Aesthetics
Aesthetics
Art--Philosophy
Art--Psychology
Art appreciation
Aesthetics--Early works to 1800
Aesthetics History
Aesthetics, Modern
Aesthetics, Modern--18th century
Aesthetics, Modern--19th century
Aesthetics, Modern--20th century
Aesthetics, American
Aesthetics, British
Aesthetics, French
Aesthetics, German
Avant-garde (Aesthetics)
Aesthetics--Psychological aspects
Aesthetics in literature
Literature—Aesthetics
Music--Philosophy and aesthetics
Nature (Aesthetics)
Environment (Aesthetics)
Landscape architecture--History
Landscape in art
Architecture--Aesthetics
Decoration and ornament, Architectural
Decoration and ornament
Decorative arts
Technology--Aesthetics
For the aesthetics of a particular style of art, try searching the style:
Art, Ancient
Art, Classical
Art, Chinese
Indian art
Art, African
Art, Islamic
Art, Gothic
Art, Renaissance
Neoclassicism (Art)
Romanticism in art
Gothic revival (Art)
Realism in art
Impressionism (Art)
Expressionism (Art)
Modernism (Art)
Cubism
Surrealism
Pop art
Form (Aesthetics)
Harmony (Aesthetics)
Proportion (Art)
Symmetry
Symmetry (Art)
Design
Composition (Art)
Sense (Philosophy)
Senses and sensation
Visual perception
Color--Psychological aspects
Color in art
Light in art
Light--Philosophy
Sound--Psychological aspects
Sound in art
Smell
Smell--Psychological aspects
Taste
Food preferences
Touch
Texture (Art)
Beauty, Personal
Beauty, Personal--Psychological aspects
Beauty, Personal--Social aspects
Feminine beauty (Aesthetics)
Male nude in art
Human figure in art
Human body (Philosophy)
Human body--Social aspects
Body image in men
Body image in women
Body image
Fashion--Psychological aspects
Fashion--Social aspects
Truth (Aesthetics)
Idealism in art
Sublime, The
Paradise in art
Paradise--Comparative studies
Heaven in art
Sacred space
Transcendence (Philosophy)
Ecstasy
Art and religion
Art--Philosophy
Art--Psychology
Art appreciation
Aesthetics--Early works to 1800
Aesthetics History
Aesthetics, Modern
Aesthetics, Modern--18th century
Aesthetics, Modern--19th century
Aesthetics, Modern--20th century
Aesthetics, American
Aesthetics, British
Aesthetics, French
Aesthetics, German
Avant-garde (Aesthetics)
Aesthetics--Psychological aspects
Aesthetics in literature
Literature—Aesthetics
Music--Philosophy and aesthetics
Nature (Aesthetics)
Environment (Aesthetics)
Landscape architecture--History
Landscape in art
Architecture--Aesthetics
Decoration and ornament, Architectural
Decoration and ornament
Decorative arts
Technology--Aesthetics
For the aesthetics of a particular style of art, try searching the style:
Art, Ancient
Art, Classical
Art, Chinese
Indian art
Art, African
Art, Islamic
Art, Gothic
Art, Renaissance
Neoclassicism (Art)
Romanticism in art
Gothic revival (Art)
Realism in art
Impressionism (Art)
Expressionism (Art)
Modernism (Art)
Cubism
Surrealism
Pop art
Form (Aesthetics)
Harmony (Aesthetics)
Proportion (Art)
Symmetry
Symmetry (Art)
Design
Composition (Art)
Sense (Philosophy)
Senses and sensation
Visual perception
Color--Psychological aspects
Color in art
Light in art
Light--Philosophy
Sound--Psychological aspects
Sound in art
Smell
Smell--Psychological aspects
Taste
Food preferences
Touch
Texture (Art)
Beauty, Personal
Beauty, Personal--Psychological aspects
Beauty, Personal--Social aspects
Feminine beauty (Aesthetics)
Male nude in art
Human figure in art
Human body (Philosophy)
Human body--Social aspects
Body image in men
Body image in women
Body image
Fashion--Psychological aspects
Fashion--Social aspects
Truth (Aesthetics)
Idealism in art
Sublime, The
Paradise in art
Paradise--Comparative studies
Heaven in art
Sacred space
Transcendence (Philosophy)
Ecstasy
Art and religion
Good and evil
Conduct of life
Truthfulness and falsehood
Art and morals
Virtue
Virtues
Love
Altruism
Helping behavior
Forgiveness
Justice
Fairness
Courtesy
Etiquette
Chivalry
Nobility of character
Courage
Purity, Ritual
Innocence (Psychology)
Angels in art
Gods in art
Vices
Monsters in art
Monsters in literature
Demonology in art—History
Devil in art
Aversion [use for disgust, revulsion]
Abjection in literature
Evil in literature
Taboo
Hate
Cruelty
Torture in art
Violence in art
Suffering
Conduct of life
Truthfulness and falsehood
Art and morals
Virtue
Virtues
Love
Altruism
Helping behavior
Forgiveness
Justice
Fairness
Courtesy
Etiquette
Chivalry
Nobility of character
Courage
Purity, Ritual
Innocence (Psychology)
Angels in art
Gods in art
Vices
Monsters in art
Monsters in literature
Demonology in art—History
Devil in art
Aversion [use for disgust, revulsion]
Abjection in literature
Evil in literature
Taboo
Hate
Cruelty
Torture in art
Violence in art
Suffering
.jpg)
Most of the IC Libary databases listed below contain only some full text. If the article you want is not availabe full text from the database you are searching, check below the citation for one of the images above. This is ArticleLinker and if available it will search a wide range of other IC Library databases, retrieving links to any full text it finds.
