Environmental Science: Biodiversity & Extinction

Biodiversity & Extinction

Biodiversity

Global Land Cover Facility The GLCF develops and distributes remotely sensed satellite data that explain land cover from the local to global scales and can be used for biodiversity assessment.

Issues in Biodiversity (actionbioscience.org)
Collection of essays on biodiversity and related topics by noted researchers, including several by Niles Eldredge.

Tree of Life
Browsable taxonomy of life on earth.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

Global Biodiversity Outlook A publication of the Convention on Biological Diversity that draws on "a range of information sources, including National Reports, biodiversity indicators information, scientific literature, and a study assessing biodiversity scenarios for the future".  The Outlook "summarizes the latest data on status and trends of biodiversity and draws conclusions for the future strategy of the Convention."
 

Endangered Species

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Ref QH77.N56 B43 2001
Six-volume set with detailed articles on endangered plants and animals of North America. Most entries include an illustration and references.

EDGE
Summaries with references of information on species that are deemed "evolutionarily distinct and globally endangered," focusing on mammals and amphibians.

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Status reports on endangered species worldwide.  Entries often feature extensive bibliographies.

PLANTS Database: Threatened & Endangered

United Nations Environment Programme: World Conservation Monitoring Center
A rich source of information about endangered species on a global scale.  See especially the interactive maps and the various species databases.

USGS Imperiled Species
Listing of USGS conservation projects for terrestrial animals.  See also the companion site for aquatic animals.

Invasive Species

Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health
Aggregator site for a number of invasive species websites hosted by the University of Georgia.  It is easily searchable and also contains a menu guiding visitors to common topic areas.  A rich library of images aids in the identification of invasive species.

Forest Health Protection (Northeast Area)
Materials from the U.S. Forest Service covering the northeast quadrant of the United States.  Many items relating to invasive species.  An especially good regional source for "big problem" invasives like the Hemlock Woolly Adelgid and Asian Longhorned Beetle.

Global Invasive Species Database
Detailed reports of invasive species of all kinds.  Includes a useful "100 of the Worst" list.

Invasive Plant Atlas of the United States
Contains detailed information on invasive plant species, generally with high quality photographs and current distribution maps.

National Institute of Invasive Species Science
Clearinghouse for data sets on invasive species.  Data can be browsed by location or species and viewed through Google Maps.

New York Invasive Species Information
Information on selected invasive plants and animals of New York State.

PLANTS Database: Invasive & Noxious Weeds
Federal and state noxious weed lists.

USGS Invasive Species Program
Listing of invasive species projects from the U.S. Geological Survey.

Contact Us

Picture: Lisabeth Chabot
College Librarian
(607) 274-3182

Extinction Countdown (Scientific American)

Loading ...