Art

Art

Drawing

Looking for books about drawing? Browse our stacks.  Here are a few suggested call number ranges:
NC50-266 History of drawing
NC703-725 General works
NC760-825 Special subjects
NC845-915 Graphic art materials
NC997-1003 Commercial art. Advertising art
NC1280-1284 Printed ephemera. Imagerie populaire
NC1300-1766 Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.
NC1800-1850 Posters

Be sure to check both the General Stacks and the Oversize section on the 5th floor of the library.

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Restricted Resource openURL
A comprehensive index of journal articles published worldwide from 1934 to the present on architectural design and history but coverage as well of real estate development, sports facilities, commercial buildings, city planning, urban design, environmental studies, historic preservation, landscape architecture, and archeology.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains audio Some full text available
Indexes and offers full text for journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video. Covers both western and non-western art. Three hundred seventy-seven publications are indexed back to 1984, with full text provided to one hundred eleven journals back to 1997. Its companion database, Art Index Retrospective, indexes back to 1929.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Citations for articles, reviews and art reproductions in key international arts periodicals covering all aspects of art and art history including related disciplines of architecture, archaeology, design, film, museology and photography. Covers 1929- 1984. For 1984 to the present, search the Bibliography of the History of Art and Art Full Text.
Project Muse Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. It indexes and abstracts books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.  1973 - present
*Please note that BHA has moved from the CSA platform to the Getty Research Institute.

Web Sites

ABZU: A Guide to Information Related to the Study of the Ancient Near East on the Web
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network
This free database includes information regarding conservation and restoration of cultural properties.

Cornucopia: The Museum Libraries & Archives Council
A database indexing over 6,000 collections within the United Kingdom with links to the corresponding museums.

European Library
From the website: "Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 9,550,610 digital items and 103,420,869 bibliographic records. To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group."
To select a language, use this link: http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/tel4/discover/languages

Getty Some full text available
Provides a gateway to information on museum studies. Includes databases under the "Research Institute" > "Search Tools & Databases" such as: Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), the Union List of Artist Names (ULAN), and the Thesaurus of Geographical Names (TGN). 
Google Art Project
Virtual tours of museums throughout  the world. Create a collection and share using your Google account. Current museums include: Alte Nationalgalerie, Freer Gallery of Art (Smithsonian), Frick Collection, Gemäldegalerie,Metropolitan Museum of Art, MoMA, Museo Reina Sofia, Museo Thyssen, Museum Kampa, National Gallery (London), Palace of Versailles, Rijksmuseum, State Hermitage Museum, State Tretyakov Gallery, Tate Britain, Uffizi Gallery, and the Van Gogh Museum
Intute: Arts & Humanities
A gateway to selected, annotated resources in the Humanities, including English and American literature, art, and photography.
New York Historical Society: Exhibitions and Collections
Contains collections of paintings, drawings, sculptures, decorative arts and material culture reflecting the regional history.

Vincent van Gogh The Letters
This digital archive contains images of the 902 known letters of Vincent van Gogh.  Letters are sortable by place, by correspondent, by period or by letters which contain sketches. All letters include English translations.

Visual Culture in Spanish America

The Vistas project seeks to bring an understanding of the visual culture of Spanish America to a broad audience. Spanish America was an extensive region—covering much of the Americas, running from California to Chile from the 16th century to the early 19th century. Its visual culture was forged in urban centers, religious and frontier communities, and indigenous towns. The Vistas website offers access in English and Spanish to a small part of the project, with a gallery of low-resolution color images, interpretive essays and a searchable bibliography on visual culture

Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries. It was started in 1996 as a topical site of the Renaissance art, originated in the Italian city-states of the 14th century and spread to other countries in the 15th and 16th centuries. Intending to present Renaissance art as comprehensively as possible, the scope of the collection was later extended to show its Medieval roots as well as its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism. More recently the periods of Neoclassicism and Romanticism were also included. ( Excerpt from web site)
American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920 Some full text available
A collection of approximately 2,800 lantern slides representing prominent American landscape architects. Includes views of cities, specific buildings, parks, estates and gardens, plans, maps, and models. Hundreds of private estates are represented (including features such as formal gardens, terraces, and arbors).
FLICKR (Library of Congress Project)
About 3,000 photographs (in color and black and white) and posters from governmental sources such as the Library of Congress, the FBI, National Archives and Department of Defense. Includes portraits of politicians, celebrities, protests, demonstrations, and news shots from around the world. No known copyright exists for the photos included within the collection
Metropolitan Museum of Art :Timeline of Art History (Heilbrunn) Some full text available
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Includes chronological narratives, topical essays, and color illustrations of works of art. Covers 8000 B.C. to present.

