OTMS 67100: Group Research

Defining Your Research Question

  • Determine and define the clinical problem
·       Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
  • Generate a list of keywords using PICO
·       Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
·       Intervention
·       Comparison (if any)
·       Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)

Best Bets

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
A comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text.  This is the cadillac of all health and research databases. Be sure to use the many helpful limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
CINAHL
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) indexes nursing and allied health journals back to 1982, with links to some full-text. This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles. Be sure to use the many limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
PsycINFO
A comprehensive database that provides references to some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of  many related disciplines.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
The premier education database including bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
ProQuest Research Library
Includes education and health journals
CAM on PubMed
Search PubMed's Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) subset.

OTseeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
CAM on PubMed
Search PubMed's Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) subset.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
 Full-Text access to dissertations and theses. 
 

Search Strategies: Professor Bradshaw

Professor Bradshaw



Search Stategies 
Article Quick Search or try within one database such as CINAHL, Medline, or ERIC; Proquest Research Library
1. health science* student* or healthcare student* or health profession* student* or nursing student* or ot student* or occupational therap* student* or medical student* or pharmacolog* student or chiropract* student
2. Complementary and Alternative Medicine OR CAM or alternative therap* or complementary therap* or naturopath* or homoeopath* or chiropract*
3. attitude* or knowledge or use
4. education or teaching material*


 

Search Strategies: Professor Long

Professor Long



Search Stategies 
Article Quick Search or try within one database such as CINAHL, Medline, or ERIC; Proquest Research Library
1. critical thinking or clinical competence or clinical decision making or professional competence or health knowledge or clinical reasoning
2. problem based learning or problem solving or learning methods or experiential learning
3. occupational therap*
4. education or curriculum or student* or fieldwork

Cited Reference Searching
CINAHL, PsycINFO or Proquest Research Library


Google Scholar

 

Search Strategies: Professor Gitlow

Professor Gitlow


"assistive technolog*"
AND
"cognitive disabilit*" or  "problem solving" or "attention span" or dementia or "developmental disabilit*" or memory or "intellectual disabilit*" or " traumatic brain injury"
 

Course Books

Portney, L. G., & Watkins, M. P. (2009). Foundations of clinical research: Applications to practice. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall.

Kielhofner, G. (2006). Research in occupational therapy: Methods of inquiry for enhancing practice. Philadelphia, PA: FA Davis.

American Psychological Association (2009). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed. Washington, DC: American Psychological  Association.

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Survey Books

Fink, A. (2013). How to conduct surveys : a step-by-step guide. 5th ed. Los Angeles: SAGE.
Sue, V. M, & Ritter, L. A. (2012). Conducting online surveys. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage.
Brace, I. (2008). Questionnaire design: how to plan, structure and write survey material for effective market research, second edition. 2nd ed. London: Kogan Page.
Brace, I. (2004). Questionnaire design : how to plan, structure, and write survey material for effective market research. London: Kogan Page.
Iarossi, G. (2005). The power of survey design: a user's guide for managing surveys, interpreting results, and influencing respondents.Washington, DC: World Bank.

Click on the links to find more books in the library on survey design:
Social surveys
Social surveys--Methodology
 

CAM Websites

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).

Alternative Health News Online
Provides links to alternative and conventional health news.
CAM on MedlinePlus
National Institutes of Health's Web site for consumer health on complementary and alternative medicine.

PubMed's Dietary Supplements
Search PubMed's dieatary supplements subset.