HPEG 61400: Research Methods in Health and Physical Education

Defining Your Research Question

Determine and define the clinical problem
·       Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
Generate a list of keywords using PICO
·       Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
·       Intervention
·       Comparison (if any)
·       Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)

Best Bets

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A comprehensive source of full-text articles for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed back to 1985. This is a great tool for all things related to sports and education.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
ScienceDirect
A full-text database of science and medical journals.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
The premier education database including bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans. ERIC also includes evidence based health resources.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
 Full-Text access to dissertations and theses. There are a lot of great systematic reviews and meta-analyses in the health sciences!
PsycINFO
The premier pschology database with a lot of health and education research articles. 
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary source indexes scholarly journals, popular magazines, and current events; there is something for everyone!
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
 Full-Text access to dissertations and theses. There are a lot of great systematic reviews and meta-analyses in the health sciences!

 

Search Strategies

1. obes* or overweight or BMI  
2. school* 
3. exercise or physical activity or fitness  [OR could try: fruit or diet or nutrition or junk food or vegetable*]

Medline, CINAHL, SPORTDiscus, ERIC, Academic Search Premier 

LIMITS






PsycINFO



Limits





Science Direct





Dissertations & Theses

Contact Us

picture of Laura Kuo

Laura Kuo

Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Required Books

Locke, L.F., Silverman, S.J., & Spirduso, W.W. (2010).  Reading and understanding research (3rd ed.).  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

Thomas, J.R., Nelson, J.K., & Silverman, S.J. (2005).  Research methods in physical activity (6th ed.). Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics.  

Locke, L.F., Spirduso, W.W., & Silverman, S.J. (2007). Proposals that work: A guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals (5th ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage

Pyrczak, F., & Bruce, R.R. (2003). Writing empirical research reports:  A basic guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences (4th ed.). Los Angeles: Pyrczak.

American Psychological Association. (2010).Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. (6th ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.  

 

Tell Us What You Think