JOUR 48800: Issues and the News
This guide is a pathfinder to:
- News analysis books, organizations and websites
- News resources on the international, national and local levels
- Databases providing multiple perspectives such as class, gender, ethinicity, and political perspective
- Critically think about what was not covered, what was covered, and how it was covered through a variety of media outlets
Note: In library databases, you can search multiple international, national or state papers all at once.
LIBRARY DATABASES
Note: you can also search by a particular paper title
Q: How do I which database contains a particular newspaper?
A: From the library's homepage, click the Journal Titles search tab. Search the name of the newspaper title. Watch a brief video on how to do this.
Here is a browsable list of popular newspapers you can access online.
WEB VERSIONS
National
Local
LIBRARY DATABASES
- LexisNexis Academic Regional, National, and International news. Includes news wires and transcripts.
- National Newspapers Premier
This database's detailed indexing will help you quickly find the news information you need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. (vendor: ProQuest) Newspapers file that includes BBC Monitoring. - InfoTrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. (vendor: Gale) - Newspaper Source
Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. Abstracting and indexing for all titles and full text for the Christian Science Monitor begins 1/1/95. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Additional data provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers. Additional data also provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service: full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers. Total coverage includes over 500,000 articles. (vendor: EBSCO) - New York State Newspapers
A database of several newspapers published in the state of New York, including the Buffalo News, Herald American (Syracuse), Indian Country Today (Oneida), New York Daily News, New York Observer (NY), New York Post (NY), New York Times, Newsday (Melville), Post-Standard (Syracuse), Post-Star (Glens Falls), Times Herald-Record (Middletown), Times Union (Albany), and the Watertown Daily Times. (vendor: Gale: this is a subset of InfoTrac Newstand)
Note: you can also search by a particular paper title
Q: How do I which database contains a particular newspaper?
A: From the library's homepage, click the Journal Titles search tab. Search the name of the newspaper title. Watch a brief video on how to do this.
Here is a browsable list of popular newspapers you can access online.
WEB VERSIONS
- Good for: They include layout and images
- Problem: May not reach as far back as library database
- Possible problem: Have to be searched one at a time
- Al Jazeera: Creative Commons Repository
Footage released by Al Jazeera network under a Creative Commons license. As of October 2009 the repository contains Arabic and English video footage from the war on Gaza. - British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC)
Worldwide public service broadcaster funded by license fees paid by households in the United Kingdom. The BBC broadcasts radio, television and on the Internet. - Cable News Network (CNN)
- National Public Radio (NPR)
A privately funded non-for-profit member organization, NPR.org produces news, talk, and entertainment programs. Member stations offer national and local programming.
National
Local
- New York State Newspapers GALE collection of NYS newspapers.
- Cornell Daily Sun
- Ithaca Journal
- Ithaca Times
- Ithacan (Ithaca College Student Newspaper)
- News 10 Now Time Warner Cable
- TompkinsWeekly (have to browse)
- WSKG
- WSYR Syracuse News Channel 9
POPULAR MAGAZINES
Many popular magazines can be found in print at the "Popular Periodicals" section near the library's reference desk. To check if we have online access search the "Journal Titles" tab at the top of the library's homepage (watch a brief video demonstration of how to search for a journal title). Here is a browsable list of popular magazines you can access online.
Liberal magazines include:
Mother Jones, The Nation, The Progressive, The New Leader, Utne Reader, Dissent, American Prospect, and the New Statesman (British).
Conservative magazines include:
American Spectator, National Review, Weekly Standard, American Enterprise, Commentary, American Outlook, Policy Review, and The Spectator (British).
Here is Yahoo’s list of “conservative” and “progressive” magazines.
GENERAL MAGAZINE DATABASES & SEARCHING FOR EDITORIALS
RESEARCH GUIDES
CQ Researcher. Each issue is devoted to a single topic and contains a "Pro/Con" section of opposing opinion. Use the "Quick Search" to locate relevant issues.
There is a book series called opposing viewpoints that can provide background on topics.
Many popular magazines can be found in print at the "Popular Periodicals" section near the library's reference desk. To check if we have online access search the "Journal Titles" tab at the top of the library's homepage (watch a brief video demonstration of how to search for a journal title). Here is a browsable list of popular magazines you can access online.
