Emerging Media

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
/INFORM Trade & Industry™ contains major trade and industry news. It includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics for more than 3,140 publications, with over 2,930 in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Suggested subject headings include: COMPUTER games, VIDEO games industry, INTERNET games, VIDEO gamers, NINTENDO Wii video games, VIDEO games & children, PSYCHOLOGICAL aspects, and VIRTUAL reality.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Suggested subject headings include: Video Games, Educational Technology, Educational Games, Computer Uses in Education, etc.
ACM Digital Library
Database with citations for computer science journals, reports,and conference proceedings. Full text available to subscribers only.
America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Try searching the subject VIDEO games.
SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Indexes journals in the field of sociology. Try searching the subjects: VIDEO games, VIDEO games & children.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full-text database that covers computer sciences as well as health. Try searching the topic: video game.
Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Suggested subjects headings include: VIDEO games, COMPUTER games, VIDEO, ELECTRONIC games, etc. You can also search by company, for instance: ACTIVISION Publishing Inc., NINTENDO Co. Ltd., MICROSOFT Corp., SONY Corp., etc.
note: Also available via Special Business Interface
Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Recommended subjects include: Electronic games, Electronic industry, Toy and game industry, etc. The database covers general-interest periodical published in the U.S. through the years 1890-1982 so use this for historical coverage in popular magazines. Click the green arrow to find the library's fulltext holdings and use Interlibrary loan to make a request if there are none.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Suggested Topics (search 2 together): Computer & video games AND Children & youth, Computer & video games AND Violence, Computer & video games AND Software, Computer & video games AND Microsoft Corp (company/org), Computer & video games AND Sony Corp (company/org), Computer & video games AND Electronic Arts (company/org), etc.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Suggested descriptors: Computer games*, Virtual Reality* (the asterisk tells the search index that the concept is major for that article)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Access to the full text articles in sports, physical education, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, kinesiology, coaching and training, sport administration, sport law and legislation, sports facility design and management, doping, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, sport tourism, allied health, the Olympics, disabled sport, facility design and management, officiating, sport and exercise psychology, corporate wellness, and occupational health and therapy.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.

Web Sites

AddictingGames
Free online games.

Anthologize
Software from WordPress that creates an e-book from blogs.

ComicMix
Site for fans of "fantastic media fantastic media, from comic books television and movies to video games and more."

communicationspace: the media + communication studies network
Academic community social network sponsored by the publisher SAGE.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
This initiative collates and provides access digital works by America's libraries, archives, and museums free of charge.
Gamasutra
Site that tracks video game industry news.
GameDev.net
High-quality articles and reviews for beginning and experienced game developers.

GetGlue
Social Networking feed for television viewing.  Users register using Facebook or email.
Kickstarter
Funding platform for creative projects.  Artists set a financial goal.  Donations at any level can be made.  If the funding goal is not met the donors will be refunded their money.  Projects are searchable. Here are projects for Ithaca, NY: http://www.kickstarter.com/discover/cities/ithaca-ny

Newgrounds
Platform for flash games submitted by users.

Pogo: Free Online Games
Site provices over 1,000 free online games.

PressBooks
Book production website.

PressForward
Scholarly publication production website.

Rhapsody
Digital music subscription service.

Gamespot
CNET Networks entertainment's site for video games news, previews, reviews, etc.
Ian Bogost: Video game theory, criticism, design
Website of Ian Bogost, author of numerous books on games.
IGN Entertainment (IGN.com)
Web portal to gaming information. Includes games, platforms, news, release dates, reviews, etc. Hosts gamespy.com a site for multiplayer games.
Slashdot Some full text available
"News for nerds... stuff that matters".
ZDNet Some full text available
News, blogs, white papers, and reviews about computers and online technology.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

CreateSpace
Self Publishing and free distribution for books, music, and film.

