AIDS

AIDS: A Research Guide

Best Bets

The HIV Knowledge Base  Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco.

AIDS.gov HIV/AIDS information from the Federal government about prevention, testing, treatment, research, and using new media in response to HIV/AIDS.

http://aidsinfo.nih.gov  Guidelines for the treatment and prevention of HIV/AIDS, information about drugs and vaccines, clinical trials, and a list of Internet links for further information.

http://aidshistory.nih.gov   Includes of interview transcripts of early work of NIH researchers, an image and document archive, a historical timeline, and other Internet links.
 
The Body  Information categories include: AIDS Basics and Prevention, Quality of Life issues, Government policy and advocacy, and a specific section for the recently diagnosed.

Newspapers

Find local and international news articles relating to AIDS.

New York Times (1851-2009)
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising.  Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.

Statistics

FedStats
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies that provide data and trend information on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention: HIV/AIDS 
Under "Resources by Format" in the left-hand menu, click on "Reports" and "Fact Sheets" to access statistical data.

Images

AIDS Images Library  
The AIDS Images Library is a searchable online library of AIDS-related images for medical professionals. Images, illustrations, and tables from this site are organized according to Disease, Type of Image, and Organ System.

AIDS Pictures / HIV Pictures  
A list of internet sources of AIDS and HIV images maintained by the University of Iowa's Hardin MD.

HIV & AIDS Posters  
Iimages of some of the HIV and AIDS posters that AVERT has collected in its archive from around the world. AVERT is an international AIDS charity.

HIV/AIDS Image Library (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)  
Images of clinical symptoms of HIV infection. Images can be downloaded, printed, archived, and distributed, free of charge, if credit is given to the original image contributor.

NYPL Digital Library
Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'.  High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division.

AP Images More than 7.8 million Associated Press primary-source photographs with original captions for every discipline. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, 2.5 million Associated Press news stories from 1997 on, and a professionally produced collection of more than 230,000 maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations, etc.

Organizations

AfroAIDSInfo  
"AfroAIDSinfo is an Internet project of the South African Medical Research Council (MRC)." Their Web site is divided into five main headings: Research, Health Profession, HIV and You, Policy, and Education.

AIDS.org  
"The mission of AIDS.ORG is to help prevent HIV infections and to improve the lives of those affected by HIV and AIDS by providing education and facilitating the free and open exchange of knowledge at an easy-to-find centralized Web site."

Center for AIDS Prevention Studies  
Established in 1986, CAPS conducts research "that will have maximum impact on the theory, practice, and policy of AIDS prevention." Their site is divided into the following sections: Research, Prevention Tool Kit, Publications, and Opportunities.

Project Inform  
"Project Inform is a national nonprofit, community based organization working to end the AIDS epidemic." Find treatment information, programs and services like the toll free confidential hotline, as well as background and donation information.

Staying-Alive.org  
"Growing from the tradition of annual documentaries, Staying Alive is expanding to include a multi-tiered campaign to promote awareness about and prevention of HIV/AIDS in the international youth community."

The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis, and Malaria  
"...created to dramatically increase resources to fight three of the world's most devastating diseases, and to direct those resources to areas of greatest need." View their global contributions and other information resources in the "AIDS/HIV" section.

Contact Us

Picture: Lisabeth Chabot
College Librarian
(607) 274-3182