Voice of the Shuttle Some full text available
Comprehensive gateway to Web resources in the Humanities, including Literature, Philosophy, Religion, and Art.
New York State Art Teachers Association Some full text available
Association promoting art edcuation in New York
Steedman Architectural Collection
Features images from classic books on elements of architecture: Movements, styles, decorative arts
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Some full text available
A collection of electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
Arts Council Collection (UK)
This website provides over 7,500 images of contemporary British artwork in a either a browsable or searchable context.
Center for the Study of the Public Domain
Duke Law site devoted to promoting global understanding of public domain issues. Includes the graphic novel Bound by Law that explores a filmmaker's exploration of copyright for a documentary film.
eCultural Resources Some full text available
Provides news updates, job listings, and other daily information related to historic preservation, ethnography, and cultural resource management.
National Gallery of Art Classroom for Teachers and Students Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
The National Gallery of Art website provides lesson plans for k-12 students, using art to teach English, environmental issues, geography, history, math, science, and social science.
National Gallery of Art: Collection Database Resource contains images
Browsable and searchable database of the collection held at the National Gallery of Art

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Resource contains images
Developed by the Metropolitan Museum of Art - study art history by date, geography, or theme.

Atlases

Metropolitan Museum of Art :Timeline of Art History (Heilbrunn) Some full text available
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Includes chronological narratives, topical essays, and color illustrations of works of art. Covers 8000 B.C. to present.

Audio Files

Smarthistory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
A multimedia web-book "designed as a dynamic enhancement  for the traditional art history textbook."  Visitors to the site will find several hundred artworks (along with videos and podcasts) organized thematically and by time period. Use the drop down menus to look for certain styles, artists, and themes.

Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS) Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Searching gateway for the Archives of American Art catalog, National Inventory of American Paintings Executed before 1914, Inventory of American Sculpture, Archives of American Gardens catalog, and other resources. Includes links to images, video files, and sound files.

Bibliographies

AATA Online (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)
Abstracts of international literature for those involved in conservation of material cultural heritage, including works of art, cultural objects, architectural heritage, archaeological sites and landscape architecture/gardens.  Produced by the Getty Conservation Institute.

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users.
World Architecture Index : A Guide to Illustrations
Print Location: Reference NA202 .T4 1991 Resource contains images
This reference guide helps pin-point images of well known buildings, gardens, plazas, monuments, gates and walls in a variety of architectural survey books. Includes references to elevations, drawings, exterior and interior views.

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
Use WorldCat's Interlibrary Loan feature to borrow books that the IC Library doesn't own. Or, check off the "Items in my library" box to limit to our collection (as a sort of supplement to our online catalog).
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users. 

Biographical Information

archINFORM Resource contains images Some full text available
Database for international architecture includes worldwide architects and buildings from past to present, has over 14,000 built and unrealized projects from architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.


Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users.
Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) Some full text available
A database of artists' and architects' names (including a large number of variant name forms), along with biographical and bibliographic data.
Dictionary of Art Historians
Biographies and bibliographies of art historians and art critics

Blogs

art 21: Blog
Companion blog to the PBS series.  Art21 was founded in 1997 with the mission to increase knowledge of contemporary art, ignite discussion, and inspire creative thinking by using diverse media to present contemporary artists at work and in their own words.
BLDGBLOG ( Building Blog)
The site provides intriguing details from the fringes of contemporary architectural practice in an accessible thought-provoking and highly entertaining manner. Here author Geoff Manaugh presents his insights in book form combining history urban exploration science fiction design climate change and city planning with the view that everything is relevant to architecture.
(Above description from Amazon.com)

Smarthistory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
A multimedia web-book "designed as a dynamic enhancement  for the traditional art history textbook."  Visitors to the site will find several hundred artworks (along with videos and podcasts) organized thematically and by time period. Use the drop down menus to look for certain styles, artists, and themes.

