OTMS 67110: CAM

Defining Your Research Question

  • Determine and define the clinical problem
·       Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
  • Generate a list of keywords using PICO
·       Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
·       Intervention
·       Comparison (if any)
·       Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)

Best Bets

CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles. Be sure to use the many limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
CAM on PubMed
Search PubMed's Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) subset.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is the cadillac of all health and research databases. Be sure to use the many helpful limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provides full-text materials, abstracts and citations to patient and consumer health information that includes alternative medicine.
OTseeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
OT Search
A bibliographic databases for finding OT focused journal articles and books published by AOTA. The full-text is not located in this database, but it will provide detailed information to help you locate the full-text of the article or the print/e-book.
 

Websites

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
Alternative Health News Online
Provides links to alternative and conventional health news.
CAM on MedlinePlus
National Institutes of Health's Web site for consumer health on complementary and alternative medicine.
PubMed's Dietary Supplements
Search PubMed's dieatary supplements subset.