Library Resources For Users with Accessibility Needs

Accessibility Support

Library Resources: Text-to-Speech Services

Several of the Library's databases offer TEXT-TO-SPEECH capabilities.

Ebrary ebook database:


To assist visually-impaired users, ebrary can be displayed in a screen-readable, text-only mode that works with a user’s own text-to-speech program, such as JAWS.  

To request this mode:

Step 1 – Contact Calida Barboza - she will request the screen-readable, text-only option for an individual user.  ebrary will need the user’s personal ebrary account username.

Step 2 – The user can then activate the text-only mode as follows:

a) Go to your ebrary site and log in to your personal ebrary account

b) Click on the “My Settings” button at the top right of the ebrary page

c) Click “Edit Settings”, then under “Additional Settings” click “Enable Accessibility Mode”

d) Click “Save Changes”

e) Once those changes are made, anytime the user is signed in to their bookshelf account, all documents opened in QuickView will be viewed in the special screen-readable, text-only mode

f) The user can then use QuickView in conjunction with JAWS or another text-to-speech program

For tips on using Jaws with ebrary Accessibility Mode, see: http://support.ebrary.com/kb/jaws-tips/

Ebsco Databases:



Locate an article in HTML format you would like to have read to you.


From the Accent Drop-Down Menu, select an accent in which you would like the article to be read.



From the Reading Speed Drop-Down Menu, select a reading speed in which you would like the article to be read.



Check the Listen Button to hear the article read aloud.

-OR-

Click the Download MP3 link to download an MP3 file of the article being read to your computer.

Note:  The Listen and Download MP3 functions are also available in the Academic OneFile database.

Click the Help Link  to view instructions on using Text-to-Speech in your browser window.


You can also highlight the text you want read aloud and click Listen.



LISTENING TO ARTICLES WHICH OPEN AS A PDF IN ADOBE:



Click on the Link to open the article and Go to "View" in the Menu Bar



Chose "Read Out Loud" and Click on "Activate Read Out Loud"

Academic OneFile Database:

 

Gale Databases provide a Listen function for full-text articles. This can be found on the detailed display screen, which can be accessed by clicking on the title of the article from the search results.  Articles that are not in full-text do not have this option. 

Further detail can be found at: http://www.cengage.com/accessibility/

JSTOR Database:

  See: http://www.jstor.org/page/info/about/policies/accessibility.jsp

Lexis-Nexis Database:

 

This database is complex and uses frames.  For keyboard users it is recommended that you use F6 and SHIFT+F6 to move between the frames.  There are a few drop down boxes that refresh the screen as soon as you use the arrow key to move to the next option when using Internet Explorer.  To open the drop down box and then select the option you want ,press ALT+ DOWN ARROW, select  your preferred option using UP and DOWN ARROW and then press ENTER to activate it.   The search results pages have five frames.  Listed below are the headings of each frame with a brief explanation of what they cover:
  • Global Navigation Frame enables you to go back to the LexisLibrary start page
  • Results Navigation Frame allows you to manipulate your references by changing the sort order, email and save them etc
  • Results Classification Frame separates and groups the results under type of publication
  • Right Side Frame can be ignored
  • Results Content Frame lists your results

Project MUSE database: 

Instructions for screen reader users:
  • To search from initial page list the links and select Search.  Search results are displayed in the order of check box, result number, reference details and then View HTML and View PDF to read the full text.  Select View HTML, which includes heading levels to aid navigation.

Sage Full-Text Collections

(Communication Studies, Health Sciences, Psychology, Sociology)
Instructions for screen reader users:
  • All full text is in pdf format, which is not tagged and needs to be converted using Adobe Reader.  Article titles are not linked, so the two following methods may help you access results more easily.  If you list the Form Fields on the page you will be able to hear the article titles as they have been attached to the relevant check box.  Press Enter to check the box and move to that article title on the page.  Select the plus key on the number keypad to change to virtual pc cursor mode.  Choose to read the page and you will hear the article title, check box and links to Abstract, Full Text  (PDF) etc.  
  • Alternatively check the boxes for the articles you are interested in, list Form Fields and choose first, "Add to My Marked Citations" then "View/Edit My Marked Citations" and press Enter.  Your selected citations will display on one page and the article titles are listed as Heading Level 3.  Choose the article you are interested in and you will hear the article title, reference details, links to Abstract, Full Text (PDF) and References, followed by the abstract.  
  • If you browse to a journal issue, the articles are in the format: check box, author name, article title, journal title and links to Abstract, PDF and References.  You can listen to the article titles by listing the Form Fields on the page, as they have been attached to the relevant check box.  As mentioned in the previous paragraph move to the article title and change to virtual pc cursor to access the relevant PDF link. 


 

Contact Us

Picture: Lisabeth Chabot
College Librarian
(607) 274-3182

Library Resources: Closed Captions/Subtitles

Many of the DVD and VHS titles in the Library's collection are available with Close Captioning and English subtitles.  All media is available at the Multimedia Services Desk.  Viewing and Listening Stations with DVD and CD players are available next to Multimedia Services.  

Headphones are available at the Main Circulation Desk.  

See this list of Media with Closed Captioning,

See this list of Media with English Subtitles.  

Users that need other media to be captioned should contact The Office of Student Disability Services.

Audio Books

The Library has a collection of current fiction and nonfiction audio books in MP3 format.  They are shelved on the Main Floor across from the Circulation Desk.

Apple Devices

Apple’s iPod, iPad, and iPhone are fully accessible to people with print disabilities.  You can buy an application called Read2Go
and then merely touch the screen to access text-to-speech, highlighting, and font and color manipulation.

Bookshare

Bookshare is a searchable online library of over 140,000 digital books, textbooks, teacher-recommended reading, periodicals and assistive technology tools for readers with  print disabilities. It is free for all U.S. students with qualifying disabilities.

Student Accessibility Services

Student Accessibility Services has a variety of specialized software programs and adaptive technology services that are available for use by students registered with the Office of Academic Support Services.  This equipment is also available for use by faculty members.

Equipment available includes but is not limited to:
  • Braille Embosser – allows printing of text documents in Braille for visually impaired students.
  • Tactile Image Enhancer – raises printed images so that a student who is visually impaired can feel the images.
  • Assistive Listening Devices – equipment that makes auditory information accessible to those with hearing loss.
  • Thermal Pen – raises images so that a student who is visually impaired can feel the images.
  • Screen Readers – software that reads text material aloud through speech synthesis tools
  • Dragon Naturally Speaking – voice recognition software that allows a student to increase typing efficiency.
  • Kurzweil 3000 – a software package that allows a student with learning disabilities to receive media in multiple formats.