We have developed this website to provide information about library resources and services tailored to the interests of you, our alumni.
I invite you to travel back in time and revisit your years in the "downtown" and "South Hill" eras through three special collections: search the historical issues of the Ithacan; view images of buildings, events, and people at the College from 1950 to the early 1970's, in the C. Hadley Smith Collection; and listen to the thoughts of retired faculty and administrators, recorded as part of the Library's Oral History project. Dr. Mary Arlin, Emerita Professor of Music History, Theory, and Composition provides narration for two video versions of her popular historical tour of Ithaca College in the downtown era: Downtown Campus Part One and Downtown Campus Part Two.
We welcome gifts from alumni and friends that allow the library to add to our collections and enhance our facility. For example, the Collaborative Study rooms on the 5th floor, funded through the Senior Class of 2005 gift, are a much-used resource. The Class of 2011 gift allowed the Library to open an expanded Digital Media Center, where students are able to individually edit multimedia projects, practice and refine presentations, and work collaboratively on course projects.
I hope that you find these resources useful and engaging. Thanks for your interest in the Ithaca College Library.
The Ithaca College Archives has a number of special collections that might be of interest to alumni:
- C. Hadley Smith Collection
Historical photographs of Ithaca College.
- The Ithacan
Historical issues of the IC student newspaper, available in digital format.
- Rod Serling Archives
The College Archives maintains a collection of scripts for the Twilight Zone television show. Access to these unpublished and un-produced materials requires permission from the donor. Please contact Bridget Bower, College Archivist, for more information.
- Oral History Project
A project, still in the "Beta" stage, to collect oral histories of Ithaca College Faculty and Staff.
- IC Stories Project
We recently launched our IC Stories Project - we are posting images from the Smith Collection and inviting alumni and IC friends to share their memories about the people and places in the photos.
- IC Then & Now
- An ongoing series of videos about the history of campus buildings, including material about IC's downtown era.
Chadwick Image Project
Between 1914 and the early 1920s, Archelaus D. Chadwick (known as "Arch") was the production designer and set designer for the Wharton motion picture studio based in Ithaca. From 1925 until his retirement in 1939, Chadwick was a Professor in the Theater Department at Ithaca College. The Library has an online collection of digitized images of Wharton stage sets that Chadwick designed.
Theses at IC
Search for IC Physical Education Theses
Search for IC Occupational Therapy Theses
Search for IC Music Theses
Search for IC Communications Theses
If the Library received a single copy of a thesis, it is stored in the College Archives. These theses are available for in-library use (reading, copying, scanning). Please contact Bridget Bower, College Archivist, to schedule access to these materials. All second copies of submitted theses are available for circulation.
Beginning in 2012, the Library transitioned to student submission of theses in PDF format for posting online. We also have a digitization project underway whereby we are creating digital copies of older theses. The online collection will continue to grow as we scan previously submitted print theses. See the links below for theses scanned to date.
IC Electronic Theses
IC Electronic Theses - Exercise and Sport Sciences
IC Electronic Theses - Music
The Ithaca College Library has selected a group of online resources for our alumni:
- IC Library Alumni Databases
- JSTOR, the not-for-profit digital library of thousands of academic journals and other content, offers the archives of more than 1,200 journals for limited reading by the public. This is part of JSTOR’s experimental program Register & Read (http://about.jstor.org/rr), in which people can sign up for a JSTOR account and, every two weeks, read up to three articles online for free.
- See also the Library's Research Guide on Open Educational Resources.
- Several states provide access to selected online resources. Contact your state library or local public library for more information. For example, the NOVELny project (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library) provides New York state residents with online access to a group of full-text databases. Connect to NOVELny resources via your local public library, using your library card, NY State Driver's License, or obtain a card from the New York State Library.
Phi Mu Alpha trombone players performing "Lassus Trombones", Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY, group picture, taken May 18, 1968. Photo courtesy of C. Hadley Smith Collection
Oral History Highlight
IC Then and Now Video Project
Our first video celebrates the 50th anniversary of the construction of the Campus Center.
Ithaca College Alumni are welcome to become Library Affiliates and borrow selected materials from the Library's Collections.
For people considering making a gift to the Ithaca College Library, the Library has developed a Gifts-in-Kind Policy in collaboration with the Office of Institutional Advancement.