Community Centers: Grant Writing

People with Disabilities

     

Southside Community Center

IC Library Print & Media Resources

Mentoring
Mentoring in education
Children and adults
Counseling in secondary education
Helping behavior

Teenage girls
Teenage girls--Attitudes
Teenage girls--Psychology
Teenage girls--United States
Teenage girls--United States--Social conditions
Teenage mothers--United States
Teenage pregnancy
African American teenage girls--Attitudes
African American teenagers--Psychology
Hispanic American students--Social conditions
Hispanic American teenage girls--Social conditions
Teenagers--United States
Teenagers--United States--Attitudes
Teenagers--United States--Social conditions

High school students
High school students--Psychology
High school students--United States
High school students--United States--Attitudes
High school dropouts--United States
Dropouts--United States

Youth with social disabilities--Education--United States
Youth with social disabilities--United States
Problem youth
Social work with youth--United States

Adolescent psychology
Emotions in adolescence
Identity (Psychology) in adolescence
Peer pressure in adolescence
Risk-taking (Psychology) in adolescence
Self-esteem in adolescence
Self-perception in adolescence

               ______________________________

Community gardens--United States
Community gardens--United States--History--20th century
Agriculture, Cooperative
Agriculture, Cooperative--United States
Farm produce--Marketing
Farm produce--United States--Marketing
Collective farms--United States
Agriculture--Economic aspects--United States
Vegetable gardening

Community development--United States
Community life
Community organization
Community organization--United States
Community power
Neighborhoods--United States
Community centers  [no relevant or current holdings at IC, but this Subject Heading may be available in various databases.]

IC Library Databases

 General OneFile :
     Our most user friendly database, Take advantage of the default Subject search.  Among the Subject headings available here are Mentoring and Community Gardens.  For each of these click "View Subdivisions" where you'll find links to subheadings such as Design and Construction, Economic Aspects, Educational Aspects, Evaluation, Environmental Aspects, Management, Psychological Aspects, and Social Aspects.  If there isn't an exact enough subdivision offered, open all the articles and in the upper left use the "Refine results" slot for a keyword search.

ProQuest Research Library :
     A comprehensive database with a lot of full text.  Click "Continue" on the opening screen and at the search screen open the "More Sarch Options" tab on the lower left.  Note that you can "Look Up Subjects" to the right of the Subject slot.  Among those available here are Mentoring, Mentoring Programs, Mentors, and Teenagers.  Community Gardens is also a Subject Heading, but you'll get larger retrievals with Gardens and Neighborhoods or Gardens and Community Development.  Use the "Citation and Abstract" keyword searches above for any fine tuning.  And note that Proquest will suggest related Subject searches at the the top of your retrievals.

PsycINFO :  
     The American Psychological Association use their own Subject vocabulary (called "Descriptors"), so a visit to the "Thesaurus" below the search slots is a good idea. If you find an article on exactly what you want, be sure to check the assigned "Descriptors" on the right of the citation for more ideas about useful search terms.  Among the Descriptors used here is Mentor, which you can combine with the "Age" limit "Adolescence" below the search slots.  There is no Descriptor for Community Gardens, so run "community garden*" as a Keyword phrase search (* is the truncation symbol: garden* retrieves garden, gardens, and gardening).  This returns a handful of promising-sounding articles.  
     PsycINFO deals only with scholarly literature, much of it assuming a graduate-level understanding of the discipline.  But among these you may find interesting, accessible articles on your topic.  
     User Advisory: If what you're searching for are "journal articles only" in "English," it's a good idea to check those boxes (below the search slots).  And if you want to confine your attention to Iraq and Afghan veterans, set the date limit accordingly.

