WRTG: Pop Culture Research
- National and Global Pop Culture
- Pop Culture and Mass Media
- Pop Culture and Motion Pictures
- Pop Culture and Television/Radio
- Pop Culture and Music
- Pop Culture and Technology
- Pop Culture and Literature
- Pop Culture and the Arts
- Pop Culture and Sports
- Pop Culture and Body/Soul
- Pop Culture and Race/Ethnicity/Religion
- Pop Culture and Consumption
- Pop Culture and Celebrities
- Pop Culture and Youth
- IC Library Databases (Articles)
- Web Resources
I've tried to take a very broad approach to popular culture here, but you will undoubtedly notice omissions and asymmetries, due either to my oversights or the limits of the collection. And extensive as is the representative sample of Subject Headings below, it indicates the types of searches you can try--not the full range of particular possibilities.
Western films--History and criticism
People creatively involved in film-making may have their own Subject Heading:
People creatively involved in film-making may have their own Subject Heading:
Eastwood, Clint, 1930---Criticism and interpretation
Scorsese, Martin--Criticism and interpretation
Individual films may have their own Subject Heading:
Citizen Kane (Motion picture)
2001, a space odyssey (Motion picture)
Scorsese, Martin--Criticism and interpretation
Individual films may have their own Subject Heading:
Citizen Kane (Motion picture)
2001, a space odyssey (Motion picture)
Television criticism
Television--Philosophy
Television--Psychological aspects
Television--Social aspects
Television programs--United States
Television broadcasting--Social aspects
Television broadcasting--Social aspects--United States
Television broadcasting of news--Social aspects--United States
Television broadcasting of sports--United States
Television comedies United States
Television comedies--United States--History
Television serials
Detective and mystery television programs--United States--History and criticism
Science fiction television programs--United States
Game shows--United States
Soap operas--United States--History and criticism
Reality television programs
Talk shows--United States
Sex role on television
Violence on television
Crime on television
Television and children
Women on television
African Americans on television
People creatively involved in television may have their own Subject Headings:
Ball, Lucille, 1911-
Winfrey, Oprah--Criticism and interpretation
Individual television shows may have their own Subject Headings:
Star Trek (Television program)
Seinfeld (Television program)
Buffy, the vampire slayer (Television program)
Sopranos (Television program)
Radio broadcasting--Social aspects
Radio broadcasting--Social aspects--United States
Radio talk shows--United States
Limbaugh, Rush H.
Television--Philosophy
Television--Psychological aspects
Television--Social aspects
Television programs--United States
Television broadcasting--Social aspects
Television broadcasting--Social aspects--United States
Television broadcasting of news--Social aspects--United States
Television broadcasting of sports--United States
Television comedies United States
Television comedies--United States--History
Television serials
Detective and mystery television programs--United States--History and criticism
Science fiction television programs--United States
Game shows--United States
Soap operas--United States--History and criticism
Reality television programs
Talk shows--United States
Sex role on television
Violence on television
Crime on television
Television and children
Women on television
African Americans on television
People creatively involved in television may have their own Subject Headings:
Ball, Lucille, 1911-
Winfrey, Oprah--Criticism and interpretation
Individual television shows may have their own Subject Headings:
Star Trek (Television program)
Seinfeld (Television program)
Buffy, the vampire slayer (Television program)
Sopranos (Television program)
Radio broadcasting--Social aspects
Radio broadcasting--Social aspects--United States
Radio talk shows--United States
Limbaugh, Rush H.
