OTMS 67110: Group Research 1

Best Bets

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text. Be sure to use the many helpful limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles. Be sure to use the many limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
The premier education database including bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
AgeLine
Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging.
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present.
OTseeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
OT Search
A bibliographic databases for finding OT focused journal articles and books published by AOTA. The full-text is not located in this database, but it will provide detailed information to help you locate the full-text of the article or the print/e-book.

 

Defining Your Research Question

  • Determine and define the clinical problem
·       Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
  • Generate a list of keywords using PICO
·       Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
·       Intervention
·       Comparison (if any)
·       Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Citing Sources Using APA

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for many disciplines in the social sciences. The current edition is the sixth (2010).

Library Exercise

Use this exercise as a template to help you with your group research project.
Library Exercise: Gitlow pdf

Library Exercise: Long pdf