HLTH 39900: China: Culture, Health, Healing & Sport

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Access to the full text articles in sports, physical education, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, kinesiology, coaching and training, sport administration, sport law and legislation, sports facility design and management, doping, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, sport tourism, allied health, the Olympics, disabled sport, facility design and management, officiating, sport and exercise psychology, corporate wellness, and occupational health and therapy.
Health Sciences: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Journals from Sage Publishing in full text covering nursing,health services & administration, child psychiatry, public health, aging and gerontology, physiology, physical medicine & rehabilitation, pediatrics, learning disability, health education & health promotion, and health evaluation.
MedlinePlus Complementary and Alternative Therapies
Links to information on alternative medicine, herbal medicine, dietary supplements, and acupuncture.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Includes a "Drugs and Herbal Remedies” search with links to information on prescription, over-the-counter medications, and herbal products. The herbal product information is from Herbal Medicine: Expanded Commission E. Monographs, PDR for Nutritional Supplements, PDR for Herbal Medicines, and the PDR Family Guide to Natural Medicines and Healing Therapies.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Full-text and abstracts for nursing and allied health; monographs on all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.
Encyclopedia Brittanica Article on China
Extensive article with information on history, climate, geography, health & welfare, daily life, sports & recreation, and other topics.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine Ref R 733 .G34 2001
Presents current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors.
International Business Culture and Etiquette
Guides to a wide variety of countries from Executive Planet. Such things as business dress, meetings, gifts, gestures, behavior, protocol etc. are discussed.
Encyclopedia of World Sport Ref. GV567 .E56 1996
International focus on the history, evolution and current trends in sports, from ancient times to the present.
Women's Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine
Discusses how to safely and effectively combine conventional and natural medicine to maintain health and address specific medical conditions. Covers complementary therapies such as bio-identical hormones, vitamin supplementation, herbs, diet, and exercise.
Encyclopedia of Asian history REF DS31 .E53 1988
Substantial coverage of people, places, events, religion, etc. with a concentration on the last 300 years.
Access to the full text articles in sports, physical education, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, kinesiology, coaching and training, sport administration, sport law and legislation, sports facility design and management, doping, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, sport tourism, allied health, the Olympics, disabled sport, facility design and management, officiating, sport and exercise psychology, corporate wellness, and occupational health and therapy.
Health Sciences: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Journals from Sage Publishing in full text covering nursing,health services & administration, child psychiatry, public health, aging and gerontology, physiology, physical medicine & rehabilitation, pediatrics, learning disability, health education & health promotion, and health evaluation.
MedlinePlus Complementary and Alternative Therapies
Links to information on alternative medicine, herbal medicine, dietary supplements, and acupuncture.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Includes a "Drugs and Herbal Remedies” search with links to information on prescription, over-the-counter medications, and herbal products. The herbal product information is from Herbal Medicine: Expanded Commission E. Monographs, PDR for Nutritional Supplements, PDR for Herbal Medicines, and the PDR Family Guide to Natural Medicines and Healing Therapies.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Full-text and abstracts for nursing and allied health; monographs on all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.
Encyclopedia Brittanica Article on China
Extensive article with information on history, climate, geography, health & welfare, daily life, sports & recreation, and other topics.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine Ref R 733 .G34 2001
Presents current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors.
International Business Culture and Etiquette
Guides to a wide variety of countries from Executive Planet. Such things as business dress, meetings, gifts, gestures, behavior, protocol etc. are discussed.
Encyclopedia of World Sport Ref. GV567 .E56 1996
International focus on the history, evolution and current trends in sports, from ancient times to the present.
Women's Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine
Discusses how to safely and effectively combine conventional and natural medicine to maintain health and address specific medical conditions. Covers complementary therapies such as bio-identical hormones, vitamin supplementation, herbs, diet, and exercise.
Encyclopedia of Asian history REF DS31 .E53 1988
Substantial coverage of people, places, events, religion, etc. with a concentration on the last 300 years.
UNdata
UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations - browse, search and download data from a large number of statistical databases. Data categories include: agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.
WHO Global Health Atlas
Data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels for analysis and comparison. The analysis of data is supported with demographic, socioeconomic, and environmental information.
Health Care System Profiles
Profiles cover the financing, organization, and delivery of health care services in industrialized countries. These surveys also highlight quality, efficiency, and cost-controlling policy initiatives and reforms. Full-text profiles of various countries can be downloaded.
CIA World Factbook
Provides basic history of all countries - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data.
UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations - browse, search and download data from a large number of statistical databases. Data categories include: agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.
WHO Global Health Atlas
Data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels for analysis and comparison. The analysis of data is supported with demographic, socioeconomic, and environmental information.
Health Care System Profiles
Profiles cover the financing, organization, and delivery of health care services in industrialized countries. These surveys also highlight quality, efficiency, and cost-controlling policy initiatives and reforms. Full-text profiles of various countries can be downloaded.
CIA World Factbook
Provides basic history of all countries - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
A unit of the National Institutes of Health. The NCAM site provides links to general information and to research studies currently being conducted on alternative therapies and products.
HealthMap
Website provides an interactive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. It integrates outbreak data of varying reliability, ranging from news sources to curated personal accounts to validated official alerts. The data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location.
InteliHealth: Complementary & Alternative Medicine
Website with links to information on herbal medicines & supplements and alternative therapies & modalities.
A unit of the National Institutes of Health. The NCAM site provides links to general information and to research studies currently being conducted on alternative therapies and products.
HealthMap
Website provides an interactive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. It integrates outbreak data of varying reliability, ranging from news sources to curated personal accounts to validated official alerts. The data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location.
InteliHealth: Complementary & Alternative Medicine
Website with links to information on herbal medicines & supplements and alternative therapies & modalities.
Search 2 Databases simultaneously: SportsDiscus, and Academic Search Premier.
Mandarin Language Practice Site
Audio files and written equivalents for basic expressions, time and numbers, the human body, the home, nature, foods, money, and other categories. Choose a category, and then roll your cursor over a letter, number or picture to hear the pronunciation.
Audio files and written equivalents for basic expressions, time and numbers, the human body, the home, nature, foods, money, and other categories. Choose a category, and then roll your cursor over a letter, number or picture to hear the pronunciation.
China Daily
Official English language newspaper in China.
South China Morning Post
Hong Kong's English daily provides current news, audio video news, podcasts, RSS Feeds, and blogs.
Official English language newspaper in China.
South China Morning Post
Hong Kong's English daily provides current news, audio video news, podcasts, RSS Feeds, and blogs.
Modern China
The IC Library also has the most recent four years in print.
China Quarterly
American Journal of Chinese Medicine
Chinese Medicine
Chinese Sociology & Anthropology
International Journal of the History of Sport
Journal of Asian Martial Arts
Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine
Journal of Contemporary China
The IC Library also has the most recent four years in print.
China Quarterly
American Journal of Chinese Medicine
Chinese Medicine
Chinese Sociology & Anthropology
International Journal of the History of Sport
Journal of Asian Martial Arts
Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine
Journal of Contemporary China
Smithsonian Global Sound
World' s music and aural traditions in streaming audio. Individual tracks of music, spoken words, and natural and human-made sounds; incl. published recordings from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels and recordings from Africa and South Asia. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
World' s music and aural traditions in streaming audio. Individual tracks of music, spoken words, and natural and human-made sounds; incl. published recordings from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels and recordings from Africa and South Asia. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
