Architecture

Architecture


 

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Citations and some abstracts for journal articles,book reviews, and dissertations on US and Canadian history, prehistory to the present. Covers historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore.
GreenFILE openURL Some full text available
An index drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. GreenFILE provides a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Nearly 300,000 records (full text for selected titles) from scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Royal Institute of British Architects ( RIBA ) Library Catalogue online
An index to articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals, details of books and audio visual materials acquired by the Royal Institute of British Architects.  This is a freely accessible database of citations.  Use I.C.Library's ILL service to obtain full text of any interesting articles.



.   |A

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Abstracts to world history 1450-present (excluding North America) in historical and (related) social science literature.
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) provides bibliographic information for over 41 million books and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Restricted Resource openURL
A comprehensive index of journal articles published worldwide from 1934 to the present on architectural design and history but coverage as well of real estate development, sports facilities, commercial buildings, city planning, urban design, environmental studies, historic preservation, landscape architecture, and archeology.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Web Sites

Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network
This free database includes information regarding conservation and restoration of cultural properties.

Chicago Manual of Style Online: Quick Guide
Presents a 'cheat sheet' of basic Chicago style citation formats for either 1. notes and bibliography, or 2. author-date format.

Intute: Arts & Humanities
A gateway to selected, annotated resources in the Humanities, including English and American literature, art, and photography.
Steedman Architectural Collection
Features images from classic books on elements of architecture: Movements, styles, decorative arts

Bibliographies

World Architecture Index : A Guide to Illustrations
Print Location: Reference NA202 .T4 1991 Resource contains images
This reference guide helps pin-point images of well known buildings, gardens, plazas, monuments, gates and walls in a variety of architectural survey books. Includes references to elevations, drawings, exterior and interior views.

Biographical Information

Brief Biographies of American Architects Who Died Between 1897 and 1947 Some full text available
From the Society of Architectural Historians - transcripts of biographical notices from the early editions of the American Art Annual and its successor volume Who's Who in American Art.

Dictionaries

Art & Architecture Thesaurus online
Indexing terms used to describe the built environment in museum collections. Useful to identify terminology for searching; no links to collections or content.
Dictionary of architecture & construction
An illustrated dictionary of almost 25,000 terms related to architecture and construction. 

Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Worldwide coverage of over 5000 definitions of architecture and landscape architecture terminology. Some entries include b&w illustrations or maps.
Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Print Location: NA31 .C44 1995
Illustrations of how buildings are designed and constructed.
Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users. 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Architecture
Print Location: REF NA705 .P3 1995
Covers all styles of American domestic and public architecture, illustrated with color photographs.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture
Print Location: REF NA215 .A7513 2003
Brief descriptions of ancient Egyptian architectural sites, building techniques and terminology. B&W illustrations, photos and maps are included.

Encyclopedia of twentieth century architecture
Print Location: NA680 .E495 2004
Provides concise articles on architectural history and theory from 1900-2000. Includes illustrations and brief bibliographies.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers every art form, medium, and civilization to the fall of the Roman Empire. Information on classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, and sculpture.
MacMillan Encyclopedia of Architects
Print Location: Ref NA40 .M25 1982 Some full text available
Contains backgound history of architects, lists of works and bibliographies for each.

Handbooks & Guides

Oxford Companion to Architecture Restricted Resource
Covers a variety of architectural elements worldwide.

Source Book of American Architecture
Covers 1,000 years of American Architecture.

World Architecture Index : A Guide to Illustrations
Print Location: Reference NA202 .T4 1991 Resource contains images
This reference guide helps pin-point images of well known buildings, gardens, plazas, monuments, gates and walls in a variety of architectural survey books. Includes references to elevations, drawings, exterior and interior views.

Images

archINFORM Resource contains images Some full text available
Database for international architecture includes worldwide architects and buildings from past to present, has over 14,000 built and unrealized projects from architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.


Architectural Photographs Collection, Cornell University Resource contains images
More than 1200 of the photographs [out of 13,000] online and searchable. Photographs from the 18th and early 19th centuries.

Art Museum Image Gallery Restricted Resource Resource contains images

Art Museum Image Gallery draws on the collections of museums around the world. The images cover a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples.


Built in America (Historic American Buildings Survey & Historic American Engineering Record) Some full text available Resource contains images
These collections document America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.

