HLTH 10600 and 15200: Introduction to Health
What is the Catalogue?
Search the catalogue to find books, journals (not articles), videos, musical scores, and much more!
How do I Find ebooks?
Search eBrary for access to over 50,000 scholarly e-books on a variety of topics.
How do I Find Journal Articles?
Databases are where you go to locate articles of various types: scholarly, popular magazines, newspapers etc. We also have searchable encyclopedias, statistical and data tools, image, music, and more! Each database is unique, allowing you to electronically search a different pool of resources.
Search the catalogue to find books, journals (not articles), videos, musical scores, and much more!
How do I Find ebooks?
Search eBrary for access to over 50,000 scholarly e-books on a variety of topics.
How do I Find Journal Articles?
Databases are where you go to locate articles of various types: scholarly, popular magazines, newspapers etc. We also have searchable encyclopedias, statistical and data tools, image, music, and more! Each database is unique, allowing you to electronically search a different pool of resources.
- Determine and define the clinical problem
· Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
- Generate a list of keywords using PICO
· Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
· Intervention
· Comparison (if any)
· Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This is a great tool for finding primary medical and research articles.
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This is a great tool for finding sports medicine, fitness, coaching and education articles.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This is a great tool for finding primary medical and research articles.
Google Advanced Search: When doing research on the Web, always use the Adanced Search version of Google. This not only provides more flexibility in entering search terms, but more importantly it allows you to target the Web domains (.edu, gov, .org, .com) that are likely to provide the most authoritative information.
Simiple start your search in Google and select "Advanced Search" under the Blue Magnifine Glass. From this screen you will have lots of ways to filter your search, including "Search within a site or domain" slot. You may enter only one domain at a time, but it's worth targeting each of the three domains likely to supply the best information: colleges and universities (enter the "edu" tag), nonprofit organizations (enter the "org" tag), and the United States government (enter the "gov" tag).

Simiple start your search in Google and select "Advanced Search" under the Blue Magnifine Glass. From this screen you will have lots of ways to filter your search, including "Search within a site or domain" slot. You may enter only one domain at a time, but it's worth targeting each of the three domains likely to supply the best information: colleges and universities (enter the "edu" tag), nonprofit organizations (enter the "org" tag), and the United States government (enter the "gov" tag).

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for many disciplines in the social sciences. The current edition is the sixth (2010).