EXSS 36100: Medical Science II

Search the Catalog
- Gould BE & Dyer RM. Pathophysiology for the Health Professions, 3rd ed. Philadelphia, PA: Saunders Elsevier; 2006.
- Groopman JE. How Doctors Think. Boston, Ma: Houghton Mifflin Company; 2007.
Determine and define the clinical problem
· Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
Generate a list of keywords using PICO
· Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
· Intervention
· Comparison (if any)
· Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)
· Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
Generate a list of keywords using PICO
· Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
· Intervention
· Comparison (if any)
· Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)
BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
EBP DATABASE
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
EBP DATABASE
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
AMA Manual of Syle is the online style guide for the American Medical Association. The AMA style is used in the field of medicine and other related fields such as physical therapy and public health. The in-text citations are numbered superscripts that correlate with the numbered references in the bibliography that appear in the order that they are cited. At present, the manual is in its 10th edition (2007).
Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine - Duke University's and UNC-Chapel Hill's interactive tutorial
Evidence Based Practice Tutorial - University of Minnesota's interactive tutorial
Evidence Based Medicine - Duke University's guide to understanding the practice of EBM.
EBM Tutorial: Developing a Clinical Question -- Boston University's Guilde to EBM.
How to Form Answerable Clinical Questions -- Cincinnati Children's PDF with lots of clinical scenarios
Basic Evidence Links -- Cut-n-Paste the link to see University of Southern California's list of great EBM resources.
Evidence Based Practice Tutorial - University of Minnesota's interactive tutorial
Evidence Based Medicine - Duke University's guide to understanding the practice of EBM.
EBM Tutorial: Developing a Clinical Question -- Boston University's Guilde to EBM.
How to Form Answerable Clinical Questions -- Cincinnati Children's PDF with lots of clinical scenarios
Basic Evidence Links -- Cut-n-Paste the link to see University of Southern California's list of great EBM resources.