ArtCritical.com: The Online Magazine of Art and Ideas
Reviews of current art exhibits and art books.
ArtObserved.com
"Global contemporary art events and news observed from New York City"
Eyebeam Art and Technology Blog
Find current articles on both technology and art and the intersections between them.
Grammar.police
Covers issues in contemporary art society and politics with a cynical sense of humor
All Graphic Design (AG Design)
Contains posts related to graphic design, including hints about graphic design software, typography, and more.
pica + pixel
A blog devoted to contemporary graphic design. It includes poster art, photography, illustration, and advertising as its focus, with references to many other novel areas of design.

Dictionaries

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists Restricted Resource
Covers art and artists from ancient times to the present. International in scope with Western emphasis. (No images included)
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Worldwide coverage of over 5000 definitions of architecture and landscape architecture terminology. Some entries include b&w illustrations or maps.
Visual Dictionary Online from Merriam Webster Resource contains images
Over 6,000 images which visually illustrate objects. Individual parts of the objects are labeled. Topics include animals, architecture, astronomy, art, clothing, communications, food, Earth, energy, games, gardening, household items, humans, kitchen items, machinery, plants, science, society, sports, and transportation
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
1,800+ brief entries on art related terms. No illustrations
Art & Architecture Thesaurus online
Indexing terms used to describe the built environment in museum collections. Useful to identify terminology for searching; no links to collections or content.
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Print Location: http://ezproxy.ithaca.edu:2048/login?url=REF N33 .O93 2004 Restricted Resource
Covers art terms from ancient world to the present
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users. 
Prestel dictionary of art and artists in the 20th century
Print Location: Ref N33 .P74 2000
Brief definitions and biographies relating to 20th century art
Multilingual Glossary for Art Librarians
Defines over 500 art-related terms in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.

Directories

Cornucopia: The Museum Libraries & Archives Council
A database indexing over 6,000 collections within the United Kingdom with links to the corresponding museums.

Artcyclopedia: Art Museums Worldwide (directory)
Click-able map of the world allows users to search by region for fine art museums with a web presence.
ARTINFO.com Museum Directory
The ARTINFO Museum Directory covers only major museums in major cities are covered. For museums in smaller cities, see http://www.artcyclopedia.com/museums.htmlrnCovers museums in disciplines such as Air & Space, Aquarium, Arboretum, Art, Children's, Design & Textile, Botanical, Film & Media, Heritage, Historical , Jewish, Library, Maritime, Military, Natural History, Planetarium, Science, Special Interest, Transportation, & Zooligical

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics Restricted Resource
Covers both the philosophical and cultural role of aesthetics, with substantial essays on concepts and individual thinkers.  Available through Oxford Art Online. Use the "Browse" button to limit search results to the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: themes depicted in works of art
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=258885
Ever wondered how concepts such as love or honor have been portrayed in art?  This encyclopedia offers analysis of themes from Abandonment to the Zodiac as depicted in artwork.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains 3,000 articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century, including art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers every art form, medium, and civilization to the fall of the Roman Empire. Information on classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, and sculpture.
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.   Entries on artists, craftsmen, designers, workshops, and decorative art forms. Also included are hundreds of entries on the qualities and historical uses of materials, concise definitions on art forms and styles, and in-depth articles discussing the history of armor, jewelry, furniture, textiles, and ceramics.

Lambiek Comiclopedia Resource contains images Some full text available
Illustrated compendium of over 10,000 comic artists from around the world. Search for artists, books, strips or comic characters.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Encyclopedia covers the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Information includes art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial—such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.

Oxford Companion to the Garden
Over 1800 entries covering individual gardens from around the world, as well as landscape architecture theory and terminology. Some illustrations and photographs.
Encyclopedia of gardens : history and design
Comprehensive 3 volume set covers gardens and designers from around the world. Illustrated.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Print Location: http://ezproxy.ithaca.edu:2048/login?url=Ref N 31 E4833 Restricted Resource
This multi-volume set includes historical coverage of almost all forms of art and architecture from ancient to mid-20th century. Includes essays on movements, schools of art, articles on art arranged by country, and essays on individual artists and architects. Contains illustrations, b&w and color plates.
Lives and works in the arts from the Renaissance to the 20th Century
Print Location: REF NX449.5 .L58 1997
A nine volume set discussing a variety of fine art forms and their creators in a chronological and geographical context.
MacMillan Encyclopedia of Architects
Print Location: Ref NA40 .M25 1982 Some full text available
Contains backgound history of architects, lists of works and bibliographies for each.
Artcyclopedia
Cover primary painting and painters, but includes architecture, decorative arts, installation art, naïve art/folk art/outsider art, photography, video, digital and web-based art as well. Includes links to over 2,300 fine art websites, and indexes over 118,000 artworks, and 8,200 artists.

