Alumni Research Guide in the Health Sciences

 

Best Bets

Free Databases

PubMed
PubMed is the free version of Medline and provides over 20 million citations to biomedical articles back to the 1950 that includes links to sites with full-text articles and other related resources. Help with searching PubMed is available here.

PubMed -- Clinical Queries
This search filter provides citations to the evidence-based literature in the following five areas:
Therapy - information addressing the treatment of disease
Etiology - information addressing causation/harm of disease
Diagnosis - information addressing disease diagnosis
Prognosis - information addressing disease prognosis
Clinical prediction guidelines - data addressing the likelihood of disease presence or absence

PubMed -- Systematic Reviews
This search filter provides citations to the highest levels of evidence including: systematic reviews, meta-analyses and reviews of clinical trials.

PubMed -- Focused Topic Searches
This is a directory of pre-built concentrated searches on a variety of different topics.

OTseeker: Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Contains abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physical therapy. Most trials have been rated for quality.

TRIP Database
A medical search engines that indexes clinical evidence-based literature.

GoogleScholar
Searches a variety of different disciplines and offers some full-text in different formats.
 

Getting Access to Full-Text Articles

Lonesome Doc
Lonesome Doc is a fee-based service that works within PubMed for ordering full-text articles. To begin, one must find a library that uses DOCLINE® (NLM's automated interlibrary loan request and referral system) to act as the "ordering library." To find a nearby library, contact the Regional Medical Library (RML) by calling 1-800-338-RMLS (7657), Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM in all time zones. Once an agreement is established, one can register with Loansome Doc and start ordering articles (fees vary from library to library). To order articles in PubMed, simply select the article(s) that you'd like and then select "send to order" from the pull down menu. Next, logon to Loansome Doc and complete the application.

PubMed Central

PMC is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

PLOS

Public Library of Science is a non-profit organization committed to providing access to the scientific and medical literature. Search their journals here.

Free Medical Journals

Free Medical Journals provides access to over 500 full-text medical journals. The coverage ranges from immediate, 1-6 months, 7-12 months, and later. There is also a free subscription to journal alerts.

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

APTA

   The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) offers members access to Open Door which is their portal for evidence-based practice information including databases and health care literature from ProQuest, Joanna Briggs Institute, the Cochrane Library, and more.