Automate Your Research


Alerts are designed to keep you up-to-date on a specific research topic - save your search online and set it up to run regularly and find any newly published content. When new articles that match your search are published, you will receive an email alert. You can also receive this information as an RSS feed. Alerts can be created for many journals and databases - In order to receive research alerts, you will need to set up individual accounts in the individual databases.
CSA DATABASES
To set up a new Alert, first run a search strategy in the selected database. Click on the "Alert Me" link and set up an account - a login will be required. The saved Alert will be automatically search the selected databases for new content every week. You can then log in to "My Research" to view your saved searches.
CSA Databases: PsycInfo, PsycArticles, Philosopher's Index
EBSCOHOST DATABASES
To save a search as an Alert that can be automatically run, click the Alert radio button. The Save Alert Screen appears. Enter a Name and Description for the Alert and choose options such as frequency - saved searches are run at your selected frequency and the results are sent to your email address.
After you create a My EBSCOhost account, you can:
GOOGLE ALERTS
Search engine Google and its Google Scholar search have begun offering a service that allows users to set up and manage alerts. The URL for that feature is http://www.google.com/alerts
LITERATURE ONLINE (LION) With MLA DATABASE
Click on the "My Archive" tab in the left sidebar. My Archive allows you to create your own personalized area of Literature Online in which you can:
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) WORKING PAPERS
Register to receive notifications of new working papers and data releases. The Library has subscriptions for the working papers on Labor Studies and The Economics of Education.
PROJECT MUSE DATABASE
Click on the "Tools and Resources' tab at top. You can: Click on the '"Alerts" tab and set up an account. You will be able to:
PROQUEST DATABASES
ProQuest offers Alerts for specific searches, and for publications. Both options begin with a search. On your search results page, click "Set Up Alert" or "Create RSS Feed". Complete the required information and click Save. You will see a confirmation page, summarizing your information. If the information is correct, click Done. Otherwise, you can click Delete this Alert to delete the alert.
Proquest Databases: ABI/INFORM, Ethnic Newswatch, GenderWatch, Education Journals, Health Management Journals, Psychology Journals, Social Science Journals, Proquest Research Library
SCIENCEDIRECT DATABASE
Click on the "Alerts" tab and set up an account. You will be able to:
To set up a new Alert, first run a search strategy in the selected database. Click on the "Alert Me" link and set up an account - a login will be required. The saved Alert will be automatically search the selected databases for new content every week. You can then log in to "My Research" to view your saved searches.
CSA Databases: PsycInfo, PsycArticles, Philosopher's Index
EBSCOHOST DATABASES
To save a search as an Alert that can be automatically run, click the Alert radio button. The Save Alert Screen appears. Enter a Name and Description for the Alert and choose options such as frequency - saved searches are run at your selected frequency and the results are sent to your email address.
After you create a My EBSCOhost account, you can:
- Save Your Preferences
- Organize your research with folders
- Share your folders with others
- View others' folders
- Save and retrieve your search history
- Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds
- Access your saved research from anywhere
GOOGLE ALERTS
Search engine Google and its Google Scholar search have begun offering a service that allows users to set up and manage alerts. The URL for that feature is http://www.google.com/alerts
LITERATURE ONLINE (LION) With MLA DATABASE
Click on the "My Archive" tab in the left sidebar. My Archive allows you to create your own personalized area of Literature Online in which you can:
- store saved searches and selected records between sessions
- sign up to to receive the Literature Online newsletter
- register for author email alerts
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) WORKING PAPERS
Register to receive notifications of new working papers and data releases. The Library has subscriptions for the working papers on Labor Studies and The Economics of Education.
PROJECT MUSE DATABASE
Click on the "Tools and Resources' tab at top. You can: Click on the '"Alerts" tab and set up an account. You will be able to:
- Sign up for Email Journal Alerts - Receive email notification when new issues become available.
- Search Plug-in for your browser - Install the plugin to search MUSE from any page on the web.
- Bookmark and Share - Create bookmarks (tags) for favorite MUSE pages.
- Subscribe to RSS Feeds - Receive a feed when new issues become available.
PROQUEST DATABASES
ProQuest offers Alerts for specific searches, and for publications. Both options begin with a search. On your search results page, click "Set Up Alert" or "Create RSS Feed". Complete the required information and click Save. You will see a confirmation page, summarizing your information. If the information is correct, click Done. Otherwise, you can click Delete this Alert to delete the alert.
Proquest Databases: ABI/INFORM, Ethnic Newswatch, GenderWatch, Education Journals, Health Management Journals, Psychology Journals, Social Science Journals, Proquest Research Library
SCIENCEDIRECT DATABASE
Click on the "Alerts" tab and set up an account. You will be able to:
- Save searches
- Create Search Alerts, Volume/Issue Alerts and Citation Alerts
- Create a Favorite Journal List which you can browse and search
RSS is a technology that allows you to subscribe to "feeds" in order to keep up with news from websites (including blogs) and journal table of contents without having to actually visit the website every day or having your email cluttered with updates. See the Library's Guide on setting up feeds: RSS for Research.
