OTBS 30600: Occupational Apartheid

                                  

Best Bets

CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.

AgeLine
This is a great tool for finding the social gerontology literature.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
ScienceDirect
Full text of the Elsevier journals covering many subjects including medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pschology, education, and communication.

 

Secondary Databases

PsycARTICLES
Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology (good for occupational psychology).

SocINDEX with Full Text
Database of sociology and related disciplines (good for Rehabilitation Counseling)

ProQuest Psychology Journals
Covers occpuational psychology.

ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Education related literature and other disciplines (speech therapy, disability, etc.), as related to school-based settings.

Google Scholar
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases. Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.

Government and Legal Sources

Office of Minority Health (U.S.)
Federal agency that addresses the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.  Research, data, and activities focus on American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Blacks/African Americans, Hispanics/Latinos, Native Hawaiians, and other Pacific Islanders.

Cultural Competence in Health Care: Emerging Frameworks and Practical Approaches
A report sponsored by the Commonwealth Fund in 2002; an excellent overview of rnthe issues related to cultural competence.

Cross Cultural Health Care Program
Resource guides about cultural competence, minority health resources, and health disparities.

National Center for Cultural Competence
Site includes a “Self-Assessment Checklist for Personnel Providing Services and Supports to Children with Special Health Needs and their Families", and provides links on cultural competence, as well as the searchable “Cultural and Linguistic Competence Resource Database” of resource materials.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.

Reviews

Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.


OT CATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics
Each CAT represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational therapy interventions. CATS, or Critically Appraised Topics, are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. From the University of Western Sydney, New South Wales.

OTseeker: Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

Statistics/Data

REHABDATA
Literature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. 

America's Health Rankings
Annual rankings analyze health in the U.S. health on a state-by-state basis. Data includes national health benchmarks and an annual ranking of the healthiest and least healthy states.

Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
Information and analysis on the distribution and use of medical resources in the United States, at the national, regional, and local market level. Comparative data on hospital expenditures, capacity, and per capita expenditures; Medicare reimbursements for inpatient, outpatient, and home health care; physician work force active in patient care; rates of diagnostic and surgical procedures; and hospital capacity and Medicare hospitalizations. Interactive tools can be used to create customized reports, comparative analyses, and charts.  

Health Care System Profiles
Profiles cover the financing, organization, and delivery of health care services in industrialized countries. These surveys also highlight quality, efficiency, and cost-controlling policy initiatives and reforms. Full-text profiles of various countries can be downloaded.



Health in the Americas
Profiles of health care systems of Pan American Health Organization’s member countries. Each profile includes health situation trends, health problems by population group, national health plans and policies, health services offered, and organization of the health sector.

Health Poll Search
A "searchable archive of health-related public opinion questions that allows users to know what Americans think and have thought about health issues over time."  "Information on public perceptions of HIV/AIDS, reproductive health, health policy and health reform, Medicare and Medicaid, women's health, the uninsured, minority health, and children's health, among other health-related topics."



National Health Care Surveys (NCHS)
The National Center for Health Statistics conducts various surveys that address topics such as the factors that influence the use of health care resources; the quality of health care, including safety; and disparities in health care services among various population subgroups in the United States. Surveys are conducted at various settings such as physicians' offices, emergency and out-patient hospital departments, inpatient hospital care, ambulatory surgical facilities, nursing homes, and hospices.

Kaiser State Health Facts
A project of the Henry J Kaiser Family Foundation that provides current health information, including comparative data and state profiles. Also includes data more than 500 health topics, including, heath care economics, demographics, insurance, minority health, and women's health.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The mission of AHRQ is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. The AHRQ Web site provides information on a variety of health topics focusing on specific populations and types of health care services.  Surveys included: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey(MEPS), and the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports.

Survey of Health Care Consumers
An annual survey of health care consumers' attitudes, behaviors, and unmet needs. It covers six broad topics: wellness and healthy living, including self-care and health management; information sources helpful in consumer decision making; traditional health services provided by medical professionals, hospitals, and retail clinics, as well as prescription medications and medical devices; alternative health services sometimes described as complementary medicine; insurance coverage and other financial considerations; and opinions about health care reform.

  Healthcare Equality Index
Rates 166 U.S. healthcare facilities on their policies and practices related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Cultural Competence

Cultural competence is a set of attitudes, skills, behaviors,and policies that enable professionals to work effectively in cross-cultural situations.

Quality and Culture Quiz

Cultural Competence Self-Test.pdf pdf

Images and Video

HealthMap


NIH Vodcast
A monthly videocast from the National Insitutes of Health covers health research topics and the latest research findings.

Health Disparities Newsfeed

Loading ...

Spotlight: Foundations

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
An independent philanthropy devoted to improving health policy and practice. Foundation programs focus on childhood obesity, health care coverage, health care quality/equality, and innovations.

Kaiser Family Foundation
KFF focuses on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.  The foundation provides statisical data, polling data, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public.