Crunchyroll
Leading global video service for Japanese anime and Asian media. 
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 2010 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Industry reports on the entertainment and media industry. Only one person at a time can view this e-book.
The Handbook of Internet Studies
Print Location: HM1017 .H36 2011
Consalvo and Ess. Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Virtual Worlds Almanac

A directory of Virtual Worlds on a wiki that anyone can edit. This site is hosted by the Federation of American Scientists.


Audio Files

Spotify Resource contains audio
Free online music streaming service that allows users to create playlists, share music, and find music.  Premium accont holders can use Spotify on their mobile phone and in an offline mode.

Vevo Resource contains audio
Site for streaming music videos created by a partnership between Universal Music Group, Sony Music Entertainment, and Abu Dhabi Media company.

Bibliographies

LibraryThing : Catalog your books online
Users can create an account and catalog their personal library.  There is a fee for addding over 200 books.

Blogs

ArturoSinclair.com
Prof. Sinclair's site includes three blogs: 1) iMachina (research and practice in virtual worlds), 2) Interactive Storytelling (games and digital media) and 3) Experimental Hybrids (documents Sinclair's first multinational collaborative project and now his autonomous robotic marionette).

Brian Solis
Blog analyzing the effects of social media and technology on marketing, entertainment and culture.  
Communication & Legal Studies: Keep me Posted @ IC Library
Blog of legal, communication, and library news in service to the programs in the Park School of Communications and Legal Studies.
Design Your Way
Versatile design magazine that includes coverage of motion graphics topics.
Media Business
Blog about media economics by expert Robert G. Picard.

Redefinery
Blog by Jeff Almasol that offers tips and scripts for using motion graphics software such as Adobe After Effects.

Confessions of an Aca-Fan
Official weblog of Henry Jenkins, Director of the MIT Comparative Media Studies Program.
Freedom to Tinker
Blog initiated by Ed Felten, Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University  that explores legal regulation of technology.  Numerous experts now post to the blog.
GameDevBlog
Blog by game designer Jamie Fristrom.
GamePolitics.com
Blog presented by the Entertainment Consumers Association that follows the political treatment of the video game industry.
Kotaku
News blog for gaming enthusiasts.
Ralph Koster\'s Website
Website of game designer Ralph Koster
Spotlight : Digital Media and Learning
Blog by the MacArthur foundation that focuses on digital media and learning.
Videogame Law Blog (Davis LLP)
The law firm Davis LLP has been posting legal news about the video game industry to their website.

Colleges & Universities

Akademos
Digital college bookstore whos Textbook Adoption Tool allows teachers to find textbooks for their courses.
Coursera
Free "massively open online courses" (MOOCs) from top instutitions such as Princeton, Stanford, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, University of California at Berkeley and the University of Pennsylvania. None of the courses are for credit but certificates may be issued.

Digital Policy Institute (Ball State University)
Public Policy research institute located at Ball State University that focuses on all aspects of the the electronic communications industry.

MIT Open Courseware
Web-based courses available open access from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library is an Open Educational Resource (OER) site  where educators can share syllabi, activities, readings and assessments.  Funded by the Gates Foundation and Washington state, it is being used as an alternative to high cost textbooks.

Companies

Adobe After Effects
Software from Adobe for use in motion graphics and visual effects.  Get After Effects plugins at http://aescripts.com/
Amazon.com
An e-commerce platform, Amazon.com, established in 1995, began primarily as an online bookseller, but has developed into the largest online marketplace for all types of goods.  It has further evolved into a development platform with Amazon Web Services.  The company began selling dowloadable MP3s and introduced its e-book reader, the Kindle, in 2007. In 2011 Amazon released Prime Instant Videos, a video streaming service set to compete with Netflix. It also introduced a music Cloud Drive for music file storage and syncing (in competition with iTunes, Google Music, and others).

Arkadium designs
Arkadium designs, "hosts, and licenses gaming software for companies looking for an innovative and fun approach to brand building."
Autodesk
Company that produces Maya 3D animation software.  The site includes tabs for training and support.
Blurb
Company that allows you to make your own book. The site includes design templates and customization tools.

