Languages: Databases, Books & DVDs

Finding Articles in Different Languages

Many of the databases at Ithaca College Library contain newspapers, magazines and journals published in languages other than English.  And some have the capability to translate the texts of the articles into other languages.  Here are some pointers on how to limit to specific languages within them.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier has a translating feature which will convert HTML  text to another language. Go into the citation of an article you wish to translate, select the desired language, then hit the Translate button.  The translation is  computer generated, so the results will give you the "gist" of the article.  Languages include Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese (simplified & traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hausa, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Pashto, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish,  Serbian,  Swedish, Thai, Urdu.


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library: First, create a search and select an article you'd like to translate.  After you open the citation, click on TOOLS, select the language, then hit TRANSLATE



Lexis-Nexis

  • Lexis Nexis: Go under News, then select Foreign Language:

Proquest

Proquest: In any of the Proquest databases (such as ABI Inform, Ethnic Newswatch, Proquest Newspapers) the search field, type the letters LN followed by the language you want in parentheses.



Or, simply use keywords from the language you prefer:

Changing the Search Interface

Why Change the Search Interface?

Many databases will allow you to change their search screen to a language other than English.  Listed below are a few of the databases that allow you to select a different language.  (Available languages will vary considerably among the databases).  If English is not your first language, or you simply want to try navigating databases in a different language, the following screen captures will show you how.


Academic Search Premier: Interface

Academic Search Premier (and all Ebsco databases): Go under the Languages  tab and select the language you'd prefer.


Gale Virtual Reference Library: Interface

Gale Virtual Reference Library: In Gale Virtual Reference, choose Preferences, then select Language 

General OneFile

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293
Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

English as a Second Language

For ESL Speakers, our library has a collection of books designed to help you learn English:
English language--Textbooks for foreign speakers

Books in Different Languages

When searching for books in other languages in our library, use an advanced search in our online catalog to limit to the language of your choice:

DVDs in Other Languages

Database Tips & Troubleshooting

If you have any questions about the information presented here, please feel free to contact any of the Subject Specialists listed above.

If you run into technical problems with a particular database (ie. slow loading, dropped searches, garbled text, etc.) Please call or email us at the reference desk: 274-3890, reference@ithaca.edu, or  chat with us.

Trying to access us from off campus?  Try our Dorm & Off Campus guide.