HPS 31500: Health Research and Analysis




Literature Reviews: How to Research and Write
Several of the library's databases provide access to Literature Reviews. See this online guide on researching and developing a current Literature Review on your topic.
Several of the library's databases provide access to Literature Reviews. See this online guide on researching and developing a current Literature Review on your topic.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering all areas and levels of education.
PsycINFO
Bibliographic citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872-present. Note: You can limit your search by research methodology - e.g. meta analysis, qualitative study, quantitative study, clinical case study, treatment outcome.
Health Sciences: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Journals from Sage Publishing in full text covering nursing,health services & administration, child psychiatry, public health, aging and gerontology, physiology, physical medicine & rehabilitation, pediatrics, learning disability, health education & health promotion, and health evaluation.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Access to the full text articles in sports, physical education, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, kinesiology, coaching and training, sport administration, sport law and legislation, sports facility design and management, doping, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, sport tourism, allied health, the Olympics, disabled sport, facility design and management, officiating, sport and exercise psychology, corporate wellness, and occupational health and therapy.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
ProQuest Health Management
ProQuest Health Management™ is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This database provides information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.
CINAHL
Indexes the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, including selected titles in biomedicine, alternative/complementary therapies, and consumer health, from 1981 to the present. Full text is available for selected nursing standards, practice acts, pamphlets, state nursing journals, research instruments, and critical paths.
Tools for Health Data Collection and Planning.
National Public Health Data Sets
State and Local Public Health Data Sets
Health Statistics Sources State, federal, and international data sources.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) an on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States. BRFSS provides state-specific information about issues such as asthma, diabetes, health care access, alcohol use, hypertension, obesity, cancer screening, nutrition and physical activity, tobacco use, oral health and more. Researchers use this information to track health risks, identify emerging problems, prevent disease, and improve treatment.
National Public Health Data Sets
State and Local Public Health Data Sets
Health Statistics Sources State, federal, and international data sources.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) an on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States. BRFSS provides state-specific information about issues such as asthma, diabetes, health care access, alcohol use, hypertension, obesity, cancer screening, nutrition and physical activity, tobacco use, oral health and more. Researchers use this information to track health risks, identify emerging problems, prevent disease, and improve treatment.
The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) has published a series of users' guides that assist researchers in appraising the published research in order to make informed clinical decisions.
Two of the guides cover qualitative research:
Qualitative Research in Health Care A: Are the results of the study valid?
Qualitative Research in Health Care B: What are the results and now do they help me care for my patients?
See the complete list of Users' Guides (created by the New York Medical College). Bound volumes of JAMA are shelved on the 4th floor of the IC Library at R15 .A48
Two of the guides cover qualitative research:
Qualitative Research in Health Care A: Are the results of the study valid?
Qualitative Research in Health Care B: What are the results and now do they help me care for my patients?
See the complete list of Users' Guides (created by the New York Medical College). Bound volumes of JAMA are shelved on the 4th floor of the IC Library at R15 .A48