CrowdNe.ws
News service that facilitates the purchasing of news articles from journalists (a la carte).  
E*Trade Financial Corporation
Online stock trading, browker, and investing site.

eBay
Online auction site.

Etsy
Place to sell handmade and vintage items as well as supplies.

Figment
Writing site for young adults.

Final Cut Pro X
Media editing and effects software from Apple Inc.

Flipboard
Content discovery and sharing tool. 
Groupon
Group coupon website that offers daily deals from a variety of local and national companies.

iCopyright
"The copyright licensing system for digital content worldwide"
indiegogo
Funding platform.   Search Ithaca, NY to find projects by Ithaca College students.

iTunes (Apple) Some full text available
Movies, music, television, lectures, games, etc. from Apple. Users must download the iTunes software.  Digital Media can be streamed through a personal computer or downloaded to an iPod.

Jive Social Business
Social Business software.

Longreads
Journalism site that posts the best longform articles from newspapers and magazines. On Twitter: @Longreads
Lynda.com
Subscription website offering tutorials to a variety of software systems. 

MP3tunes
Offers a music cloud that allows users to access their music from multiple computers and devices.

NewsCred
License and curates articles, photos and video for newspapers and magazines.
Next Issue Media
Supplies popular magazines for the Android tablets. They are working on access for the iPad (April 2012).

PayPal
Online payment system for buyers and sellers.

Pinterest
An online pinboard where useres can "organize and share things you love."

Pocket
Allows readers to save articles, videos, or websites in one place to read later. Works with mobile devices.
Quora
Platform where users can post questions and receive answers.

Seed&Spark
(beta Jan 2013).  Platform to help fund independent films. Movies can be rented on the site. 
starz
An integrated entertainment company that distributes drama through television networks, digital distribution and DVD.

Storybird
Global community of readers, writers and artists who can make, read and share visual stories.

Strikingly
Tool to build single page sites for business, projects or personal branding. 
Thin Reads
Company that is devoted to e-book singles.  They define e-book singles as, "written works of short fiction or non-fiction longer than a magazine article but shorter than a book."  The site includes reviews. 
Zeega
Platform for interactive storytelling.
Zinio Digital Magazines
Zinio calls itself, "the world's largest newsstand and bookstore."  Magazines can be purchased and read online.
Zynga
Game development website.

Hasbro
Toy manufacturer.
Mattel
Toy manufacturer
Microsoft Casual Games
Distributes and develops games online such as puzzles, card, and arcade games. 
NPD Group
Market research company that collects consumer trends on the sports and toy industries, among others.
PlayStation (Sony)
Site of the Sony PlayStation platform.
Second Life (Linden Lab)
3-D virtual world that includes organizations, businesses, educational institutions, and individual members. Users must sign up and create a virtual resident called an avatar.
Wii (Nintendo)
Site of the Nintendo Wii platform.
XBOX (Microsoft)
Site for the Microsoft game platform.

Consumer Information

Consumer Reports Restricted Resource
The current issue is available from 01/01/1988 to present via LexisNexis (no images or graphs).The current year is available in paper in the library.   Other databases have access but may have an embargo (they may lack access to current issues in fulltext).

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Media and Communication Restricted Resource
By Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday, Oxford University Press, 2011. From the publisher, "The Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication."

Directories

opencorporates
Portal that lists coporations by jurisdiction (beta, February 2013).
Yahoo! GAMES
Yahoo! webportal to all sorts of games: board, card, puzzle, word, downloads, multiplayer games, video games, skill games, sims, etc.

E-books

Connexions
Platform for shared educational texts.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Platform for peer-reviewed scholarly books in a variety of languages from the OAPEN Foundation (based at the National Library in The Hague). (Beta, April 2012).

ebrary Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
Gutenberg-e Resource contains images Some full text available
Collection of digital books from Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Subjects include Africa, colonial Latin America, South Asia, Europe before 1800, military history, history of foreign relations, history of North America before 1900, women's history, history of gender and more.