General OneFile is the most user friendly of our comprehensive databases--covering virtually any topic from a wide range of disciplinary angles. Use the default Subject search to find an appropriate Subject Heading for your topic and then open the "Subdivisions" link underneath. For example, under “Aesthetics” find “Analysis,” “Criticism & Interpretation,” “Ethical aspects,” “History,” “Psychological aspects,” “Social aspects,” and “Standards.”
If the best available Subdivision is still too broad, open the set of articles and add Keywords in the "Search within these Results" slot at the upper left.
User Advisory: When viewing any retrieval set in General OneFile, note that you are first viewing only the Magazines and must click on the "Academic Journals" or "News" tabs to see those resources.
ProQuest Research Library : is another comprehensive database with substantial full text. At the home page click on the "More Search Options" tab at the bottom to see all available search fields, including Subject, to the right of which you can click on "Look up Subjects" and preview what headings are available. This can be a more efficient way to search than Keyword, since it guarantees that the articles retrieved actually be about the Subject--not just use a particular word.
Above each set of retrievals ProQuest will display related Subject searches to either broaden or narrow your focus. Start with a Subject search on “Aesthetics” and look at some of the combination searches displayed above. Or add Keywords.
User Advisory: ProQuest is fussy about entering Subject searches in the designated slots. If your subject is a person, enter the name--last name first--in the Person slot; if a named group of any kind--the Catholic Church, Microsoft, the New York Mets, the Democratic Party, the Rolling Stones--enter it in Co/Org; if a place enter it in Location.
Philosopher's index : No full text, but the “ArticleLinker” arrows at the end of each citation will search for full text in our other databases. Subject Headings—called Descriptors here—include “Aesthetics,” which can be combined with “Art,” “Literature,” “Ethics,” “Beauty,” “Truth,” “Ugliness” etc.
JSTOR has very good full-text coverage of the Humanities, including Art, Literature, and Philosophy. There is no Subject searching, so remember to put search phrases in quotation marks. “Aesthetics,” “Beauty,” and “(Ugly or Ugliness)” all retrieve interesting results.
JSTOR access to journal articles begins 1-2 years prior to the present--so don't look for any criticism from the last couple of years--but coverage always extends back to the first issue of each journal--in some cases into the 19th century and beyond. This allows you, for instance, to compare ideas about aesthetics beauty from early and late in the twentieth century. And if you want to target a time period, just set a “Date Range.”
Project Muse , although a smaller database, it complements JSTOR. LIke JSTOR it provides 100% full text of mostly scholarly journals, but its coverage is entirely current--mainly spanning the last 10-15 years. Muse uses a "black box" search approach--you enter your search terms in one slot with no designated field options--but in addition to slapping in keywords, you can use the same Library of Congress Subject Headings that work in the Library catalog (see above under "Subject Searches"). This broad approach to searching tends to generate large retrievals, so it's best to be as specific as possible. And note--once you have a retrieval set, you can add more search terms by clicking "Modify Search" at the top.
Academic Search Premier Comprehensive subject coverage with considerable full text. Note that there is a “Subject Terms” link just above the search boxes, allowing you to search the index of Subject Headings--often a good first stop for more efficient Subject searching whereby you are guaranteed that your topic is indeed a main subject of the articles retrieved.
A good initial strategy in this database is to search a likely topic in the Subject Terms and when you find it “explode” the term by double clicking it--this brings up a list of related Subject terms. You can check as many terms as you like before "adding" them to your search by AND-ing or OR-ing them together. Exploding "Aesthetics" brings up a long list or related Subject Headings that may prove useful.
