OTMS 62600: Professional Practice in Community
Flecky, K. & Gitlow, L. (2011). Service-Learning in Occupational Therapy Education: Philosophy and practice. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett.
Meyers, S. (2010). Community Practice in Occupational Therapy: A guide to serving the community. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett.
Fazio, L.S. (2008). Developing Occupation Centered Programs for the Community (2nd ed.). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
Scaffa, M. (2001) Occupational Therapy in Community Practice Settings. Philadelphia, PA: F.A. Davis.
American Occupational Therapy Association (2003). The Occupational Therapy Manager (4th ed). Bethesda, MD: author.
Crepeau, E. B., Cohn, E.S., & Schell, B.A.B. (2009). Willard and Spackman’s Occupational Therapy (11th ed). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott.
Rankin, S. H., & Stallings, K, D. (1996). Patient Education: Issues, Principles, and Practice (3rd ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott.
Meyers, S. (2010). Community Practice in Occupational Therapy: A guide to serving the community. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett.
Fazio, L.S. (2008). Developing Occupation Centered Programs for the Community (2nd ed.). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
Scaffa, M. (2001) Occupational Therapy in Community Practice Settings. Philadelphia, PA: F.A. Davis.
American Occupational Therapy Association (2003). The Occupational Therapy Manager (4th ed). Bethesda, MD: author.
Crepeau, E. B., Cohn, E.S., & Schell, B.A.B. (2009). Willard and Spackman’s Occupational Therapy (11th ed). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott.
Rankin, S. H., & Stallings, K, D. (1996). Patient Education: Issues, Principles, and Practice (3rd ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text. Be sure to use the many helpful limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles. Be sure to use the many limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
The premier education database including bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive sociological research database.
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text. Be sure to use the many helpful limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles. Be sure to use the many limiters such as: gender, age, publication type and clinical queries.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
The premier education database including bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive sociological research database.
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for many disciplines in the social sciences. The current edition is the sixth (2010).
- American Occupational Therapy Foundation
- Foundation Center
- Grants.gov
- US Department of Health and Human Services
- National Institute of Health
- New York State (search "grants")
The library's writing guide to proposals and grant writing
- RSS -- Keeping up with health related news and policy information
- Toolkit for Making Written Material Clear and Effective -- A useful source for creating an education tool such as a brochure
