Communication Studies: Print & Web Resources

(Click to run targeted Subject searches in the IC Library catalog)
Broadly Speaking:
Communication
Communication--Philosophy
Linguistics
Biolinguistics
Linguistic change
Language and languages
Language and languages--Origin
Language and languages--Philosophy
Oral Communication
Speech
Speech acts (Linguistics)
Discourse analysis
Semiotics
Addressing an Audience:
Public speaking
Rhetoric
Rhetoric--Philosophy
English language--Rhetoric
Rhetorical criticism
Voice
Elocution
Eloquence
Expression
Persuasion (Rhetoric)
Figures of speech
Oratory
Oratory, Ancient
Rhetoric, Ancient
Speeches, addresses, etc., Greek--History and criticism
Speeches, addresses, etc., Latin--History and criticism
Oratory--United States--History
Political oratory--United States
Communication in politics--United States
Rhetoric--Political aspects--United States
Rhetoric--Political aspects--United States--20th century
Speeches, addresses, etc., American
Speeches, addresses, etc., American--History and criticism
Presidents--United States--Inaugural addresses
Speechwriting
Forensics (Public Speaking)
Forensic orations
Debates and debating
Verbal self-defense
Preaching
Sermons, American
Lectures and lecturing
Radio announcing
Television announcing
Storytelling
Storytelling--Psychological aspects
Storytelling--United States
Folklore--Performance
Oral tradtion
Oral history
Oral interpretation
Oral interpretation of poetry
Monologue
Getting Personal:
Psycholinguistics
Communication--Psychological aspects
Interpersonal communication
Communication in small groups
Conversation
Conversation analysis
Dialogue
Dialogue analysis
Interviewing
Questioning
Telephone calls
Politeness (Linguistics)
Taboo, Linguistic
Swearing
Invective--Psychological aspects
Communication--Sex differences
Language and languages--Sex differences
English language--Sex differences
English language--Gender
Men--Language
Women--Language
Sexism in language
Nonsexist language
Communication in families
Language acquisition
Language development
Interpersonal communication in infants
Children--Language
Going Public:
Sociolinguistics
Communication--Social aspects
Oral communication--Social aspects
Discourse analysis--Social aspects
Rhetoric--Social aspects
English language--Social aspects
English language--Social aspects--United States
Freedom of speech
Freedom of speech--United States
Hate speech
Hate speech--United States
Communication in organizations
Communication in management
Business communication
Business presentations
Communication in education
Communication in science
Communication in medicine
Communication and culture
Language and culture
Intercultural communication
Communication, International
Language and languages--Variation
Languages in contact
Multilingualism
Language attrition
Englishes:
English language--Diction
English language--Phonetics
English language--Pronunciation
English language--Spoken English
English language--Spoken English--United States
English language--Semantics
English language--Variation--United States
English language--Dialects
English language--Dialects--United States
English language--United States
English language--United States--History
English language--United States--Rhetoric
Americanisms
Americanisms--Dictionaries
English language--Slang
Linguistic minorities--Education--United States
African Americans--Languages
Black English
Creole dialects
English language--Study and teaching--Foreign speakers [ESL]
Body English:
Gesture
Body language
Nonverbal communication
Bawdy English:
Language and sex
Words, Obscene
English language--Obscene words
Obscenity (Law)--United States
Broadly Speaking:
Communication
Communication--Philosophy
Linguistics
Biolinguistics
Linguistic change
Language and languages
Language and languages--Origin
Language and languages--Philosophy
Oral Communication
Speech
Speech acts (Linguistics)
Discourse analysis
Semiotics
Addressing an Audience:
Public speaking
Rhetoric
Rhetoric--Philosophy
English language--Rhetoric
Rhetorical criticism
Voice
Elocution
Eloquence
Expression
Persuasion (Rhetoric)
Figures of speech
Oratory
Oratory, Ancient
Rhetoric, Ancient
Speeches, addresses, etc., Greek--History and criticism
Speeches, addresses, etc., Latin--History and criticism
Oratory--United States--History
Political oratory--United States
Communication in politics--United States
Rhetoric--Political aspects--United States
Rhetoric--Political aspects--United States--20th century
Speeches, addresses, etc., American
Speeches, addresses, etc., American--History and criticism
Presidents--United States--Inaugural addresses
Speechwriting
Forensics (Public Speaking)
Forensic orations
Debates and debating
Verbal self-defense
Preaching
Sermons, American
Lectures and lecturing
Radio announcing
Television announcing
Storytelling
Storytelling--Psychological aspects
Storytelling--United States
Folklore--Performance
Oral tradtion
Oral history
Oral interpretation
Oral interpretation of poetry
Monologue
Getting Personal:
Psycholinguistics
Communication--Psychological aspects
Interpersonal communication
Communication in small groups
Conversation
Conversation analysis
Dialogue
Dialogue analysis
Interviewing
Questioning
Telephone calls
Politeness (Linguistics)
Taboo, Linguistic
Swearing
Invective--Psychological aspects
Communication--Sex differences
Language and languages--Sex differences
English language--Sex differences
English language--Gender
Men--Language
Women--Language
Sexism in language
Nonsexist language
Communication in families
Language acquisition
Language development
Interpersonal communication in infants
Children--Language
Going Public:
Sociolinguistics
Communication--Social aspects
