Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) is defined as "a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine."
Bandolier
Abstracts cover the evidence about complementary and alternative therapies for consumers and professionals.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Sample search strategy for articles on diabetes and complementary therapies:
"complementary therapies" in MM AND "diabetes" in SU
CINAHL Covers alternative and complementary therapies.
MedlinePlus Complementary and Alternative medicine - resources for health consumers that have been reviewed and selected by staff of the National Library of Medicine.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
PsycINFO
Covers complementary and alternative medicine sources for mental disorders, stress reduction, psychological and behavioral processes, and neuroimmunology.
ScienceDirect Covers complementary therapies in medicine and clinical practice.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Covers alternative medicine as applied to injury prevention, rehabilitation, and nutrition.
Dietary Supplements
Mayo Clinic: Complementary & Alternative Medicine
HerbMed
An interactive, electronic database of evidence-based scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
Abstracts cover the evidence about complementary and alternative therapies for consumers and professionals.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Sample search strategy for articles on diabetes and complementary therapies:
"complementary therapies" in MM AND "diabetes" in SU
CINAHL Covers alternative and complementary therapies.
MedlinePlus Complementary and Alternative medicine - resources for health consumers that have been reviewed and selected by staff of the National Library of Medicine.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
PsycINFO
Covers complementary and alternative medicine sources for mental disorders, stress reduction, psychological and behavioral processes, and neuroimmunology.
ScienceDirect Covers complementary therapies in medicine and clinical practice.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Covers alternative medicine as applied to injury prevention, rehabilitation, and nutrition.
Dietary Supplements
Mayo Clinic: Complementary & Alternative Medicine
HerbMed
An interactive, electronic database of evidence-based scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
- Advances in Mind-Body Medicine
- Alternative Medicine Review: A Journal of Clinical Therapeutics
- Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine
- American Journal of Chinese Medicine
- BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Complementary Therapies in Medicine
- Evidence-based Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Homeopathy Online: a journal of homeopathic medicine
- Internet Journal of Alternative Medicine
- Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine (Search in Academic Search Premier database)
- Journal of Complementary and Integrative Medicine (Search in SportsDiscus database)
- Journal of Ethnopharmacology (Search in ScienceDirect database)
- Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics (Search in ScienceDirect database)
- Journal of Natural Products (Search in American Chemical Society Web Editions Database)
National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine
White House Commission on Complementary & Alternative Medicine Policy
Native American Ethnobotany "Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants."
Alternative Health News Online
Website provides links to alternative and conventional health news.
Online Archive of American Folk Medicine
White House Commission on Complementary & Alternative Medicine Policy
Native American Ethnobotany "Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants."
Alternative Health News Online
Website provides links to alternative and conventional health news.
Online Archive of American Folk Medicine
Women's Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine - Ref. R733 .G34 2001
Encyclopedia of Alternative and Complementary Medicine - Ref. R733 .N38 2004
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine - Ref. R733 .G34 2001
Encyclopedia of Alternative and Complementary Medicine - Ref. R733 .N38 2004