Online Teaching


ERIC (Ebsco interface)
The Education Resources Information Center is an online digital library sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to journal articles, project and technical reports, and books and supports the "use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research."
ProQuest Education Journals
ScienceDirect
Full-text access to articles from two pertinent journals: "Internet and Higher Education" and "Computers in Education".
ebrary
Full-text of over 50,000 scholarly books - links to the these ebooks are included in the IC Library's online catalog. Searching via the Ebrary database retrieves a relevance-ranked list of ebooks from the entire collection. Books and book chapters have persistent URL's that can be added to course syllabi and course managment websites. Users can copy and paste text, print pages and chapters, and manage and share their research by creating an online bookshelf for books, notes, and chapters, which can be emalied to peers.
The Education Resources Information Center is an online digital library sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to journal articles, project and technical reports, and books and supports the "use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research."
ProQuest Education Journals
ScienceDirect
Full-text access to articles from two pertinent journals: "Internet and Higher Education" and "Computers in Education".
ebrary
Full-text of over 50,000 scholarly books - links to the these ebooks are included in the IC Library's online catalog. Searching via the Ebrary database retrieves a relevance-ranked list of ebooks from the entire collection. Books and book chapters have persistent URL's that can be added to course syllabi and course managment websites. Users can copy and paste text, print pages and chapters, and manage and share their research by creating an online bookshelf for books, notes, and chapters, which can be emalied to peers.
Teaching Courses Online: A Review of the Research/ Mary K. Tallent-Runnels et al. Review of Educational Research, Vol. 76, No. 1 (Spring, 2006), pp. 93-135
http://www.jstor.org/stable/3700584
Marcel S. Kerr, Kimberly Rynearson, Marcus C. Kerr, Student characteristics for online learning success, The Internet and Higher Education, Volume 9, Issue 2, 2nd Quarter 2006, Pages 91-105, http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/B6W4X-4K12CHX-1/2/b747974a6b24254125859cce0a99600f
Daniel Stricker, David Weibel, Bartholomaus Wissmath, Efficient learning using a virtual learning environment in a university class, Computers & Education, Volume 56, Issue 2, February 2011, Pages 495-504. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/B6VCJ-513F8RY-2/2/02a8a4465ca3f53b727f852d0864e38b
Means, B., Toyama, Y., Murphy, R., Bakia, M., Jones, K., Department of Education (ED), O., et al. (2009). Evaluation of Evidence-Based Practices in Online Learning: A Meta-Analysis and Review of Online Learning Studies. U.S. Dept. of Education.
Marcel S. Kerr, Kimberly Rynearson, Marcus C. Kerr, Student characteristics for online learning success, The Internet and Higher Education, Volume 9, Issue 2, 2nd Quarter 2006, Pages 91-105, http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/B6W4X-4K12CHX-1/2/b747974a6b24254125859cce0a99600f
Daniel Stricker, David Weibel, Bartholomaus Wissmath, Efficient learning using a virtual learning environment in a university class, Computers & Education, Volume 56, Issue 2, February 2011, Pages 495-504. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/B6VCJ-513F8RY-2/2/02a8a4465ca3f53b727f852d0864e38b
Means, B., Toyama, Y., Murphy, R., Bakia, M., Jones, K., Department of Education (ED), O., et al. (2009). Evaluation of Evidence-Based Practices in Online Learning: A Meta-Analysis and Review of Online Learning Studies. U.S. Dept. of Education.
Design Principles For Online Instruction
Topics covered: instructional design, interaction and feedback, incorporating media, course management, and support services.
Instructional Design for Online Course Development
Covers the Instructional development process, Differences between planning a face-to-face and an online course, What to consider for online course development, Writing instructional outcomes, Creating online assessments, Creating learning activities and Designing online conferences.
Designing Good Questions for Online Discussions (Penn State)
Rubric for Online Instruction (Cal State Chico, 2009)
Best Practices in Online Teaching Strategies (Hanover Research Council, 2009).