Popular music History and criticism
Popular music--Social aspects
Popular music--United States--History and criticism
Popular music--Analysis, appreciation
Musicals--United States--History and criticism
Folk music--United States--History and criticism
Country music--History and criticism
African Americans--Music--History and criticism
Blues (Music)--History and criticism
Rhythm and blues music
Jazz--History and criticism
Rock music--History and criticism
Rock music--United States--History and criticism
Rock music--Social aspects
Punk rock music--History and criticism
Heavy metal (Music)--History and criticism
Disco music--History and criticism
Rap (Music)--History and criticism
Hip-hop
Goth culture (Subculture)
Performers and their recordings may have their own Subject Headings:
Dylan, Bob, 1941---Criticism and interpretation
Dylan, Bob, 1941- Basement tapes
Beatles
Beatles. Sgt. Pepper\'s Lonely Hearts Club Band
Lennon, John, 1940-1980
Joplin, Janis
R.E.M. (Musical group)--Criticism and interpretation
Jackson, Michael, 1958-2009
Madonna, 1958---Criticism and interpretation
Popular music--Social aspects
Popular music--United States--History and criticism
Popular music--Analysis, appreciation
Musicals--United States--History and criticism
Folk music--United States--History and criticism
Country music--History and criticism
African Americans--Music--History and criticism
Blues (Music)--History and criticism
Rhythm and blues music
Jazz--History and criticism
Rock music--History and criticism
Rock music--United States--History and criticism
Rock music--Social aspects
Punk rock music--History and criticism
Heavy metal (Music)--History and criticism
Disco music--History and criticism
Rap (Music)--History and criticism
Hip-hop
Goth culture (Subculture)
Performers and their recordings may have their own Subject Headings:
Dylan, Bob, 1941---Criticism and interpretation
Dylan, Bob, 1941- Basement tapes
Beatles
Beatles. Sgt. Pepper\'s Lonely Hearts Club Band
Lennon, John, 1940-1980
Joplin, Janis
R.E.M. (Musical group)--Criticism and interpretation
Jackson, Michael, 1958-2009
Madonna, 1958---Criticism and interpretation
Internet--Social aspects
Social media
Online social networks
Online social networks--Social aspects
Online social networks--United States
Social media
Online social networks
Online social networks--Social aspects
Online social networks--United States
Computer networks--Social aspects
Facebook (Electronic resource)
Twitter
Text messages (Telephone systems)
Instant messaging
Blogs
Blogs--Social aspects
Facebook (Electronic resource)
Text messages (Telephone systems)
Instant messaging
Blogs
Blogs--Social aspects
Electronic games industry
Electronic games--Social aspects
Computer games--Design--Social aspects
Computer games--Psychological aspects
Computer games--Social aspects
Video games and children
Video games--Psychological aspects
Popular literature--United States--History and criticism
Authors' names (last name first) may be Subject Headings:
King, Stephen, 1947---Criticism and interpretation
Authors' names (last name first) may be Subject Headings:
King, Stephen, 1947---Criticism and interpretation
Obesity--Social aspects
Popular culture--Religious aspects
Popular culture--Religious aspects--Christianity
Popular culture--Religious aspects--Judaism
Mass media--Religious aspects
Religion in motion pictures
Motion pictures--Religious aspects
Religion on television
Television in religion
Television in religion--United States
Popular music--Religious aspects
Internet--Religious aspects
Popular culture--Religious aspects
Popular culture--Religious aspects--Christianity
Popular culture--Religious aspects--Judaism
Mass media--Religious aspects
Religion in motion pictures
Motion pictures--Religious aspects
Religion on television
Television in religion
Television in religion--United States
Popular music--Religious aspects
Internet--Religious aspects
Young consumers--United States
Brand name products
Branding (Marketing)
Brand choice
Marketing--Social aspects
Advertising--Social aspects
Electronic commerce--Social aspects
Brand name products
Branding (Marketing)
Brand choice
Marketing--Social aspects
Advertising--Social aspects
Electronic commerce--Social aspects
Few databases offer 100% full text. Most retrieve a mix of full text articles and article "citations"--article title, author(s), publication info, and usually an "abstract" or one-prargraph summary of the content. When a citation makes you want the full text, look below it for this icon:

Clicking "GETIT" checks (almost all) the IC Library's other databases to see if any offers the full text of the article--or if the Library has a print subscription to the journal in which the article appeared.
Clicking "GETIT" checks (almost all) the IC Library's other databases to see if any offers the full text of the article--or if the Library has a print subscription to the journal in which the article appeared.
- "GETIT" will usually find the full text in another database and open it in a new window.
- If none of our databases can access the full text but we have a print subsciption to the journal, "GETIT" will retrieve the Library catalog record for the journal so that you can see if the date of the article falls within the date range we have on hand.
- If full text is not available from any database or from a print subsciption, "GETIT" will provide a link to the IC Library's Interlibrary Loan. Log in (same as your IC e-mail)--and set up your account if you've never used it before. "GETIT" will have populated the article request form with all the necessary information and you simply submit the request elecrtonically. Most articles are supplied as digital files and will be sent to you via e-mail when they arrive.