Liberal magazines include:
Mother Jones, The Nation, The Progressive, The New Leader, Utne Reader, Dissent, American Prospect, and the New Statesman (British).
Conservative magazines include:
American Spectator, National Review, Weekly Standard, American Enterprise, Commentary, American Outlook, Policy Review, and The Spectator (British).
Here is Yahoo’s list of “conservative” and “progressive” magazines.
GENERAL MAGAZINE DATABASES & SEARCHING FOR EDITORIALS
- Popular Magazines
From GALE, this custom collection contains about 1,000 of the most popular magazines such as: Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, etc. - Academic Search Premier. For opposing opinions on an issue, "Limit your results" below the search slots by setting the "Document Type" to "Editorial."
- ProQuest. For opposing opinions on an issue, open the "More Search Options" tab below the search slots and set "Document Type" to "Editorial."
- Facts.com: Editorial Cartoons
Browse editorial cartoons by subject: Arts, Entertainment &the Media; Business, Labor &the Economy; Crime & Terrorism; Education; Environment; Families and Family Life; Human & Civil Rights; International Affairs; Judiciary; Medicine & Health Care; Minorities & Race Relations; Politics & Political Reform; Religion; Science and Technology; Sports; Wars, Weaponry & Military Forces; & Women
RESEARCH GUIDES
CQ Researcher. Each issue is devoted to a single topic and contains a "Pro/Con" section of opposing opinion. Use the "Quick Search" to locate relevant issues.
There is a book series called opposing viewpoints that can provide background on topics.
see also: my Research Guide for Independent Media
LIBRARY DATABASES
ALTERNATIVES LIBRARY
Note: for coverage on any blog use Google's Blog search
LIBRARY DATABASES
- Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current. - Black Newspapers
Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989 to the present,including Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post (A&I), Chicago Defender, Houston Post (A&I), Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal (A&I), New Journal & Guide (A&I), New York Amsterdam News, and the Los Angeles Sentinel. - GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years. - LGBT life with Full Text
World's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. (Was GLBT Life with Full Text) - Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press. - Small Town Papers
Over 250 small town newspapers can be browsed and searched. Scanned newspaper archive from 1865 up to the current edition for some titles.
ALTERNATIVES LIBRARY
- Alternatives Library
A library on the campus of Cornell University devoted to contempoary issue oriented resources that are not typically found in research and public libraries. It was dedicated to Anne Carry Durland in 1974. It is open to all.
Note: for coverage on any blog use Google's Blog search
- Daily Kos
Progressive community blog. - Drudge Report
Aggregated news feeds from Matt Drudge. Some original reporting. Considered conservative leaning. - Guerrillanews.com
An independent news organization that strives to bring global issues to the masses through articles, headlines, videos, and blogs. Articles are completely original, written by GNN users or contributors. Search by countries, keyword, and/or topics. - Huffington Post
Edgy leftist blog founded by Arianna Huffington. - Independent Media Center (imc)
Collective site for independent media organizations. - Nation : Blogs
The Nation magazine's blog site. Includes: Campaign 08, Editor's Cut, The Beat, Actnow!, The Dreyfuss Report, Capitolism, The Notion, And Another Thing. Liberal perspecitve. - National Review : Blog Row
National Review magazine's Blog Row includes: Bench Memos, Campain Spot, The Corner, Frum, Kudlow, Liberal Fascism, Media Blog, Phi Beta Cons, Planet Gore, Pryce-Jones, and Tank. Default is to The Corner. Conservative perspective. - Native Networks
Initiated by the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, this site is a guide to media produced by people in Hawaii and the Americas. - New America Media (NAM)
Founded by Pacific News Service in 1996, NAM collaborates with over 2000 ethnic news organizations to disseminate stories. Readers can chose stories by ethnicities or by special beats. - Politico
Online magazine with blogs covering American politics. - Talking Points Memo (TPM)
Josh Marshall's political blog. - TNR Blogs
The New Republic: A Journal of Politics and the Art magazine (TNR) hosts the following blogs: The Plank, The Stump, The Spine, The Flack, and The Vine. - Weekly Standard : The Blog
The Weekly Standard, a conservative news magazine, includes a blog, "Today's Standard."