Historic Architecture and Landscape Image Collection (HALIC) Resource contains images
A project of the Art Institute of Chicago - approximately 11,000 images that document the architecture, landscape and urban planning of sites across the United States. HALIC contains mounted photographic prints, lantern slides (both black and white and hand-colored), and postcards dating from the 1860s to the 1970s. HALIC also contains a significant number of pre-Civil War, vernacular, and anonymous buildings, as well as images from many of the expositions and world's fairs that took place around the turn of the 20th-century.
International Archive of Women in Architecture: Imagebase Resource contains images
A collection of about 2000 images, sorted by woman or category. The women in this imagebase are architects, designers, and landscape architects. A sample google search showed these images do not come up in the google results.

LUNA Commons Resource contains images
Images from museums, universities and private collections can be found through this site which also offers users tools to create groups of images and share content.

New York Heritage Digital Collections Resource contains images
A research portal to hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions. Search the digital collections from libraries, museum, and archives.
Wikimedia Commons Resource contains images Resource contains audio
"a database of 2,413,359 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. ... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as the source and the authors are credited and as long as users release their copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. " -- Wikimedia Commons (Contains audio, sound effects, video, photographs and images).


Yale Digital Commons
Over 250,000 open access high resolution images (artwork and texts).

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.

Cities and Buildings Database Resource contains images
A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world; intended for educational use.

Local

Built in America: Tompkins County, NY
This segment of the American Memory Project's Built in America website features photographs of architecture from the Tompkins County region of New York.

Historic Ithaca
From the website: " Historic Ithaca works to identify and preserve the historic built environment through awareness, advocacy, leadership and education. We offer technical preservation consulting services to our membership and to local contractors, municipalities, and the general public. With member support we advocate for the protection of important buildings and structures, facilitate neighborhood preservation planning, and speak out on issues of sprawl and smart growth."
History Center in Tompkins County
Home of the Tompkins County Museum and many primary sources relating to Ithaca and Tompkins County.
History of Tioga, Chemung, Tompkins, and Schuyler Counties New York Some full text availableopenURL
[subtitle: with illustrations and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers] Published in 1879 and includes drawings of prominent houses from the southern tier, maps, and landscapes from the 1800s. (Tompkins County appears on pages 373-534)
Initial Ithacans Some full text availableopenURL
Published in 1904, this book covers Ithaca's history from 1821-1903

Ithaca College Buildings
From the Ithaca College Archives, a chart of some of the buildings on campus.
Tompkins County Historian
Covers basic history of Tompkins County, arranged by towns.

Primary Sources

Mapping Gothic France
With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: space, time and narrative

New York State Digital Collections: catalog Some full text available
Contains over 65,000 documents relating to New York State. Three main collections include: 1. New York State Government Publications (Regents exams from 1957 to current), 2. New York State Scanned Documents Collection (broadsides, maps, manuscripts, and special collections) and 3. Education Laws and Policy documents
Eurodocs Some full text available

Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. All sources are openly accessible.


Statistics/Data

Architectural Record: Building Types Study
From the journal Architectural Record: a website of building types which include photos, architectural drawings, plans, and specifications.  Includes buildings which do not appear in the print version of the journal.  Covers 2000 to the present.

Campus Buildings

For historical information about the buildings on campus, visit the Ithaca College Library Archives,  on the 5th floor of the Gannett Center. 
Hours:
Monday - Wednesday: 2 - 4 pm
Thursday: 10 am - 12 pm
and by appointment ( (607) 274-3096 or email bbower@ithaca.edu )

Keep in mind that when the buildings on campus were first designed and constructed, they may have had an entirely different nomenclature than they do now.  For instance, Hammond Health Center was simply referred to as the Infirmary shortly after it was built.  For basic facts about the south campus buildings (date built, etc.) , see this chart.
Also, search earlier  issues of the Ithaca Journal (on microfilm).   At this time, there is no index to the Ithaca Journal, but you may use the microfilm readers in the library to browse through the relevant time periods.

Please use our online Ithacan (IC's student newspaper) to find articles covering construction of buildings on campus.  The following is a sample of the sort of articles you might find:
Ithaca College Buildings

Contact Us

Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

2011 Ithaca Green Buildings Tour

Each year, the Ithaca Green Buildng Alliance, the Northeast Sustainable Energy Association and the Cornell Cooperative Extension host open houses of local energy efficient homes and commercial spaces.  The 2011 tour featured 24 sites. To see some of the local green building initiatives, take a look at CCe's website.