EXSS 16200: Introduction to Fitness and Exercise Science

Introduction to Fitness and Exercise Science

Library Basics

What is the Catalogue?
Search the catalogue to find books, journals (not articles), videos, musical scores, and much more!
How do I Find ebooks?
Search eBrary for access to over 50,000 scholarly e-books on a variety of topics.
How do I Find Journal Articles?
Databases are where you go to locate articles of various types: scholarly, magazine, newspaper. We also have searchable encyclopedias , statistical and data tools, image, music, and more!  Each database is unique, allowing you to electronically search a different pool of resources.

Defining Your Research Question

  • Determine and define the clinical problem
·       Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
  • Generate a list of keywords using PICO
·       Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
·       Intervention
·       Comparison (if any)
·       Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provides full-text materials, abstracts and citations to patient and consumer health information.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This is a great tool for finding sports medicine, fitness, coaching and education articles.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
A comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text.  This is the cadillac of all health and research databases.
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary source indexes scholarly journals, popular magazines, and current events; there is something for everyone!

Find and Evaluating Websites

Websites
Google Advanced Search: A sophisticated way to search Google by limiting to a specific domain: .com, edu, gov
The Science Behind the News: A great news source for science, technology and math published by the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
MedlinePlus: Sports Fitness: A great place for consumer health information published by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
MyPyramid.gov: An updated version of the "food pyramid" that places emphasis on exercise along with a proper diet.

Evaluating Websites: Johns Hopkins Guide to Evaluating Internet Information
  • Authorship
  • Publishing body
  • Point of view or bias
  • Referral to other sources
  • Verifiability
  • Currency
  • How to distinguish propaganda, misinformation and disinformation
  • The mechanics of determining authorship, publishing body, and currency on the Internet

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Library Exercise

Citing Sources Using APA

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for many disciplines in the social sciences. The current edition is the sixth (2010).