Game Level Design Restricted Resource Some full text available
Byrne, Ed. Charles Lebel Media, 2004.

Government Information

European Patent Office (E.P.O.)
Intergovernmental organization founded in 1977 to adminster European patents. The site includes a patent registry and search.

Kids.gov
Links to government learning sites for kids including games.  There are tabs for grades K-5, grades 6-8, and for educators.

State Intellectual Property Office of the Peoples Republic of China (S.I.P.O.)
This is the English site for searching patents from the the P.R.C.

Thomas - Legislative Information Some full text available
Database of United States legislative information including: bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, treaties, Committee Reports, Public Laws, Roll Call Votes, etc.

Handbooks & Guides

Creative COW
Peer-to-peer support group for media production professionals. The Tutorials tab is especially useful.
Gray Machine
Site for the motion design community.  It includes After Effects tutorials.
NewsTrust : Your guide to good journalism
Part of the Poynter Institute, this is a nonprofit news service that, "helps people find and share good journalism online, so they can make more informed decisions as citizens."
Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook (OASIS)
Portal for researchers, librarians, publishers, and the public to find information about implementing and understanding open access.

Video Copilot
Video Copilot offers free After Effects Basic Training and other free tutorials.
Columbia Journalism Review (CJR)
Columbia Journalism Review is a magazine published six times per year. It was founded in 1961 and reports on and analyzes issues in the news. CJR.org offers an online guide of "Who Owns What"  that lists major media companies and what stations or papers they own.  The also publish Online News Startups, a guide to digital news startups. 

Local

Nextdoor
Private social network for neighbors.   

Organizations

Annotum
Annotum is, "an open-source, open-process, open-access scholarly authoring and publishing platform based on WordPress."
Blender
Run by the Blender Foundation of Amsterdam, Blender is an open source site for those needed 3D models. Blender can be dowloaded.  There is an Education & Help tab for users.

Casual Games Association (CGA)
Supports the Casual Games industry through conferences, research, news and an online magazine: Casual Connect Magazine.
Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)
Organization of companies in the Consumer Electronics industry.  Hosts the International CES.

Entertainment Software Association
United States association for businesses that publish computer and video games.  The site includes industry facts, public policy information, news, and more.

IEEE Some full text available
"The leading provider of technical information, community services, and personalized services to the world's computing professionals"  IEEE has a Computer Society, Broadcast Technology Society  and an Emerging Fields network amongst others.

MoJo (Knight-Mozilla News Technology Partnership)
A three year collaboration between the Knight Foundation and Mozilla the plans to promote innovation, train people, create software, and assist through leadership fellows.  The goal is, "to advance the best values of both journalism and the open web by continuous innovation. Working together, technologists and journalists can accomplish great things."
PromaxBDA
International association for entertainment marketing professionals.  Promax, an organization of marketers working in broadcasting, combined with the Broadcast Design Association (BDA) in 1997.  They provide conferences and events to members.
Software & Information Industry Association
The principal trade association for the software and digital content industry.  They have a page for their Anti-Piracy campaign.
United Nations Foundation
An organization that advocates for the United Nations and connects "people, ideas and resources to help the United Nations solve global problems."  The UNF established a Global Entrepreneur Council to help with innovation and impact.

Center for Media Design (CMD)
Funded by the Lilly Endowment, the CMD of Ball State University conducts research on digital media.
Creative Commons
Artistic creators can assign works a CC license that explicitly grants degrees of permission for usage of personal works. The site includes images, audio, video, text and even lesson plans.
DIGRA: Digital Games Research Association
Association for academics and professionals who research digital games. See the Digital Library tab to access research.
Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF)
Advocacy group focused on civil liberties online.
International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS)
Founded in 1998 to drive creativity on the Internet. The organization is diverse including industry leaders in online advertising, film, television, games, and mobile. The Webby Awards honor top websites in numerous industry and media categories every year.
International Game Developers Association (IGDA)
Professional organization that advocates for game developers, produces reports and news, and holds events.
Processing
Open Source programming language for, "people who want to create images, animations, and interactions."