     Because it’s a large database with a great deal of full text, the absence of Subject searching means that your Keyword searches will often retrieve large sets of articles, many of which mention but don’t discuss your search term(s). One way around this is to limit your initial search to the “Abstract Title Keyword” field. Once you have found an article that sounds on-target, click the “Related Articles” link beneath the citation For Community Gardens, begin with a search in the "Abstract Title" field on--"community garden*"  Note: * is the truncation symbol in this database so, for example, garden* retrieves garden, gardens, and gardening.  This will retrieve a handful of promising articles--and be sure to click on the "Related Articles" link under the best-sounding ones.  For Mentoring do an Abstract search on Mentoring and the scroll down to the article titled "Beyond the norm: Extraordinary relationships in youth mentoring"  and click the "Related Articles" link.
     User Advisory: Don't settle for the default "Quick Search"--open "Search" for the full range of options. Among thse you can uncheck "All books," which is recommended if you're looking for articles.  And if you open the "Dates" drop-down menu you'll find a much wider range of options than the default 10 year span.
     As the name implies, an excellent database for social issues. Click on the "Subject Terms" link above the search slots to find which Subject Headings will work here. Double click any Heading for a list of broader, narower, and related Subject Terms.  Among the best Headings available here are Mentoring or Mentors, which can be combined with Teenagers or Teenage Girls, and Community Development, which can be combined with garden* as a Keyword (* is the truncation symbol here: garden* retrieves garden, gardens, and gardening).
    
 LexisNexis Academic :
     Our best national, international, and local newspaper coverage--100% full text.  Don't settle for the default "General" search--choose "News."  Then change the default "Anywhere in document" search to "In headline & lead paragraphs" (otherwise a keyword searche of full text will retrieve too many irrelevant hits). Using "Specify date" to select a time range also helps narrow your results--for example, 5 years. Then try either "community garden!" or mentor! and girls and (youth or teenage!).  The exclamation  point ! is the truncation symbol here, so that mentor! retrieves mentor, mentors, and mentoring.

ArticleLinker

 
Most IC Libary databases contain only some full text.  If the article you want is not availabe full text from the database you are searching, check below the citation for one of the images above.  This is ArticleLinker and if available it will search a wide range of other IC Library databases, retrieving links to any full text it finds.

Web Resources

Web Sites

  • Mentor: Leading non-profit organization in this area, with a good deal of helpful content--especially under "Find Resources" and "Access Research."  And see their State Mentoring Partnerships.
  • National Mentoring Center--from Education Northwest--with lots of full text documents under "Resources" (be sure to use the "Resource Focus" headings on the left).  Also see their Mentoring Forums (free registration required).
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters: Some general mentoring information here if you follow the "more information' link at the bottom.
      ____________________

  • Community Gardens: Site for the State of Washington, but with lots of linked information relevant to such projects anywhere.
  • Community Gardening Resources:  This site is in support of community gardens throughout New York City, but the linked resources are good, as are the links to individual community garden Web sites.
  • Community Gardens: from the Garden Web, this is a national forum--message board--on all aspects of operating a community garden.  Eavesdrop or ask questions
  • Yahoo Directory: Yahoo started out as a "Directory"--a database where each Web site was assigned to quite detailed categories and where you searched the categories rather than the full text.  The category structure still exists and includes Community Gardens.

Google Search Engine

  Google Advanced Search: When doing research on the Web, always use the Adanced Search version of Google. This not only provides more flexibility in entering search terms, but more importantly it allows you to target the Web domains that are likely to provide the most authoritative information.
Under "Need More Tools?" you will find the "Search within a site or domain" slot. You may enter only one domain at a time, but it's worth targeting each of the three domains likely to supply the best information: colleges and universities (enter the "edu" tag), nonprofit organizations (enter the "org" tag), and the United States government (enter the "gov" tag).

Citation Help

Noodlebib

Noodlebib guides you through the required data entry for citation in the MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. It takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.

MLA

  1. MLA citation for books: in print, from databases, on the Web
  2. MLA citation for articles: in print, from databases, on the Web.
  3. MLA citation for Web and Multimedia resources, including Web sites, movies, DVDs, CDs, and videos.
  4. MLA in-text (parenthetical) citation (far less satanic than the first three).