Handbooks & Guides

Steedman Architectural Collection
Features images from classic books on elements of architecture: Movements, styles, decorative arts
World Painting Index
Print Location: http://ezproxy.ithaca.edu:2048/login?url=REF ND45 .H38 Restricted Resource
Locate color or b&w reproductions of paintings that have been published in other books. Search by artist or title of painting.

Images

America's First Look Into the Camera Resource contains images
From the Library of Congress American Memory project - a collection of daguerreotypes taken from 1838-1864 - includes portraits and architectural views.

American Memory: Landscape and Architecture Resource contains images
Digitized images and texts for the study of the American landscape and landscape architecture including panoramic maps, other maps (many of them illustrated), panoramic photographs, materials documenting the national parks, and environmental photographs.
Archives of American Art
Includes digitzed artwork, photos, primary texts, and audiovidual material related to American history.

Archnet Resource contains images
Collection of Islamic architectural images - includes historical monuments, contemporary sites, and general views.
Asian Historical Architecture Resource contains images
Photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Over 14,600 photos of 744 sites in twenty countries, with background information and virtual tours.
Catena: Digital Archive of Historical Gardens + Landscapes Resource contains images Some full text available
A collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.  The images and intellectual content on this site should be used for educational purposes only. Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Note: Pop-up blockers on browsers must be disabled for viewing content.
Color Chart: Reinventing Color 1950 to Today (MOMA Exhibit)
A website created for the Museum of Modern Art exhibit by the same name, held March-May 2008.

Costume Institute Database Resource contains images
A searchable database of images of the Metropolitan Museum's Costume Institute collection, consisting of more than 30,000 costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries.  Search by type of object, artist or maker, or date.

Digital Archive of American Architecture Resource contains images
Scans of 15,000 slides grouped by century from the 17th to the 20th. Each group can be accessed by location, architect, building type, and style.

Europeana Resource contains images Resource contains audio
European collection of cultural materials from museums, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. Includes images, texts, sounds and videos.
Gottscho-Schleisner Collection - Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America Resource contains images
A collection of over 29,000 images taken from 1935 to 1955. Primarily of American architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory Project.
LUNA Commons Resource contains images
Images from museums, universities and private collections can be found through this site which also offers users tools to create groups of images and share content.

Museum of Online Museums Resource contains images Some full text available

Links to museums with an interesting online presence, exhibits of particular interest to design and advertising, and collections and galleries.


New York Heritage Digital Collections Resource contains images
A research portal to hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions. Search the digital collections from libraries, museum, and archives.
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users.
Perseus Digital Library
Links to over 30,000 images of Architecture, Archaeological Sites, Coins, Vases, and Sculpture from the ancient world.
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS) Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Searching gateway for the Archives of American Art catalog, National Inventory of American Paintings Executed before 1914, Inventory of American Sculpture, Archives of American Gardens catalog, and other resources. Includes links to images, video files, and sound files.
Tineye Resource contains images

TinEye is an image search engine that uses image identification technology. Given an image to search for, TinEye tells you where and how that image appears all over the web–even if it has been modified.  TinEye lets you submit an image to find web pages that contain that image.


VADS Resource contains images
Online Resource for the Visual Arts. The Visual Arts Data Service holds over free 100,000 images for educational use.
World Architecture Index : A Guide to Illustrations
Print Location: Reference NA202 .T4 1991 Resource contains images
This reference guide helps pin-point images of well known buildings, gardens, plazas, monuments, gates and walls in a variety of architectural survey books. Includes references to elevations, drawings, exterior and interior views.

World Images
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. The images can be located using many search techniques, and for convenience they are organized into over 800 portfolios which are then organized into subject groupings.
Yale Digital Commons
Over 250,000 open access high resolution images (artwork and texts).

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.

