Sakai: Linking to Library Resources

Introduction

The Library develops content and services that can be linked in Sakai course sites.  Links for subject guides, course guides, interactive tutorials, ebooks, databases, audio and video content, journal articles, and book chapters can be added.    This guide contains information for faculty on adding IC Library content to Sakai.

Create a Library Page in Sakai

You can add links to specific library resources and services anywhere in a Sakai course site, for instance on the "Resources" page.

To highlight and consolidate links to Library resources such as course guides and reserve readings and audio/video clips, you can create a "Library" page using Lesson Builder, as demonstrated in the following short video.
 

Link to Subject and Course Guides

Subject guides have been created for all academic disciplines.  Each guide includes a selected list of databases and other resources tailored to the subject area.  A "dashboard" of frequently used resources, with links to the Library Catalog, the Ebrary ebook database, Interlibrary Loan, and the Library's Plagiarism Tutorial, is also included.   

Liaison Librarians also create online course guides, constructed around the learning outcomes as listed in the course syllabus.  Course guides include links to content-specific resources and services.   

Each guide has a unique and persistent URL which can be used to add a link in Sakai.   For example, https://ithacalibrary.com/sp/subjects/CAEA 

Link to Books and eBooks

Each book and ebook record in the Library catalog has a persistent link.  You can add the link to Sakai.



You can add links to individual ebook chapters in ebrary. 
      
To link Chapter IV, note the page number at the beginning of the parentheses: 
Add  &page=###  to the end of the URL in the address bar. 
For example: http://site.ebrary.com/lib/ithaca/docDetail.action?docID=10683539&page=101

Link to Articles & Videos in Databases

  1. See the Library's Guide on Linking to eResources.  
  2. See the Library's Guide on Linking to Video Content in Databases.

Research Series & Tutorials




See below a series of "Research 101" guides that address the research process.  Each has a unique URL that can be added to Sakai.  The "Test Your Knowledge" interactive tutorials, designed to reinforce the related guide's content, also have unique URLs.   Each tutorial includes the option for a student to send an email to a faculty member indicating that they have completed the tutorial.

Contact Us

Picture: Lisabeth Chabot
College Librarian
(607) 274-3182
Picture: Ben Hogben
Access Services Manager
(607) 274-1689

Request Reserves in Sakai

The Library converts print articles to PDF and digitizes audio and video items for posting/streaming in Sakai.   To request this service: 
  1. Complete the Library's Online Reserve Form
  2. Add Library staff to your course (see below).
  3. Deliver any physical items not in the Library collection. 

For assistance in digitizing personal media, please contact Digital Media Services in ITS.

Add Library Staff to Sakai

  1. Login to Sakai and click on the Course to which you would like to add Library staff.
  2. Click on Site Info in the left side bar.
  3. Click on Add Participants
  4. Enter sbeer@ithaca.edu for articles/chapters, or sfish@ithaca.edu for audio/video.
  5. Click Continue, select e-Reserve support, and Continue
Note: Adding Library staff to your course grants limited permission to add and remove reserve material in the Resources tool.

Adding Staff to your Course (video)

Course Reserves in the Library

In addition to Sakai, books, dvds, and cds can be placed on physical reserve in the Library.  To add a link in Sakai the list of these course reserve items:
  1. Search Course Reserves on the Library Website.
  2. Locate your course and copy the URL in the browser. 
  3. Convert the URL to a tiny URL.
  4. In your Sakai course site, click on the Resources or Library page
  5. Click on Add Content and select Add Content Link
  6. Paste the tiny URL link and Save
  7. Edit the Link to add an Item Name or Item Description
Note:  You can also add this link to any course documentation.

 

Copy Files from the Library Dropbox

If you would like to copy files from the Library Dropbox in lieu of adding Library staff to your course: 
  1. Complete the Online Reserve Form, Library staff will notify you when the files are ready.
  2. In Sakai click on Show Other Sites  
  3. Click on the + icon next to the selected course
  4. Click on Actions -> Copy from the Library Dropbox next to the file to be copied 
  5. Click on Paste next to your course/folder