to consult the latest edition, the 2011 Foundation Directory and the 2011 Annual Register of Grant Support are available at the Tompkins County Public Library in downtown Ithaca or at Cornell University’s Olin Library.
Among the Subject Headings available here are "Fund Raising" and "Grants in Aid," which can be combined with "Theater" or "Performing Arts" or "Arts" to retrieve articles about fund raising in these areas. If you use a Keyword search be sure to use a truncation symbol to cover slight differences in word form: theat* retrieves theater and theatre; grant* retrieves grant and grants. A more targeted keyword approach would be to enter the name of a performing arts company as a keyword phrase (by putting it in quotation marks): "oregon shakespeare festival" and combine it with some likely keywords or-ed together: fund or grant or money or donation. Among the Subject Headings available here are "Fund Raising," and "Grants," which can be combined with "Theater," "Performing Arts," or "Arts." If you use a Keyword search be sure to use a truncation symbol to cover slight differences in word form: theat* retrieves theater and theatre; grant* retrieves grant and grants. Run a Subject search on Theater and take a look at the "Related Subjects" for a long list of particular kinds of theaters. For each of these, as for Theater, you can open the "Subdivisions" and look for articles under "Economic aspects" and "Finance"--the biggies--or under Company sales & Earnings, Donations, Government Finance, Growth, Industry Forecasts, and Industry Sales & Revenue. An alternate approach would be to run a Subject search on "Fund Raising" or "Grants in Aid," open all the articles, and then in the search slot at the upper left enter "theater" or "performing arts" or "arts" as an additional Keyword. The “News” section provides very extensive national and international newspaper coverage, so this is a good resource for news of recent fund raising activities and awards in the arts . Since this is a Keyword search of 100% full text, change the default search “Anywhere in the Document” to “In Headline and Lead Paragraphs”—since this will help ensure that your search term is the main topic. Be sure to use the truncation symbol--an exclamation point--to cover alternative word forms: theat! retrieves theater and theatre; grant! retrieves grant and grants. And if you're looking for fairly recent stories on fund raising in the arts, be sure to set a limit in the "Specify date" field.
This is also a good database for targeting news stories about community and regional theater. Notice that under "Article Location" below the search slots you can choose to limit your search to news sources within a particular state.
This is also a good database for targeting news stories about community and regional theater. Notice that under "Article Location" below the search slots you can choose to limit your search to news sources within a particular state.
- National Endowment for the Arts: The NEA is the United States' largest annual funder of the arts. Under "Grants" click on "Recent Grants" and use the "By Discipline" tab to zero in on, for instance, "Theater " grants in 2011. Under "Research" see both "Research Notes" and "Research Reports" for recent statistical information on topics such as consumer spending on the Performing Arts. Under "Publications" see the "Annual Report" (click on the free pdf version to the right) for a financial summary of the fiscal year and profiles of some of the grants awarded. Just below the link to the annual report note that you can click on Dance, Musical Theater, and Theater for federal grant information. Under "Resources--Funding" see "State Arts Agencies & Regional Arts Organizations" for state and local funding.
- Grants.gov: A one-stop approach to all federal grants, with plenty of tutorial assistance for the grant application process. You can search grant opportunities by subject Category, including "Arts."
- Information on Grants Available in New York State: Try the New York State Council on the Arts Grants page.
- National Assembly of State Arts Agencies (NASAA): It pays to know potential donors and the rules they play by. Under Research see in particular Funding and Grant Making.
- Regional Arts Organizations: Funding: LInks to a half dozen regional arts organizations.
The Foundation Center: Many of the resources here must be purchased, but the Foundation Center allows you a free registration which gives access to some materials and allows you to sign up for newsletters on grant opportunities in your area of interest, for instance arts, or health, or the environment.
- Mouse over "Get Started: for the menu of options. Under "Learn About" there are free resources such as "Proposal Writing" and "Foundations and Fundraising," as well as some free resources under "Training Courses."
- On the "Get Started" menu also look at the "Topical Resource Lists," where you'll be able to find fundraising information by category (note "Corporate Philanthropy in the Arts"). You will find some linked online resources, some articles that you can locate by doing a "Journal Titles" search at the top of the IC Library home page, and some books that you can look for by title in the IC collection, the Cornell Library collection, and in the WorldCat database--though which you can place interlibrary loan orders.
- Also mouse over "Gain Knowledge" on the Foundation Center home page and take a look "Funding for the Arts," as well as the free resources available under "Research Studies," including "National Trends" and "Special Topic Trends," which in includes "Vital Signs: Arts Funding in the Current Economy October 2010." .
- Also mouse over "Find Funders" to access the "Foundation Finder"--where you can search by foundation name or city, state, zip code--or the "990 Finder" which offers free access to 990 PF forms.
GuideStar: 990 filings provide a financial x-ray of non-profit organizations--including many theaters and theater companies. Most resources here must be purchased, but the site does offer a free search of 990 filings with a Keyword component (use "advanced" search) so that in addition to searching specific organizations already known to you--Oregon Shakespeare Festival--you can enter terms likely to occur in the names of the types of organizations that interest you--theater/theatre--limit the location by city and/or state, and retrieve all the nonprofit organizations with those words in their name. After selecting one, choose "Forms 990 & Docs"--accessible via a free registration.
- Theatre Communications Group: TCG is a national organization that serves--and collects data from--almost 500 non-profit theatres across the country. Under "Grants" both "Grants at a Glance" and "Grants for Organizations" are helpful, and under "Tools & Research" note the database of "Theatre Profiles" and "Theatre Facts." Theatre Facts is an annual publication on not-for-profit theatre in America, for which TCG collects its own extensive data
- Fundsnet Art & Culture Grants: A list of organizations, foundations, agencies, and businesses that provide arts funding--with links to their sites.
- National Arts Marketing Project: Resources: Useful information, articles and best practices under "Featured Articles," "News Items," and "Profiles in Creativity."
- Americans for the Arts:Look under "information & Services" and "Networks" for imformation about arts funding and organizations providing it.
- Performing Arts Alliance: Advocacy group for arts funding. Visit the "Issue Center" for information on current funding needs and what is being urged to address them.
- Arts Funding Watch: An electronic newsletter from the Foundation Center. Full access requires (free) registration with the Foundation Center. There are links to many interesting resources here.
- Arts Activities: Selected data, including attendance and ticket sales for legitimate theater, touring companies, and non-profit theater.
- Economic Census for Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation--by state.
- Economic Census for Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation--national summary.
Noodlebib guides you through the required data entry for citation in the MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. It takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.
- MLA citation for books: in print, from databases, on the Web
- MLA citation for articles: in print, from databases, on the Web.
- MLA citation for Web and Multimedia resources, including Web sites, movies, DVDs, CDs, and videos.
- MLA in-text (parenthetical) citation (far less satanic than the first three).