Loading ...
Massing, M. (2004). Now They Tell Us: The American Press and Iraq. New York: New York Review Books.
see also: New York Review of Books: Michael Massing
- Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
A national media watch group that monitors media bias and censorship. - Journalism.org: Project for Excellence in Journalism: Understanding News in the Information Age
Site is provided by the Project for Excellence in Journalism and the Committee of Concerned Journalists. Includes a link to The State of the News Media Annual Report as well as other research reports and analysis. - Media Cloud
Data tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visulizes the flow of the media. - Media Education Foundation
Organization that produces educational documentaries that examines American mass media's impact on society. - Media Education Lab
Temple University program that focuses on media education through curriculum materials, publications, workshops, seminars, etc. - Media Matters for America
Progressive news monitoring organization. - National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)
Organization focused on media literacy in the United States. - Newsflow
Real-time map of news reporting from the MIT Center for Civic Media. - Newsy: Multisource video news
According to the About page, Newsy is the, "only video news service that allows users to compare bias by highlighting nuances in reporting." - On the Media
On the Media is a National Public Radio Program that reflects on how the media covered events in the weekly news. It also discusses issues in the media such as freedom of information . - Pew Research Center for People and the Press
Organization that conducts national surveys on the politics and the media. Includes data sets, reports, and links to polls. - Project Look Sharp
Project Look Sharp provides materials, training and support to help teachers prepare students for life in today's media saturated world. Project Look Sharp promotes the effective integration of media literacy and critical thinking into classroom curricula at all educational levels and instructional areas. Project Look Sharp also evaluates the effectiveness of school-based media literacy education.
The links below will display books in the library by subject. You could also do an Advanced Search in the catalog for Press Coverage as a phrase to see all books that discuss press coverage of issues, events, and people (watch a video demonstration of this search technique).
Try a subject search on Press Coverage in our catalog.
Try a subject search on Press Coverage in our catalog.
- African Americans Press coverage.
- American newspapers
- Broadcast journalism
- Censorship United States
- Disasters--Press coverage--United States
- Electronic news gathering
- Electronic newspapers
- Environmental protection Press coverage
- Foreign news
- Freedom of the press
- Government and the press
- Hispanic Americans press coverage
- Iraq War, 2003- Press coverage
- Journalism Objectivity
- Journalism Social aspects United States
- Journalistic ethics
- Journalists United States Biography
- Minorities Press coverage
- Press and politics
- Press law United States
- Radio journalism
- Reporters and reporting
- Television broadcasting of news
- War in mass media
- War press coverage
- Women press coverage
- Divakaran, A. (2008). Multimedia Content Analysis: Theory and Applications. Springer.
- Fortunato, J. A. (2005). Making Media Content: The Influence of Constituency Groups on Mass Media. Mahwah, N.J: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
- Krippendorff, K. (2013). Content analysis: an introduction to its methodology (3rd ed.). Los Angeles ; London: SAGE.
- Krippendorff, K. (2009). Content Analysis Reader. Sage Publications.
- Leetaru, K. (2012). Data mining methods for the content analyst: an introduction to the computational analysis of content. New York: Routledge.
- Message Effects in Communication Science. (1989). Sage annual reviews of communication research. Newbury Park, Calif: Sage Publications.
- Neuendorf, K. A. (2002). The Content Analysis Guidebook. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications.
- Postman, N. (2008). How to Watch TV News (Rev. ed.). New York, N.Y: Penguin.
- Riffe, D. (2005). Analyzing Media Messages: Using Quantitative Content Analysis in Research (2nd ed.). Mahwah, N.J: Lawrence Erlbaum.
- TV content analysis: techniques and applications. (2012). Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
ORGANIZATIONAL ETHICS - a select list
BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT TOOLS
- Society of Professional Journalists
- Poynter Institute
- National Press Photographers Association: Code of Ethics
- Radio-Television News Directors Association & Foundation (RTNDA)
BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT TOOLS
- Communication Research Methods (Content Analysis, Mass Media Research, Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis, etc.)
- Independent Media
- Media Studies
- Radio
- Journalism
- Television
- Visual Communication
- Journalism
- Independent Media
- Media Education Foundation (see also the list at the bottom, left)