General OneFile :
The most user friendly of our comprehensive databases--covering virtually any topic from a wide range of disciplinary angles. Use the default Subject search to find an appropriate Subject Heading for your topic and then open the "Subdivisions" link underneath. Especially useful for popular culture will be "Forecasts and Trends," "Influence," "Media Coverage," Public Opinion," "Psychological Aspects," and "Social Aspects." If you search on individuals or groups of individuals--African Americans, Women, Athletes, Gays, Muslims--there will be a Subdivision "Portrayals" that collects articles on how that group is portrayed in various media: television, films, literature.
If the best available Subdivision is still too broad, open the set of articles and add Keywords in the "Search within these Results" slot at the upper left.
For lists of available Subject Headings for types of movies, television, or music, run a Subject search on ""Movie genres," "Television programs," or "Popular music" and then open the "Related Subjects" link.
Criticism of particular movies, tv shows, music recordings, or video games is best retrieved using the “Advanced Search” option. For movies, tv, and video games, enter the medium first as a Subject search in the first slot: “Movies,” “Television programs,” or “Video games.” In the next slot enter the particular title—in quotation marks—as a Keyword search. After looking at these results go back and change the Keyword search to an “Entire Document” search. This will increase your retrieval set, although the new articles may not discuss the particular film, show, or game at length.
For music criticism, enter the composer/performer as the Subject and the name of the work or recording in the Keyword slot—in quotation marks if more than one word. Again, after you’ve looked at these results, try changing the Keyword part of the search to “Entire Document.”
User Advisory: When viewing any retrieval set in General OneFile, note that you are viewing only the Magazines and must click on the "Academic Journals" or "News" tabs to see those resources.
ProQuest Research Library :
Criticism of particular movies, tv shows, or video games is best retrieved by entering the appropriate medium as a Subject search--“Motion pictures,” “Television programs,” or “Computer and video games”--and then adding the title of the film, program, or game in the “Citation and abstract” field (if the title is more than one word put it in quotation marks).
If you're not getting enough hits, try changing the search field of the title to “Document text.” In both cases, look at the articles in the “Scholarly Journals” tab for the most substantial criticism.
For individual composers/performers, put the name, last name first, in the “Person field” and the title of the work/recording in the “Citation and abstract” field. In the case of a music group, put the group’s name in the “Company/org” field and the work/recording title in “Citation and abstract.” Titles of more than one word should be put in quotation marks. Try changing “Citation and abstract” to “Document text” for broader results.
Academic Search Premier & Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) :
These two Ebsco databases give the best results if you enter the name of a film, tv program, or recording in the “Reviews & Products” field, followed by the appropriate medium designation: Pulp Fiction film, Lost tv program, OK Computer music. BUT—if the title begins with “The” you must transpose it to the end: Matrix The film, Wire The tv program, Basement Tapes The music. To target the most scholarly articles, check the “Scholarly journals” box under “limit your results” on the right and click “Update results.”
For video games, enter the name of the game (and put it in quotation marks if it’s more than one word) in the default “Select a field” and combine it with “Video games” in “Subject Terms.” Since criticism of video games may be scarce, be sure to try the same search but with the game title in the “All Text” field.
If you wish more generally to search a writer, director, musical performer or musical group, search them in the “People” field.
SocINDEX with Full Text ;
An excellent database for social issues. Click on the "Subject Terms" link above the search slots to find which Subject Headings will work here (it's worth searching "Popular Culture" and then "exploding" (double clicking) the term for a list of broader, narrower, and related Subject Terms).
LexisNexis Academic News:
Our best national, international, and local newspaper coverage--100% full text. Don't settle for the default "Easy Search"--choose "News" at the lower left and then "All News." Then change the default "Everywhere" search to "Headline & Lead" (otherwise a keyword searche of full text will retrieve too many irrelevant hits). Even more effective at targeting articles where your topic is discussed, not simply mentioned, is to use the "atleast" formula. For example, if you enter atleast4("global warming"), it will retrieve only articles in which that phrase is used at least 4 times--a guarantee that it is a main topic.
If you need more focus in your results, try setting the “Article Type” field under the search slots to Book, Movie, Music, or Theater Reviews.
