Lesson Plans

Lesson Plans

    

Lesson Plan Resources

Columbia Education Center (CEC) 
Over 600 lesson plans and activities prepared by teachers involved in CEC projects.

Curricular Resources 
Curriculum units prepared by fellows from the Yale - New Haven Teachers Institute, 1978 to the present. 

Discovery School Lesson Plans Library 
Hundreds of original lesson plans written by teachers, organized by grade level and subject. 

Education World 
Links to lesson planning resources.

Lesson Plan Page 
Over 2,500 lessons for teachers to use in variety of subjects.

Gateway Educational Materials (GEM) 
Contains resources found on federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet websites for educators.

MarcoPolo
Searchable database of Web sites with lesson plans, student interactive content, downloadable worksheets, links to panel-reviewed Web sites and additional resources created by the nation's leading education organizations including ARTSEDGE (John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts), EconEdLink (National Council on Economic Education), EDSITEment (National Endowment for the Humanities), Illuminations (The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics), ReadWriteThink (International Reading Association and The National Council of Teachers of English), Science NetLinks (American Association for the Advancement of Science), and Xpeditions (National Geographic Society). To search for lesson plans, click on the Search MarcoPolo button in the upper right hand corner of the screen.

New York Times Learning Network  
Lesson plans and activities related to news items found in the New York Times. 

PBS Teachersource   
Lesson plans and classroom activities linked to PBS content and educational outreach efforts.

Contact Us

Picture: Lisabeth Chabot
College Librarian
(607) 274-3182

ERIC Database

Search for Lesson Plans in the ERIC (Ebsco interface) database:

Enter "lesson plans" (in quotes) in the first search box and select DE from the drop-down menu.  Enter your subject (SU) - in the next search box. 
‚Äč
You may also limit your search by Education Level:

 

New York State Regents

Elementary/Intermediate Tests & Regents Examinations

Regents Core Curriculums  These documents have been written to assist teachers and supervisors as they prepare curriculum, instruction, and assessment for the various Science components of Standard 4 of the New York State Learning Standards for Mathematics, Science, and Technology.

Audio & Video Files

Annenberg Learner - Teacher Resources
Educational, online videos in many subjects. Select from the list and then look for the VoD (Video On Demand) icon for the free content. Free registration required.

PBS LearningMedia  Videos, games, audio clips, photos, and lesson plans.

Why Files
Web site focuses on the theme of "science behind the news." Every two weeks, a new Why File is posted that deals with a current events issue in the news involving science. Each file contains graphics, audio and "cool science images." Includes links to materials geared towards grades 5-12 education.

Smithsonian Global Sound
World' s music and aural traditions in streaming audio. Individual tracks of music, spoken words, and natural and human-made sounds; incl. published recordings from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels and recordings from Africa and South Asia. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Teachers' Domain
An online educational service with collections and course materials that help teachers enhance student learning experiences and advance their own teaching skills. The site includes classroom-ready multimedia resources including video and audio clips, interactives, images, and documents. There are also explanatory background articles for each resource, links to state and national curriculum standards, media-rich lesson plans, and resource management tools.