HLTH 21100: Health and Safety Needs of School-Age Children

Library Basics

What is the Catalogue?
Search the catalogue to find books, journals (not articles), videos, musical scores, and much more!
How do I Find ebooks?
Search eBrary for access to over 50,000 scholarly e-books on a variety of topics.
How do I Find Journal Articles?
Databases are where you go to locate articles of various types: scholarly, popular magazines, newspapers etc. We also have searchable encyclopedias, statistical and data tools, image, music, and more!  Each database is unique, allowing you to electronically search a different pool of resources.

Best Bets

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
A comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text.  This is the cadillac of all health and research databases.
CINAHL
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) indexes nursing and allied health journals back to 1982, with links to some full-text. This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
The premier education database including bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
PsycINFO
Bibliographic citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872-present.
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary source indexes scholarly journals, popular magazines, and current events; there is something for everyone!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar includes ciation counts for articles and is one way to evaluate search results.

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Library Exercise

Use this exercise as a template to help you with your literature review assignment.
Literature Search pdf