Use "Specify date" to select a time range also helps narrow your results. Also be aware that by clicking on the "Sources" at the bottom left, then choosing "Browse Sources" and opening the "News" folder, you can access an alphabetical list of individual news sources that includes every state. By checking boxes you can compare how a topic is covered in, say, Vermont versus Alabama.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) & PsycINFO :
Eric is an Education database, and here you can find a large literature on the significance of books, movies, television, music, and video or computer games for children and for young people between 13 and 25 (high school and college age). Education has its own vocabulary of Subject Headings--called Descriptors--so be sure to preview the appropriate media designations in the Eric "Thesaurus" located above the search slots.
Psychology also uses its own "Descriptor" vocabulary (for instance "Computer games" also covers video games and "Films" is to be used instead of movies or motion pictures). Check out what terms will work in the PsycINFO "Thesaurus" which you'll find at the bottom of the opening screen. PsycINFO is a good source for research on the psychology of "Popular Culture," "Films," "Television," "Advertising," and "Consumer Behavior"-- to name only a few of the Descriptors available here.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
In RILM limit your search to "articles only" and "English only" (if that's all you read). Then either check the Thesaurus at the bottom of the screen to see what Subject headings--called Descriptors here--are available for your searches or "Browse Topics" to the right of the Topics search slot. These provide a good anchor for your search, to which you can add Keywords for greater focus.
Literature Online (LION) with MLA :
LION combines access to the two largest indexes of language and literature resources: the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Click on “Criticism & Reference” at the upper left, then select “Criticism” above the search slots. LION is one of the few databases where you can enter the title of any literary work as a Subject search--guaranteeing that the articles retrieved will provide sustained discussion. Don't settle for searching title or author in the Keyword slot.
JSTOR :
You'll find a great deal of literary criticism and a fair amount of film and television criticism in this 100% full-text database of scholarly literature. JSTOR offers only Keyword search of its full text, so put full names and Keyword phrases in quotation marks. And be sure to check the "Article" limit below the search slots to weed out book reviews. Also be aware that for 100% full text you must change the setting from "include links to external content" to "include only content I can access."
JSTOR access to journal articles begins 3 years prior to the present--so don't look for any criticism from the last couple of years--but coverage always extends back to the first issue of each journal--in some cases into the 19th century and beyond. This allows you, for instance, to compare views about the morality of young people dancing to jazz in the 1920s with views about the morality of young people dancing to hip hop in the 1990s and early 2000s. And if you want to target a time period, just set a “Date Range.”
Project Muse :
Although a smaller database, it complements JSTOR. LIke JSTOR it provides 100% full text of mostly scholarly journals, but its coverage is entirely current--mainly spanning the last 10-15 years. Muse uses a "black box" search approach--you enter your search terms in one slot with no designated field options--but in addition to slapping in keywords, you can use the same Library of Congress Subject Headings that work in the Library catalog (see above under "Subject Searches"). This broad approach to searching tends to generate large retrievals, so it's best to be as specific as possible. And note--once you have a retrieval set, you can add more search terms by clicking "Modify Search" at the top.
New York Times (1851-2009) :
If the film or television program or recording you wish to write about dates from before 1980, most of our databases cannot supply contemporary reviews and commentary. But this database offers the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to 2005, so you can access contemporary reviews of Gone with the Wind, I Love Lucy, or Meet the Beatles. Enter a Keyword search, putting phrases in quotation marks. You might begin by searching in the “Citation and Abstract” field, then, if this doesn’t yield enough results, expand to the default “Citation and document text” field.
The most user friendly of our comprehensive databases--covering virtually any topic from a wide range of disciplinary angles. Use the default Subject search to find an appropriate Subject Heading for your topic and then open the "Subdivisions" link underneath. Especially useful for popular culture will be "Forecasts and Trends," "Influence," "Media Coverage," Public Opinion," "Psychological Aspects," and "Social Aspects." If you search on individuals or groups of individuals--African Americans, Women, Athletes, Gays, Muslims--there will be a Subdivision "Portrayals" that collects articles on how that group is portrayed in various media: television, films, literature.
If the best available Subdivision is still too broad, open the set of articles and add Keywords in the "Search within these Results" slot at the upper left.
For lists of available Subject Headings for types of movies, television, or music, run a Subject search on ""Movie genres," "Television programs," or "Popular music" and then open the "Related Subjects" link.
