RLS 33200: Research Methods
Vaske, J. J. (2008). Survey research and analysis: Applications in parks, recreation and human dimensions. State College, Pa: Venture Pub.
-- Great chapter on creating and implementing surveys.
Mitra, A. (2011). Needs assessment: A systematic approach to data collection. Urbana: Sagamore Publishing.
-- How to collect data from citizens for the recreation professional.
-- Great chapter on creating and implementing surveys.
Mitra, A. (2011). Needs assessment: A systematic approach to data collection. Urbana: Sagamore Publishing.
-- How to collect data from citizens for the recreation professional.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
*Search [Parks OR Natural Environment] AND [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation]; [Parks OR Natural Environment] AND Design AND Health
Limit to Peer Reviewed
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
* Search Environment Design AND Recreation AND Parks; [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation] AND [Parks OR Recreation]
This is a great tool for finding sports medicine, fitness, coaching and education articles. Be sure to include the keyword "research" if looking for research articles.
*Search Park* [Subject] AND Marketing [Subject]; Park* AND [Recreation OR Leisure] AND [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation]; Park* AND [Recreation OR Leisure] AND Research;
LIMIT to Peer Reviewed
Academic Search Premier
News, Magazine, and Journal articles on a wide range of topics including leisure & recreation, health care, sports, hobbies and many more.
*Search Park* [Subject] AND Marketing [Subject]; [Park Design OR Park* OR Recreation Center*] [Abstract] AND [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation] [Abstract]; Park Design AND Health; Park Design AND Ecol*; Park Design AND Econom*; Park Design AND Sustain*; Park Design ANd Tourism
*Search Park* [Subject] AND Marketing [Subject]; Park* AND [Recreation OR Leisure] AND [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation]; Park* AND [Recreation OR Leisure] AND Research;
LIMIT to Peer Reviewed
Academic Search Premier
News, Magazine, and Journal articles on a wide range of topics including leisure & recreation, health care, sports, hobbies and many more.
*Search Park* [Subject] AND Marketing [Subject]; [Park Design OR Park* OR Recreation Center*] [Abstract] AND [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation] [Abstract]; Park Design AND Health; Park Design AND Ecol*; Park Design AND Econom*; Park Design AND Sustain*; Park Design ANd Tourism
Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
GreenFILE
A database with articles on the environment and related disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
*Search Park* [Subject] AND Marketing [Subject]; Park Design AND [Sustainable OR Ecology]; Park Design AND Soil; Parks AND Soil Conservation
GreenFILE
A database with articles on the environment and related disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
*Search Park* [Subject] AND Marketing [Subject]; Park Design AND [Sustainable OR Ecology]; Park Design AND Soil; Parks AND Soil Conservation
Business Source Premier (Original Interface)
This is a great tool for finding scholarly policy, business and economic based information.
*Search [Outdoor Recreation OR Recreation Areas] AND Research
LIMIT to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
PsycINFO
A great tool for finding the psychology based literature.
*Search [Outdoor Recreation OR Recreation Areas] AND Research; Recreation Areas AND Subject topics such as: health, quality of life, communities
This is a great tool for finding scholarly policy, business and economic based information.
*Search [Outdoor Recreation OR Recreation Areas] AND Research
LIMIT to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
PsycINFO
A great tool for finding the psychology based literature.
*Search [Outdoor Recreation OR Recreation Areas] AND Research; Recreation Areas AND Subject topics such as: health, quality of life, communities
Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
CINAHL This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
*Search [Parks OR Natural Environment] AND [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation]; [Parks OR Natural Environment] AND Design AND Health
Limit to Peer Reviewed
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
* Search Environment Design AND Recreation AND Parks; [Needs Assessment OR Program Evaluation] AND [Parks OR Recreation]
The links, below, are sample searches across the following databases: Communication & Mass Media Complete, Business Source Premier, Professional Development Collection
- Content Analysis AND Communication or "mass media"
- Focus Groups AND Communication or "mass media"
- Internet Surveys AND Communication or "mass media"
- Methodology AND Research AND Social Media
- Questionnaires AND Communication or "mass media"
- Research Methodology Evaluation AND Communication or "mass media"
Use this exercise as a template to help you with your needs assessment, literature review, and other assignments.
Library Handout
Library Handout
- American FactFinder County Subdivision -- NYS -- Tompkins -- Dryden Town
- Kaiser State Health Facts
- Ithaca Facts and Stats
- Ithaca Business Directory
- Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce
- Ithaca/Tompkins County Convention & Visitors Burea
- Tompkins County Government
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for many disciplines in the social sciences. The current edition is the sixth (2010).