SocINDEX with Full Text : As the name implies, an excellent database for social issues. Click on the "Subject Terms" link above the search slots to find which Subject Headings will work here—for instance “Aesthetics” or “Beauty” (“beauty” here and in many databases refers primarily to personal beauty). Double click any Heading for a list of broader, narower, and related Subject Terms.
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials : Our religion and theology database, where you will find many articles discussing the moral and spiritual ramifications of aesthetics.
PsycINFO : The American Psychological Association use their own Subject vocabulary (called "Descriptors"), so a visit to the "Thesaurus" below the search slots is a good idea. There are many articles here on the psychology of “Aesthetics” and “Aesthetic Preferences.”
Art Full Text : Surprisingly, this database is less helpful than those listed above on the topic of “Aesthetics.” But if you are interested in a particular art aesthetic—baroque or minimalist, for example—it could be useful. Also see the Subject “Taste (Aesthetics).”
Literature Online (LION) with MLA combines access to the two largest indexes of language and literature resources: the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Click on “Criticism & Reference” at the upper left, then select “Criticism” above the search slots. Subject searches on “Aesthetics” or “Beauty” will retrieve many articles—the great majority concerned with that concept in relation to a particular author or literary work. Adding the name of a writer or theorist/critic helps give focus.
If the best available Subdivision is still too broad, open the set of articles and add Keywords in the "Search within these Results" slot at the upper left.
User Advisory: When viewing any retrieval set in General OneFile, note that you are first viewing only the Magazines and must click on the "Academic Journals" or "News" tabs to see those resources.
ProQuest Research Library : is another comprehensive database with substantial full text. At the home page click on the "More Search Options" tab at the bottom to see all available search fields, including Subject, to the right of which you can click on "Look up Subjects" and preview what headings are available. This can be a more efficient way to search than Keyword, since it guarantees that the articles retrieved actually be about the Subject--not just use a particular word.
Above each set of retrievals ProQuest will display related Subject searches to either broaden or narrow your focus. Start with a Subject search on “Aesthetics” and look at some of the combination searches displayed above. Or add Keywords.
User Advisory: ProQuest is fussy about entering Subject searches in the designated slots. If your subject is a person, enter the name--last name first--in the Person slot; if a named group of any kind--the Catholic Church, Microsoft, the New York Mets, the Democratic Party, the Rolling Stones--enter it in Co/Org; if a place enter it in Location.
Philosopher's index : No full text, but the “ArticleLinker” arrows at the end of each citation will search for full text in our other databases. Subject Headings—called Descriptors here—include “Aesthetics,” which can be combined with “Art,” “Literature,” “Ethics,” “Beauty,” “Truth,” “Ugliness” etc.
JSTOR has very good full-text coverage of the Humanities, including Art, Literature, and Philosophy. There is no Subject searching, so remember to put search phrases in quotation marks. “Aesthetics,” “Beauty,” and “(Ugly or Ugliness)” all retrieve interesting results.
JSTOR access to journal articles begins 1-2 years prior to the present--so don't look for any criticism from the last couple of years--but coverage always extends back to the first issue of each journal--in some cases into the 19th century and beyond. This allows you, for instance, to compare ideas about aesthetics beauty from early and late in the twentieth century. And if you want to target a time period, just set a “Date Range.”
Project Muse , although a smaller database, it complements JSTOR. LIke JSTOR it provides 100% full text of mostly scholarly journals, but its coverage is entirely current--mainly spanning the last 10-15 years. Muse uses a "black box" search approach--you enter your search terms in one slot with no designated field options--but in addition to slapping in keywords, you can use the same Library of Congress Subject Headings that work in the Library catalog (see above under "Subject Searches"). This broad approach to searching tends to generate large retrievals, so it's best to be as specific as possible. And note--once you have a retrieval set, you can add more search terms by clicking "Modify Search" at the top.
Academic Search Premier Comprehensive subject coverage with considerable full text. Note that there is a “Subject Terms” link just above the search boxes, allowing you to search the index of Subject Headings--often a good first stop for more efficient Subject searching whereby you are guaranteed that your topic is indeed a main subject of the articles retrieved.
A good initial strategy in this database is to search a likely topic in the Subject Terms and when you find it “explode” the term by double clicking it--this brings up a list of related Subject terms. You can check as many terms as you like before "adding" them to your search by AND-ing or OR-ing them together. Exploding "Aesthetics" brings up a long list or related Subject Headings that may prove useful.