Oral communication--Social aspects
Discourse analysis--Social aspects
Rhetoric--Social aspects
English language--Social aspects
English language--Social aspects--United States
Freedom of speech
Freedom of speech--United States
Hate speech
Hate speech--United States
Communication in organizations
Communication in management
Business communication
Business presentations
Communication in education
Communication in science
Communication in medicine
Communication and culture
Language and culture
Intercultural communication
Communication, International
Language and languages--Variation
Languages in contact
Multilingualism
Language attrition
Englishes:
English language--Diction
English language--Phonetics
English language--Pronunciation
English language--Spoken English
English language--Spoken English--United States
English language--Semantics
English language--Variation--United States
English language--Dialects
English language--Dialects--United States
English language--United States
English language--United States--History
English language--United States--Rhetoric
Americanisms
Americanisms--Dictionaries
English language--Slang
Linguistic minorities--Education--United States
African Americans--Languages
Black English
Creole dialects
English language--Study and teaching--Foreign speakers [ESL]
Body English:
Gesture
Body language
Nonverbal communication
Bawdy English:
Language and sex
Words, Obscene
English language--Obscene words
Obscenity (Law)--United States
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) is a "union catalog" that allows you to search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries from accross the country and around the world: over 41 million items. Check WorldCat to discover what the entire universe of possible resources looks like for your topic.
Note that upon opening any record there will be an "ILL Order" link that gives you direct entry into IC's interlibrary loan form (when you sign in--IC e-mail user name/password--the form will already be populated with both item identification data and your personal contact info).
User Advisory:
User Advisory:
- At the search interface begain by scrolling down and changing the default "Rank by" setting to "Date"--this will display your retrievals in reverse chronological order with the newest first.
- This is such a large database that you should set a "Limit Type" to "Books" or "Visual Materials" or whatever you are specifically interested in finding.
- When using a Subject search--advisable in such a large database--choose the looser "Subject" search rather than "Subject Phrase"--which requires an often frustrating exactitude.
- Communication Studies: Index of Online Resources: Good set of links from the Department of Communication Studies at the U of Iowa.
- National Communication Association: Use the "Explore Our Member Communities" categories at the top.
- American Rhetoric: Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
- ResearchChannel Video Library: Over 3500 videos of public speakers, arranged by category.
- Forum Network: Audio/Video files collected by PBS/NPR. This link takes you to the advanced search screen where you can browse general categories and subcategories, in addition to a keyword search.
- Speeches: Audiovideo files from History.com--almost 1500 videos and over 500 audios.
- Internet Audio Archive: Over two hundred thousand free digital recordings.
- Great Speeches Collection: The History Place: transcripts and audiofiles.
- Online Media Resources: From UC Berkeley, a comprehensive gateway to video and audio resources on the Web.
- Earliest Voices: A library of audio files and transcripts of voices from the first fifty years of sound recording: 1877-1927.
- World's Famous Orations: Links to the full text of almost 300 speeches chosen by William Jennings Bryant in 1906.
- Famous Speeches and Speech Topics: If you can dodge the annoying pop-up advertisements there is some useful content here--especially in the Giving & Writing a Speech section.
- Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from around the World: Transcripts. Use "Browse" to locate speeches by speaker.
- Say It Plain: A Century of Great African American Speeches: Transcripts and audiofiles--use the "listen to the speech" link after the introductory information for each speech.
- American Presidency Project: Transcripts of presidential debates 1960 & 1976-2008. And while you're there check out the archive of presidential audiovisual files.
- I Do Solemnly Swear: Presidential Inaugurations: Transcripts from Washington to Obama.
- Advanced Public Speaking Institute: A range of brief articles on public speaking.
- Open Directory Project: Public Speaking: Gateway.
- Silva Rhetoricae: Dr. Gideon Burton's guide to classical rhetoric and its contemporary relevance. Choose a topic from the left column or a term from the right.
- Need Help Giving a Speech?: Toastmasters provides a handful of free resources.
For some of the Web's best sites to research a wide range of social and public policy issues, see my Social Issues: Web Resources guide.
Noodlebib guides you through the required data entry for citation in the MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. It takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.
Trouble getting started? Try my Noodlebib Users' Guide.
Trouble getting started? Try my Noodlebib Users' Guide.
- MLA citation for books: in print, from databases, on the Web
- MLA citation for articles: in print, from databases, on the Web.
- MLA citation for Web and Multimedia resources, including Web sites, movies, DVDs, CDs, and videos.
- MLA in-text (parenthetical) citation (far less satanic than the first three).