PDPT 56800: Research II: Evidence Based Practice II

 

Required Textbook

Required Text
Jewell, D. (2015). Guide to evidence-based physical therapist practice (Third ed.). Burlington, MA : Jones & Bartlett Learning.
 

Defining Your Research Question

Determine and define the clinical problem
· Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
Generate a list of keywords using PICO
· Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
· Intervention
· Comparison (if any)
· Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)

Databases

Bibliographic Databases
PubMed
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
EBP Databases
PubMed Clinical Queries
Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Contains abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physical therapy. Most trials have been rated for quality.
Hooked on Evidence
APTA's database of research articles that focus on PT interventions. Note: Hooked on Evidence stopped accepting new article extractions in 2014 but remains as a historical database.
 

Citing Sources Using AMA

AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editors (print version at Ref Desk R119 .A533 2007) is the style guide for the American Medical Association. The AMA style is used in the field of medicine and other related fields such as physical therapy. The in-text citations are numbered superscripts that correlate with the numbered references in the bibliography that appear in the order that they are cited. At present, the manual is in its 10th edition (2007). Below is a useful link for learning more about the citation style:

MyResNet

To access library databases from a laptop when on campus, make sure to sign up for a free MyResNet account. MyResNet is required for all students to use whenever accessing library databases on campus via a laptop. Some Macs allow students to use the ICAirnet, but double check or sing up for MyResNet just in case.
a)    Open a browser and go to MyResNet.com
b)   Start by choosing “Sign Up”
c)    Fill in your Information
d)   Submit by clicking “Create Your Free Account”
e)    Log in, restart and you’re connected!


If you’re having difficulty setting up your MyResNet account:
CALL: 1-877-478-8893
CHAT: @ MyResNet.com 24/7
TEXT: “ResNet” to 84700

Contact Us

picture of Laura Kuo

Laura Kuo

Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Search

Free Office 365 for Students

Here is a link for information on installing Microsoft Office on your personal computers and mobile devices for free.  

Mendeley

Here is a link to the library's guide on using Mendeley. There is a lot of helpful information on this guide including short video tutorials on various features in Mendeley. 

Mendeley Handouts
Mendeley Overview docx
Class 1 Exercise pdf
Class 2 Exercise pdf

Physical Therapy Research Tutorials

Below are links to tutorials that will help you with research in physical therapy. Once the tutorial is running, simply scroll down to access the navigation bar.

Below are lilnks to tutorials that will help you with searching PubMed:

EBP Tutorials

Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine - Duke University's and UNC-Chapel Hill's interactive tutorial

Evidence Based Practice Tutorial - University of Minnesota's interactive tutorial

Tell Us What You Think

Please take a moment to complete this very short survey. Your responses will help us to address any further questions you may have.