FLICKR (Library of Congress Project)
About 3,000 photographs (in color and black and white) and posters from governmental sources such as the Library of Congress, the FBI, National Archives and Department of Defense. Includes portraits of politicians, celebrities, protests, demonstrations, and news shots from around the world. No known copyright exists for the photos included within the collection
Wikimedia Commons Resource contains images Resource contains audio
"a database of 2,413,359 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. ... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as the source and the authors are credited and as long as users release their copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. " -- Wikimedia Commons (Contains audio, sound effects, video, photographs and images).


Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
Features historic maps as well as maps that are of current interest (for example, sites of natural disasters, political turmoil, etc.).  Historic maps include digitized maps of U.S. cities, national parks, and monuments.

American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920 Some full text available
A collection of approximately 2,800 lantern slides representing prominent American landscape architects. Includes views of cities, specific buildings, parks, estates and gardens, plans, maps, and models. Hundreds of private estates are represented (including features such as formal gardens, terraces, and arbors).
AP Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A database of over 160 years of history as witnessed by The Associated Press. Photos: more than 3.6 million photographs from 1825 to today, with about 3,000 new photos added every day.  Graphics: more than one hundred thousand graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs.  Audio: over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920s forward.  Links to hourly newscasts on the home page under the audio tab.

Note: This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
Creative Commons
Artistic creators can assign works a CC license that explicitly grants degrees of permission for usage of personal works. The site includes images, audio, video, text and even lesson plans.
Image Gallery, National Agricultural Library
Contains paintings and photographs of flora and fauna, natural phenomena, government posters, and scenes from American life. This collection spans 18th to 20th centuries.
New York Public Library Picture Collection Online Some full text available
Collection includes 30,000 digitized images. Subjects covered include African Americans, American history, animals, costume and clothing, design, Native Americans, New York City, and textiles.
NYPL Digital Library Resource contains images
Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'.  High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division.
World Painting Index
Print Location: http://ezproxy.ithaca.edu:2048/login?url=REF ND45 .H38 Restricted Resource
Locate color or b&w reproductions of paintings that have been published in other books. Search by artist or title of painting.
Built in America (Historic American Buildings Survey & Historic American Engineering Record) Some full text available Resource contains images
These collections document America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.

Ad*Access Some full text available
From Duke University Library's J.W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History, this database contains 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. & Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911-1955. Main subject areas include: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. Ads can be searched or browsed.
archINFORM Resource contains images Some full text available
Database for international architecture includes worldwide architects and buildings from past to present, has over 14,000 built and unrealized projects from architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.


Audubon's Birds of America Resource contains images Some full text available
Digitized images from Audubon's Birds of America. Site includes links to reprints from Audubon's Ornithological Biography, his five-volume text describing each of the birds.
Beinecke Library Digital Images Online Some full text available
Searchable database of ca. 21,000 scanned images from the Beinecke Library's collections at Yale University. Also includes access to the Marinetti Libroni: a searchable database of ca. 23,000 press clippings and images from F.T. Marinetti's scrapbooks on Futurism.
Collect Britain Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available

Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs,newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings. Includes the Penny Illustrated Paper (1861-1913).


Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Some full text available
A collection of electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
Early Visual Media Resource contains images
by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images.
note: Access is limited to three simlutaneous users. 
Picturing America
Provides representative visual examples from United States history. This searchable image database contains art, architecture, artifacts, crafts, drawing, photography and sculpture.
Reanimation Library Image Collection
Images (photos, drawings, illustrations, etc.) collected from outdated instructional books and manuals. Useful for historic look at graphics, or pop culture kitsch.
SIRIS Image Gallery (Smithsonian) Resource contains images
The Image Gallery includes over 266,300 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.

Smithsonian Photography Initiative
This searchable database permits flexible, noncommercial use of their photos. For details, please read the restrictions at: http://www.si.edu/copyright/ The database has "13 million images in some seven hundred collections throughout our museums and research centers. The collections are organized by museum and discipline. "
UCLA Library Digital Collections Resource contains images
Image Collections included: AIDS posters, Architecture & Urban Design, History of Los Angeles, Primary Care Research Projects, Japanese American Relocation, Arabic & Persian Manuscripts, Sheet Music Consortium, Mexican & Mexican-American Musical Recordings
Visual English Dictionary from Oxford Reference Online
Over 6,000 color illustrations or cross-sections of objects such as animals, anatomy, appliances, clothing, sports, and technology.
Wellcome Collection Resource contains images
Over 40,000 high quality images in both color & black and white covering "2000 years of human culture". Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences.