Criticism of particular movies, tv shows, music recordings, or video games is best retrieved using the “Advanced Search” option. For movies, tv, and video games, enter the medium first as a Subject search in the first slot: “Movies,” “Television programs,” or “Video games.” In the next slot enter the particular title—in quotation marks—as a Keyword search. After looking at these results go back and change the Keyword search to an “Entire Document” search. This will increase your retrieval set, although the new articles may not discuss the particular film, show, or game at length.
For music criticism, enter the composer/performer as the Subject and the name of the work or recording in the Keyword slot—in quotation marks if more than one word. Again, after you’ve looked at these results, try changing the Keyword part of the search to “Entire Document.”
User Advisory: When viewing any retrieval set in General OneFile, note that you are viewing only the Magazines and must click on the "Academic Journals" or "News" tabs to see those resources.
ProQuest Research Library :
Criticism of particular movies, tv shows, or video games is best retrieved by entering the appropriate medium as a Subject search--“Motion pictures,” “Television programs,” or “Computer and video games”--and then adding the title of the film, program, or game in the “Citation and abstract” field (if the title is more than one word put it in quotation marks).
If you're not getting enough hits, try changing the search field of the title to “Document text.” In both cases, look at the articles in the “Scholarly Journals” tab for the most substantial criticism.
For individual composers/performers, put the name, last name first, in the “Person field” and the title of the work/recording in the “Citation and abstract” field. In the case of a music group, put the group’s name in the “Company/org” field and the work/recording title in “Citation and abstract.” Titles of more than one word should be put in quotation marks. Try changing “Citation and abstract” to “Document text” for broader results.
Academic Search Premier & Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) :
These two Ebsco databases give the best results if you enter the name of a film, tv program, or recording in the “Reviews & Products” field, followed by the appropriate medium designation: Pulp Fiction film, Lost tv program, OK Computer music. BUT—if the title begins with “The” you must transpose it to the end: Matrix The film, Wire The tv program, Basement Tapes The music. To target the most scholarly articles, check the “Scholarly journals” box under “limit your results” on the right and click “Update results.”
For video games, enter the name of the game (and put it in quotation marks if it’s more than one word) in the default “Select a field” and combine it with “Video games” in “Subject Terms.” Since criticism of video games may be scarce, be sure to try the same search but with the game title in the “All Text” field.
If you wish more generally to search a writer, director, musical performer or musical group, search them in the “People” field.
SocINDEX with Full Text ;
An excellent database for social issues. Click on the "Subject Terms" link above the search slots to find which Subject Headings will work here (it's worth searching "Popular Culture" and then "exploding" (double clicking) the term for a list of broader, narrower, and related Subject Terms).
LexisNexis Academic News:
Our best national, international, and local newspaper coverage--100% full text. Don't settle for the default "Easy Search"--choose "News" at the lower left and then "All News." Then change the default "Everywhere" search to "Headline & Lead" (otherwise a keyword searche of full text will retrieve too many irrelevant hits). Even more effective at targeting articles where your topic is discussed, not simply mentioned, is to use the "atleast" formula. For example, if you enter atleast4("global warming"), it will retrieve only articles in which that phrase is used at least 4 times--a guarantee that it is a main topic.
If you need more focus in your results, try setting the “Article Type” field under the search slots to Book, Movie, Music, or Theater Reviews.
Use "Specify date" to select a time range also helps narrow your results. Also be aware that by clicking on the "Sources" at the bottom left, then choosing "Browse Sources" and opening the "News" folder, you can access an alphabetical list of individual news sources that includes every state. By checking boxes you can compare how a topic is covered in, say, Vermont versus Alabama.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) & PsycINFO :
Eric is an Education database, and here you can find a large literature on the significance of books, movies, television, music, and video or computer games for children and for young people between 13 and 25 (high school and college age). Education has its own vocabulary of Subject Headings--called Descriptors--so be sure to preview the appropriate media designations in the Eric "Thesaurus" located above the search slots.
Psychology also uses its own "Descriptor" vocabulary (for instance "Computer games" also covers video games and "Films" is to be used instead of movies or motion pictures). Check out what terms will work in the PsycINFO "Thesaurus" which you'll find at the bottom of the opening screen. PsycINFO is a good source for research on the psychology of "Popular Culture," "Films," "Television," "Advertising," and "Consumer Behavior"-- to name only a few of the Descriptors available here.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
In RILM limit your search to "articles only" and "English only" (if that's all you read). Then either check the Thesaurus at the bottom of the screen to see what Subject headings--called Descriptors here--are available for your searches or "Browse Topics" to the right of the Topics search slot. These provide a good anchor for your search, to which you can add Keywords for greater focus.
