The Constitution: The First Amendment
Use this guide as a pathfinder to sources about the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.
Photo from: The White House
Amendment I
Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.
Photo from: The White House
Amendment I
Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.
- The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis, and Interpretation
2002 edition. S. DOC. 108-17. See the Government Printing Office's website for supplements (issued in even-numbered years). To access a PDF of the First Amendment with commentary, click here. - Congressional Bills
- Congressional Record
- Presidential Documents
- Cases from Oyez (Chicago-Kent College of Law)
- Britannica: First Amendment
- CQ Public Affairs Collection: Law & Justice: Constitutional Law, Civil Liberties, & Individual Rights. Contains Legislative Analysis, Case Summaries, And Primary Sources
- Encyclopedia. World News Digest: Constitution of the United States. Freedom of Speech
- The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States: First Amendment
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law: First Amendment
Best Bets:
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
- LexisNexis Academic
- Academic Search Premier
- America: History and Life
- Military and Government Collection
- Alternative Press Index
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
- PolicyArchive
- WorldCat (via FirstSearch) If we don't own a book, try borrowing it using ILL.
Links to books and videos held by IC Library:
- Bill of Rights Institute
The Bill of Rights Institute provides resources for educating the public about founding documents - Center for Constitutional Rights
Organization founded in 1966 that is dedicated to protecting rights stated in the U.S. Constitution and the Universal Declaration of Humaning Rights. - First Amendment Center
Clearinghouse for information concerning the five freedoms (speech, press, assembly, petition and religion) guaranteed by the First Amendment to our Constitution - Freedom Forum
Organization the centers on the free press and free speech. They operate the Newseum in Washington, DC. - Freedom House
Organization that monitors freedom, democracy and human rights worldwide. The publish the following reports: Freedom in the World, Freedom on the Net, Freedom of the Press, Nations in Transit, Countries at the Crossroads, and Women's Rights in the Middle East and North Africa, - freepress
Organization that advocates for media reform. - Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to journalists since 1970." Users can sign up for news feeds. The Reading Room tab includes online issues of The News Media & The Law, a quarterly magazine (2000+). They also provide the following guides: The First Amendment Handbook, The Open Government Guide, and The Reporter's Privilege (examines reporter's privilege in each state). - Reporters without Borders
Advocacy organization that defends journalists, fights against censorship, and works to improve the safety of journalists worldwide. They publish the Press Freedom Index.
See the Guide for:
Constitution Day 2012: WIKILEAKS, BRADLEY MANNING, AND THE FIRST AMENDMENT
Thursday, September 27, 2012
Park Auditorium
Shayana Kadidal, Guest Speaker
Other Guides of interest may include:
Constitution Day 2012: WIKILEAKS, BRADLEY MANNING, AND THE FIRST AMENDMENT
Thursday, September 27, 2012
Park Auditorium
Shayana Kadidal, Guest Speaker
Other Guides of interest may include:
You can access high resolution images and transcripts of the Constitution and Bill of Rights through the National Archive's "Charters of Freedom" website.
Loading ...
The Constitution: That Delicate Balance
From Annenberg Media, this is a streaming video series on the Constitution. Produced by Columbia University Seminars on Media and Society. 1984.
From Annenberg Media, this is a streaming video series on the Constitution. Produced by Columbia University Seminars on Media and Society. 1984.
Loading ...
Loading ...