Organizations

National Art Education Association
An association for the promotion of art education
Center for the Study of the Public Domain
Duke Law site devoted to promoting global understanding of public domain issues. Includes the graphic novel Bound by Law that explores a filmmaker's exploration of copyright for a documentary film.
International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS)
Founded in 1998 to drive creativity on the Internet. The organization is diverse including industry leaders in online advertising, film, television, games, and mobile. The Webby Awards honor top websites in numerous industry and media categories every year.

Primary Sources

Mapping Gothic France
With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: space, time and narrative

New york Art Consortium NYARC
The New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC) consists of the research libraries of three leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, NYARC was formed in 2006 to facilitate collaboration that results in enhanced resources to research communities.



Eurodocs Some full text available

Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. All sources are openly accessible.


Time and Date

Color Chart: Reinventing Color 1950 to Today (MOMA Exhibit)
A website created for the Museum of Modern Art exhibit by the same name, held March-May 2008.

Metropolitan Museum of Art :Timeline of Art History (Heilbrunn) Some full text available
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Includes chronological narratives, topical essays, and color illustrations of works of art. Covers 8000 B.C. to present.

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Works of Art
The NYC Met Museum posts over 6,500 works of art in its permanent collection that can be browsed or searched. Includes learning activities, timelines and special exhibits.
Smarthistory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
A multimedia web-book "designed as a dynamic enhancement  for the traditional art history textbook."  Visitors to the site will find several hundred artworks (along with videos and podcasts) organized thematically and by time period. Use the drop down menus to look for certain styles, artists, and themes.

Video

Art Babble
A collection of art-related videos, includes interviews with artists and curators, original documentaries and art installation videos. ArtBabble features high-definition video, full text transcription of all the videos on site and interactive features including viewer feedback and video sharing.
Smarthistory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
A multimedia web-book "designed as a dynamic enhancement  for the traditional art history textbook."  Visitors to the site will find several hundred artworks (along with videos and podcasts) organized thematically and by time period. Use the drop down menus to look for certain styles, artists, and themes.

Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS) Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Searching gateway for the Archives of American Art catalog, National Inventory of American Paintings Executed before 1914, Inventory of American Sculpture, Archives of American Gardens catalog, and other resources. Includes links to images, video files, and sound files.
Ubu Web
Contains avant garde films, sound recordings, and papers of modern cinema, music, dance, theater and poetry.

Contact Us

Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

Primary Sources in Art History

Finding primary sources:
Think generally in terms of time period, region and style.  And remember that accounts from that time may have used different terms than what we use today.  For example, the Civil War was referred to as "War of the Rebellion" by the north, and "War for Southern Independence" by the south at the time. And keep in mind the spelling of names may vary.
Secondary sources are excellent sources in assisting your search for primary sources.  To find names of art critics, or theories of aesthetics, use an advanced search in the library's online catalog, then:
1. type in ART SOURCES
2. limit to SUBJECT

And try the subject heading:
Art Historiography

WorldCat  Find books on your topic from other libraries, then link to Interlibrary Loan to borrow them. If you use this option, make sure you allow enough time for the material to sent to you.

Bridget Bower, the College Archivist has created a guide to primary sources for additional help.

SearchTips

Whether you're writing a paper, or looking for artistic inspiration, below are a few subject headings useful for finding art-related material in our collection.
  • Art --study and teaching.
  • Drawing Or browse through the call number NC on the 5th Floor.
  • Painting This subject area narrows by country and time period.  For further help, talk to someone at the Research Help Desk
For Iconography, see: For Museum Studies, try:

Art by Region

In addition to the databases mentioned in this guide, there are a number art websites sorted by regions of the world:
Asia Art Archive
The Asia Art Archive has been collecting material related to contemporary Asian art since 2000 and holds one of the most comprehensive collections of material in the field..
Japan Foundation
The Japan Foundation carries out arts and cultural exchange programs to enhance mutual understanding among countries throughout the world
MOMA: Survey of Archives of Latino and Latin American Art
This website provides researchers with an overview of each archival collection surveyed and highlights their particular assets in order to facilitate access to materials and promote research on Latino art
Universes in Universe: Worlds of Art Covers visual arts from Africa, Asia, the Americas in the international art context.