SocINDEX with Full Text : As the name implies, an excellent database for social issues. Click on the "Subject Terms" link above the search slots to find which Subject Headings will work here—for instance “Aesthetics” or “Beauty” (“beauty” here and in many databases refers primarily to personal beauty). Double click any Heading for a list of broader, narower, and related Subject Terms.
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials : Our religion and theology database, where you will find many articles discussing the moral and spiritual ramifications of aesthetics.
PsycINFO : The American Psychological Association use their own Subject vocabulary (called "Descriptors"), so a visit to the "Thesaurus" below the search slots is a good idea. There are many articles here on the psychology of “Aesthetics” and “Aesthetic Preferences.”
Art Full Text : Surprisingly, this database is less helpful than those listed above on the topic of “Aesthetics.” But if you are interested in a particular art aesthetic—baroque or minimalist, for example—it could be useful. Also see the Subject “Taste (Aesthetics).”
Literature Online (LION) with MLA combines access to the two largest indexes of language and literature resources: the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Click on “Criticism & Reference” at the upper left, then select “Criticism” above the search slots. Subject searches on “Aesthetics” or “Beauty” will retrieve many articles—the great majority concerned with that concept in relation to a particular author or literary work. Adding the name of a writer or theorist/critic helps give focus.
See Jennifer Strickland's Subject Guide for Art
Online (log-in required):
Oxford Art Online: Includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Oxford Companion to Western Art
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Dictionary of Modern Design
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Oxford Companion to the Garden
Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Print (far end of Library main floor):
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy
Encyclopedia of aesthetics
dictionary of art
Encyclopedia of world art
Art in world history
Oxford Art Online: Includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Oxford Companion to Western Art
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Dictionary of Modern Design
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Oxford Companion to the Garden
Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Print (far end of Library main floor):
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy
Encyclopedia of aesthetics
dictionary of art
Encyclopedia of world art
Art in world history
Web Directories differ from search engines like Google in that all the online resources have been selected and annotated by editors, thereby promising a much higher degree of quality control.
Aesthetics Online: from the American Society for Aesthetics. Check the "Articles" and "Teaching Resources" links on the left and also "Aesthetics Web Sites," which is a good gateway to other online resources.
Contemporary Aesthetics: an online journal from the Rhode Island School of Design. Click “The Journal” on the left to access the archive of full text articles.
British Society of Aesthetics: Go to "Postgraduate," then "Postgraduate Journal of Aesthetics Online" and look at both the current and archived issues--all available full text.
Voice of the Shuttle: Contemporary & Modern Art : Links
Voice of the Shuttle: Art History : Links
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Search for the essay on “Aesthetic Judgement” and also run a search on “Aesthetics”—which will retrieve all the entries on particular types of aesthetics.
“Aesthetics” (Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy): Overview from an academic.
Contemporary Aesthetics: an online journal from the Rhode Island School of Design. Click “The Journal” on the left to access the archive of full text articles.
British Society of Aesthetics: Go to "Postgraduate," then "Postgraduate Journal of Aesthetics Online" and look at both the current and archived issues--all available full text.
Voice of the Shuttle: Contemporary & Modern Art : Links
Voice of the Shuttle: Art History : Links
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Search for the essay on “Aesthetic Judgement” and also run a search on “Aesthetics”—which will retrieve all the entries on particular types of aesthetics.
“Aesthetics” (Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy): Overview from an academic.
Google Advanced Search: When doing research on the Web, always use the Adanced Search version of Google. This not only provides more flexibility in entering search terms, but more importantly it allows you to target the Web domains that are likely to provide the most authoritative information.
Under "Need More Tools?" you will find the "Search within a site or domain" slot. You may enter only one domain at a time, but it's worth targeting each of the three domains likely to supply the best information: colleges and universities (enter the "edu" tag), nonprofit organizations (enter the "org" tag), and the United States government (enter the "gov" tag).
Under "Need More Tools?" you will find the "Search within a site or domain" slot. You may enter only one domain at a time, but it's worth targeting each of the three domains likely to supply the best information: colleges and universities (enter the "edu" tag), nonprofit organizations (enter the "org" tag), and the United States government (enter the "gov" tag).
Noodlebib guides you through the required data entry for citation in the MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. It takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.
- MLA citation for books: in print, from databases, on the Web
- MLA citation for articles: in print, from databases, on the Web.
- MLA citation for Web and Multimedia resources, including Web sites, movies, DVDs, CDs, and videos.
- MLA in-text (parenthetical) citation (far less satanic than the first three).