Topics covered: instructional design, interaction and feedback, incorporating media, course management, and support services.
Instructional Design for Online Course Development
Covers the Instructional development process, Differences between planning a face-to-face and an online course, What to consider for online course development, Writing instructional outcomes, Creating online assessments, Creating learning activities and Designing online conferences.
Designing Good Questions for Online Discussions (Penn State)
Rubric for Online Instruction (Cal State Chico, 2009)
Best Practices in Online Teaching Strategies (Hanover Research Council, 2009).
Distance Education Clearinghouse
Links to online learning and distance education resources, including courses, articles, best-practices information, technology reports, and other materials.
MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
An online repository of e-Learning objects designed to enable a broad base of faculty to provide high quality, online material to enhance college level learning. The materials in Merlot may be peer reviewed by both experts in the discipline and users of the materials.
Virtual Resource Site for Teaching with Technology (University of Maryland University College)
Links to online learning and distance education resources, including courses, articles, best-practices information, technology reports, and other materials.
MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
An online repository of e-Learning objects designed to enable a broad base of faculty to provide high quality, online material to enhance college level learning. The materials in Merlot may be peer reviewed by both experts in the discipline and users of the materials.
Virtual Resource Site for Teaching with Technology (University of Maryland University College)
Liaison Librarians welcome the opportunity to create Online Research Guides for specific topics and class assignments. Course guides highlight resources and search strategies that support the learning outcomes for a course.
The Library's Writing and Citing Page includes a series of interactive widgets that address topics such as finding scholarly articles, plagiarism, and evaluating websites. There are also links to citation guides for the various styles - e.g. APA, MLA.
Check out our guide on Mendeley - a research management tool that allows you to organize and annotate PDFs, insert bibliographies and citations into your research paper and collaborate in groups.
We are also like Zotero - software that allows you to easily collect, manage, and save bibliographic information about the items you find on the Web. It also works with word processing programs to help you easily cite your sources as you write.
The Library has created a guide on RSS Feeds - a technology that allows you to subscribe to "feeds" in order to keep up with news from websites (including blogs) without having to continually visit the website.
There is also a guide on Automating Your Research - In many databases, you can set up an alert in order to keep you up-to-date on a specific research topic. You save your search online and set it up to run regularly and find any newly published content. When new articles that match your search are published, you receive an email alert.
The Library's Writing and Citing Page includes a series of interactive widgets that address topics such as finding scholarly articles, plagiarism, and evaluating websites. There are also links to citation guides for the various styles - e.g. APA, MLA.
Check out our guide on Mendeley - a research management tool that allows you to organize and annotate PDFs, insert bibliographies and citations into your research paper and collaborate in groups.
We are also like Zotero - software that allows you to easily collect, manage, and save bibliographic information about the items you find on the Web. It also works with word processing programs to help you easily cite your sources as you write.
The Library has created a guide on RSS Feeds - a technology that allows you to subscribe to "feeds" in order to keep up with news from websites (including blogs) without having to continually visit the website.
There is also a guide on Automating Your Research - In many databases, you can set up an alert in order to keep you up-to-date on a specific research topic. You save your search online and set it up to run regularly and find any newly published content. When new articles that match your search are published, you receive an email alert.
Educause Learning Initiative
Click on the "Blogs" tab to see a list of ELI's 7 Things You Should Know About... series which focuses on emerging learning technologies and related practices. Each brief looks at a single technology or practice and describes: What it is, How it works, Where it is going, and why it matters to teaching and learning.
See also the Online Teaching Strategies webpage.
The New Media Consortium (NMC) is an international not-for-profit consortium of learning-focused organizations dedicated to the exploration and use of new media and new technologies. IC is a member of the consortium. The consortium's Horizon Reports provide timely and authoritative sources of information on new and emerging technologies.