Literature Online (LION) with MLA :
LION combines access to the two largest indexes of language and literature resources: the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Click on “Criticism & Reference” at the upper left, then select “Criticism” above the search slots. LION is one of the few databases where you can enter the title of any literary work as a Subject search--guaranteeing that the articles retrieved will provide sustained discussion. Don't settle for searching title or author in the Keyword slot.
JSTOR :
You'll find a great deal of literary criticism and a fair amount of film and television criticism in this 100% full-text database of scholarly literature. JSTOR offers only Keyword search of its full text, so put full names and Keyword phrases in quotation marks. And be sure to check the "Article" limit below the search slots to weed out book reviews. Also be aware that for 100% full text you must change the setting from "include links to external content" to "include only content I can access."
JSTOR access to journal articles begins 3 years prior to the present--so don't look for any criticism from the last couple of years--but coverage always extends back to the first issue of each journal--in some cases into the 19th century and beyond. This allows you, for instance, to compare views about the morality of young people dancing to jazz in the 1920s with views about the morality of young people dancing to hip hop in the 1990s and early 2000s. And if you want to target a time period, just set a “Date Range.”
Project Muse :
Although a smaller database, it complements JSTOR. LIke JSTOR it provides 100% full text of mostly scholarly journals, but its coverage is entirely current--mainly spanning the last 10-15 years. Muse uses a "black box" search approach--you enter your search terms in one slot with no designated field options--but in addition to slapping in keywords, you can use the same Library of Congress Subject Headings that work in the Library catalog (see above under "Subject Searches"). This broad approach to searching tends to generate large retrievals, so it's best to be as specific as possible. And note--once you have a retrieval set, you can add more search terms by clicking "Modify Search" at the top.
New York Times (1851-2009) :
If the film or television program or recording you wish to write about dates from before 1980, most of our databases cannot supply contemporary reviews and commentary. But this database offers the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to 2005, so you can access contemporary reviews of Gone with the Wind, I Love Lucy, or Meet the Beatles. Enter a Keyword search, putting phrases in quotation marks. You might begin by searching in the “Citation and Abstract” field, then, if this doesn’t yield enough results, expand to the default “Citation and document text” field.
Jennifer Strickland (Fine Arts Librarian) offers a research guide for Film, Cathy Michael (Communications Librarian) offers research guides for Communication & Culture and Television, and Kristina Shanton (Music Librarian) offers a research guide for Music.
The most relevant Web sites will depend on the focus of your research, but below are some recommended directory and gateway sites.
Web Directories differ from search engines like Google in that all the online resources have been selected and annotated by editors, thereby promising a much higher degree of quality control. The two best should prove useful in their categorization of Media resources:
- Open Directory Project: Movies (with Movie Genres), Television (with types of Programs), Music (with Music Styles), Literature (with Periods and Genres), Video Games, Sports, and Subcultures.
Yahoo Directory: Yahoo started out as a "Directory"--a database where each Web site was assigned to quite detailed categories and where you searched the categories rather than the full text. The category structure still exists and includes "Movies and Film," "Television Shows," "Music," "Video Games," and "Culture Groups." Be sure to browse the many (many) subheadings in these categories. But also be aware that while Yahoo usefully categorizes Web sites, it isn't selective like the directories listed above.
- Voice of the Shuttle: One of the best gateways in culture and media studies. Note the guide links on the left for Literature, Music, Media Studies (including film and television), and Cyberculture.
- Popular Culture: Resources for Critical Analysis: An excellent gateway to critical readings of movies, television, music, and cyberculture.
- Popular Culture Resources: A good collection of links from the University of Iowa Communication Studies department.
- Culture Machine: Interesting open-access full text journal. Open the Arcives to browse the content.
Noodlebib guides you through the required data entry for citation in the MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. It takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.
- MLA citation for books: in print, from databases, on the Web
- MLA citation for articles: in print, from databases, on the Web.
- MLA citation for Web and Multimedia resources, including Web sites, movies, DVDs, CDs, and videos.
- MLA in-text (parenthetical) citation (far less satanic than the first three).