WRTG 31700: Proposal and Grant Writing

Grant Writing

   

Print Resources

Grants-in-aid
Grants-in-aid--United States
Proposal Writing for Grants
Proposal Writing in Education
Proposal Writing in Human Services
Proposal Writing in the Social Sciences
Research Grants--United States

Fund Raising--United States
Fund raising--Computer network resources
Arts Fund Raising
Nonprofit Organizations
Nonprofit Organizations--Finance
Endowments--United States
 

 Selected ebrary Books (full text online): 


        Note: The IC Library no longer subscribes to the Annual Register of Grant Support or the Foundation Directory. The 2013 Foundation Directory and the 2014 Annual Register of Grant Support are available at the Tompkins County Public Library in downtown Ithaca or at Cornell University’s Olin Library.

General Resources for Grant Writers

Web Resources

Grants.gov: A one-stop approach to all federal grants, with plenty of tutorial assistance for the grant application process.  You can search grant opportunities by keyword, date range, agency, or category/subject under "Find Grant Opportunities."  FirstGov for NonProfits is another good government gateway, as is the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance.
 
 ED.gov:  This is the same information as you will find in Grants.gov, but the site is devoted to educational funding and easier to navigate, if that is your focus.  Click on “Grants & Contracts” at the right of the Home page.
 
The Foundation Center:  Many of the resources here must be purchased, but the Foundation Center  allows you a free registration which gives access to some materials and allows you to sign up for newsletters on grant opportunities in your area of interest, for instance arts, or health, or the environment.
     Mouse over "Get Started: for the menu of options.  Under "Reference Guides" there are free resources such as "Proposal Writing Short Course" and "Proposal Budgeting Basics," as well as  resources under "Proposal Writing Online Training" that are free if you have register with the Foundation Center: for example, "Introduction to Fundraising Planning."
    On the "Get Started" menu also look at the "Topical Resource Lists,"  where you'll be able to find fundraising information by category: Health, Education, or Arts (for which note "Corporate Philanthropy in the Arts" and "Individual Giving in Support of the Arts."  In all these categories you will find some linked online resources, some articles that you can locate by doing a "Journal Titles" search at the top of the IC Library home page, and some books that you can look for by title in the IC collection, the Cornell Librarycollection, and in the WorldCat database--though which you can place interlibrary loan orders.
    Also mouse over "Gain Knowledge" on the Foundation Center home page and take a look at the free resources available under "Research Studies," including "National Trends" and "Special Topic Trends."
     Also mouse over "Find Funders" to access the "Foundation Finder"--where you can search by foundation name or city, state, zip code--or the "990 Finder" which offers free access to 990 PF forms.  
 

GuideStar: Most resources here must be purchased, but the site does offer a free search of 990 filings with a Keyword component so that in addition to searching specific organizations already known to you, you can enter terms likely to occur in the names of the types of organizations that interest you, limit the location by city and/or state, and retrieve all the nonprofit organizations with those words in their name.  After selecting one you must scroll down past the data available only to subscribers to reach the 990 forms for that organization--accessible via a free registration.  Try to target organizations similar to your own and then check to see if and from whom they are receiving grant funding.

 
Information on Grants Available in New York State: Note the many links under New York State Department of Education and also the link for Arts Grants. Otherwise, use “New York State Citizen Guide” and click on “Grants.”
 
Non-Profit Guides: Grant-writng Tools for Non-Profit Organizations: In addition to help guides for the grant-writing process, take advantage of the “links” (at bottom) to “grantseeking resources”—an extensive annotated list.
 
Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University: Research: Take a look at the "News" and "Publications"--where you'll find free research on Philanthropy and Nonprofit Management--and note that you can filter by "Categories" of philanthropy.

Local News Sources

Gannett Newsstand Complete This database provides full text for the Ithaca Journal back to August 1999.

The Ithaca Journal

The Ithaca Times

Also try running Subject searches on "Ithaca (N.Y.)" and/or "Tompkins County (N.Y.)" in the IC Library and the much larger holdings of local materials at the Cornell Libraries and the Tompkins County Public Library.