Public Knowledge (PK)
Advocacy group focused on digital rights.

Primary Sources

Project Gutenberg Some full text available
Full text books. 13,000+ e-books.

Publishing

hypothes.is
(in development, January, 2013) Open-source platform for the collaborative evaluation of information.

Storify
Interactive social media platform for story telling.  Users can drag and drop information from other social media sites to build story ideas.

Reviews

metacritic.com
Website that collates reviews from respected publications and applies an average score to the following categories: Movies, DVDs, TV shows, Music and Video Games.

Statistics/Data

NASDAQ
Stock exchange news.

Newsflow
Real-time map of news reporting from the MIT Center for Civic Media.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Print Location: REF HC106.6 S74 Some full text available
Coverage of major industries in the U.S.,quarterly. Statistics, suggested sources, overviews including trends, major players, regulatory issues, etc. Supplemented by Monthly Investment Review. Latest two years in REFERENCE. Older editions in stacks.

Video

Blockbuster Resource contains video
Rent, buy, or stream movies on demand.  It also includes games.  Users must sign up and subscribe to a plan.

MoviePlex (Yahoo! India)
Free ad-supported Bollywood movies.

Prendismo Video Clip Collection Resource contains video
The Prendismo Collection has 15,000 video clips from 750 experts on 200 business topics. These 2-minute video clips cover topics such as ethics, finance, innovation, sales, strategy, and leadership. The content can be used for instruction in classrooms or organizations. This resource is provided by the Ithaca College School of Business.  There is no off-campus access. There is a fee to download a clip.
Veoh
TV site that is unique for its inclusion of Disney's ABC TV shows such as Lost, Desperate Housewives, Grey's Anatomy, Jimmy Kimmel Live and Ugly Betty. Additionally: ESPN programs, Anime, and some gaming videos are included. Some videos are from sourced from Hulu.
YOU on Demand
Video on demand and pay-per-view platform for China.

Weather

Crowdscribed
 Crowdsourcing the book creation process.

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293
Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Selected Videos

Here is a select list of IC library videos about video games and gaming:  Games

ComLaw News

Loading ...

Licensing, Access & the law

Licensing and Accessing images:
  • AP Image Collection
    A database of over 160 years of history as witnessed by The Associated Press. Photos: more than 3.6 million photographs from 1825 to today, with about 3,000 new photos added every day.  Graphics: more than one hundred thousand graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs.  Audio: over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920s forward.  Links to hourly newscasts on the home page under the audio tab. Note: This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
  • BBC Motion Gallery
    BBC programming (over 70 years) and CBS News footage.
  • Getty
    Provides a gateway to information on museum studies. Includes databases under the "Research Institute" > "Search Tools & Databases" such as: Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), the Union List of Artist Names (ULAN), and the Thesaurus of Geographical Names (TGN). 
  • Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University)
    Index to television news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN as well as special events coverage. Users must register prior to searching. Tapes can be borrowed for a fee paid by the requestor. 1989+
Register creative works:
  • Creative Commons
  • U. S. Copyright Office
    According to the U. S. Constitution, the Copyright Office was established, “To promote the progress of science and useful arts, by securing for limited times to authors and inventors the exclusive right to their respective writings and discoveries."
Guides
  • Crowell, T. A. (2011). The Pocket Lawyer for Filmmakers a Legal Toolkit for Independent Producers (2nd ed.). Burlington, MA: Focal Press.
  • Donaldson, M. C. (2008). Clearance & Copyright: Everything You Need to Know for Film and Television (3rd ed.). Los Angeles: Silman-James Press.
  • Klein, B. (2010). As Heard on TV: Popular Music in Advertising. Farnham: Ashgate.
  • Kohn, A. (2010). Kohn on Music Licensing (4th ed.). Frederick, MD: Aspen Publishers.