Graduate Education Program - Orientation

Graduate Education Program - Orientation

    

Key Databases

  • ERIC (Ebsco interface)  Journal articles and documents related to educational practice and theory.  Covers teaching methods, cognitive behavior, and comparative educational models.

ERIC Search Tips:
1. Limit your search to "Peer Reviewed" to retrieve scholarly journal articles.      
2. Limit your search to "Full Text" to include ERIC documents.
3. Limit your search by "Educational Level", "Intended Audience", or Publication Type" 
See also the IC Library's ERIC Thesaurus Tutorial on developing targeted searches in this database.

Primary Sources - Lesson Plans

Searchasaurus
Full-text searching at the elementary school level. Reading levels are indicated. The Teacher Resources module offers educators and education students a combined search of three databases: Academic Search Premier, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection.

MAS Ultra: School Edition
A general database created for a high school audience. It provides the full text of over 500 popular magazines as well as biographies and primary source documents. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). It also includes thousands of images, maps, and flags as well as reference books, including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts.





ReadWriteThink
Links to standards-based lesson plans that  integrate Internet content into the teaching and/or learning experience. Lessons can be selected according to grade band (K-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-12) and area of literacy practice. Each lesson is research-based, and includes a detailed instructional plan. The lessons are written for the teacher but include student-ready materials such as worksheets, interactives, and reviewed Web resources.

Children's Literature

The Library has a collection of classic and contemporary children's books, including several of the Caldecott Award (most distinguished American picture book) winners and the Newbery Award (most distinguised contribution to American literature for children) winners.  All children's literature is shelved in PZ 3 - PZ 10 on the 5th floor. 

Audio and Video Files

Smithsonian Global Sound
World' s music and aural traditions in streaming audio. Individual tracks of music, spoken words, and natural and human-made sounds; incl. published recordings from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels and recordings from Africa and South Asia. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Teachers' Domain
An online educational service with collections and course materials that help teachers enhance student learning experiences and advance their own teaching skills. The site includes classroom-ready multimedia resources including video and audio clips, interactives, images, and documents. There are also explanatory background articles for each resource, links to state and national curriculum standards, media-rich lesson plans, and resource management tools.

Why Files
Web site focuses on the theme of "science behind the news." Every two weeks, a new Why File is posted that deals with a current events issue in the news involving science. Each file contains graphics, audio and "cool science images." Includes links to materials geared towards grades 5-12 education.

Annenberg Learner - Teacher Resources
Educational, online videos in many subjects. Select from the list and then look for the VoD (Video On Demand) icon for the free content. Free registration required.

Literature Reviews

A Literature Review provides an overview of the scholarly information published to date on a specific topic, summarizing and synthesizing the ideas presented.     At the graduate level, literature reviews place your personal research in the context of published research on a topic.   See the Library's topic guide - Literature Reviews: How to Research and Write. 

Current Awareness & Alert Services

Keep up-to-date on a specific research topic - when new articles that match your search are published, you will receive an email alert. You can also receive this information as an RSS feed.  See the Library's Guide on Automating Your Research.

APA Style

You will use APA style to format the citations in your Action Research Project.  See the Library's Citation Styles Guide.

Use the Noodlebib application to format your citations in APA style.

Books and Ebooks

Science - Study and Teaching (Elementary)
Mathematics--Study and teaching (Elementary)
Language arts (Elementary)
Language art (Early childhood)
Social sciences--Study and teaching.
History--Study and teaching.
Reading (Elementary)--United States.
Multicultural education.
Classroom management.
Active learning.
Curriculum planning.
Educational psychology
Effective Teaching
Early childhood education--Activity programs.

ebrary
Over 109,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.

Reviews

ETS Online Research Library
A database of citations to Educational Testing Service's research. It includes ETS-authored research that has appeared in external publications, including scholarly journals, books, book chapters, conference papers, and the ETS Research report series, the GRE and TOEFL report series.

What Works Clearinghouse
  A central source of scientific evidence for what works in education developed by U.S. Department of Education.  Find programs, practices, and policies that address academic achievement, dropout prevention, language development, and personal/social development.

Standards

Common Core State Standards
A national effort to outline specific expectations for what students should learn across all subjects in kindergarten through high school.  Standards have been developed for mathematics and English language arts.

New York State Elementary/Intermediate Tests and Regents Exams