Environmental Science: Alternative Energy

Alternative Energy

General Sources

Energy Citations Database
Database from the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) containing freely available scientific documents relating to energy back to 1943.

U.S. Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the US Government

Learning About Renewable Energy
Information about biomass, geothermal, solar, and wind energy from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources: A Reference Handbook
Overviews of existing and potential renewable and alternative energy technologies, covering the benefits and drawbacks associated with each.  Explores relevant questions and controversies; examining the social, political, and economic aspects of renewable and alternative energy use in the United States and other countries.

Union of Concerned Scientists: Clean Energy
Excellent summary of clean energy technologies from a U. S. non-profit organization.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment
Ref TJ163.235 .W55 1997
Signed articles with references on topics relating to energy technologies and their ecological consequences.

Alterntive Fuels

Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles Data Center
Collection of resources on alternative fuels from the U.S. Department of Energy.  Includes information on biodiesel, ethanol, hydrogen fuels, and others.

DOE Hydrogen Program
Home page for the U. S. Department of Energy's hydrogen programs.  See especially the library section for a number of documents on the status of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies.

Science Reports: Alternative Fuels
Companion site to a 2009 PBS documentary on alternative fuels, including hydrogen, ethanol, and natural gas.  Includes links to many related resources

Geothermal Energy

Geothermal Basics (Geothermal Energy Association)
Basic overview of geothermal energy systems with schematic diagrams.

DOE Geothermal Technologies Program
Summary site for the U. S. Department of Energy's geothermal energy research.  The site lists many DOE reports as well as maps, data sets, and conference presentations.

Great Basin Center for Geothermal Energy
Features interactive maps and a large collection of conference papers and presentations on geothermal energy and related fields.

Solar Energy

DOE Solar Energy Technologies Program
Summary site for the U. S. Department of Energy's research efforts in the area of solar energy, including work with photovoltaics and concentrating solar power.  The "Information Resources" section of the site provides access to DOE documents and links to relevant documents from the National Laboratories.

Wind Energy

American Wind Energy Association (AWEA)
National trade association promoting the use of wind power.  The "publications" section of the site offers concise fact sheets on various aspects of wind power and its environmental implications.

Contact Us

Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Call Number Locations

       ITHACA COLLEGE LIBRARY
         CALL NUMBER LOCATION

           A-HB    4TH FLOOR
           HC-Z      5TH FLOOR

Alternative Energy (Scientific American)

Loading ...