Biology

diatoms

Databases

PubMed
Citations to biomedical articles from MEDLINE and additional life science journals back to the 1950s; incl. links to sites with full-text articles and other related resources. Help with searching PubMed is available here.

Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine


Biological Abstracts

As of Spring 2012, Biological Abstracts has been very buggy, often returning far fewer results than it should. Please use with caution and supplement your searches with PubMed and Google Scholar.


AGRICOLA
Agricola is the catalog for the National Agricultural Library.  The article search can be used to find citations for resources in agricultural literature and allied disciplines, 1970- present.  Includes material relevant to landscape architecture, agricultural economics, animal science, food science, forestry, horticulture, natural resources, plant ecology, and plant pathology.


Journal Collections

BioMed Central
Full-text Biology and Medicine journals; Open Access. 100+ journals.

JSTOR
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.
PLoS: Public Library of Science
Open access journals published by a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians. PLoS journal cover biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, pathogenes, clinical trials, and tropical diseases.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.

Websites

Biodiversity Heritage Library
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

Reference Works

Dictionary of Biology
"This dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. It includes biographies of key scientists, and feature articles on important topics, such as bioinformatics, genetically modified organisms, microarray technology, and RNA interference. The dictionary’s chronologies chart developments in major fields including cell biology, genetics, microscopy, and vitamins."

Encyclopedia of Evolution
Ref QH360.2 .R53 2007
Signed articles by leading researchers on all things related to evolution. Also includes a number of introductory essays on special topics.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Searchable nomenclatural database for North American organisms of all kingdoms.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Ref Q121 .M3 2007
Illustrated encyclopedia of all the sciences.

Tree of Life
Browsable taxonomy of life on earth.

Search Engines

Science.gov
Research portal that allows searching across 38 scientific databases from the US government.

Scirus
A comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Links to scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web, including reports, peer-reviewed articles, and journals.

WorldWideScience.org
An online global gateway to science information from 28 national databases.

Scientific Biography

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Ref Q141 .B5285 2000
Two-volume biographical dictionary. Articles are brief, but often include lists of sources.



Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Ref Q141 .D5
Eighteen-volume encyclopedia containing detailed biographical essays on scientists and mathematicians. Articles are signed and generally include extensive bibliographies.

National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs
Biographical treatments of notable scientists.

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Four volume biographical encyclopedia of 20th century scientists. Articles include lists of works by and about the subjects.

Scientific Writing

Art of Scientific Writing (2nd ed.) by H.F. Ebel, C. Bliefert, & W.E. Russey
QD9.15 .E23 2004
Covers reports, dissertations, journal articles, and books.  Aimed specifically at chemists, but applicable to any scientific writing.

A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology (3rd. ed)
QH304 .K59 2009
Provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology, including numerous examples of faulty writing (along with revisions) to alert students to pitfalls when writing sections of a scientific paper. Most of the sections are designed to stand alone so that readers can look up a topic in the index and find the answer to their question.

Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! by Daniel Holtom & Elizabeth Fisher
T11 .H582 1999
"A step by step guide to planning and writing dissertations and theses for undergraduate and graduate science students."

Scientific Papers and Presentations by Martha Davis
T11 .D324 1997
Especially valuable for its discussion of presentations for scientific meetings and job interviews.

Scientists Must Write by Robert Barrass
T11 .B37 2002
"a guide to better writing for scientists, engineers and students"

Writing for Science by Robert Goldbort (e-book)
Includes a chapter on "undergraduate reports in the sciences."

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students (Penn State)
Discusses not only formal papers such as lab reports and theses, but also scientific correspondence and resumes.

Writing in the Sciences (UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center)
Focuses on grammar and usage.

Contact Us

Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Call Number Locations

       ITHACA COLLEGE LIBRARY
         CALL NUMBER LOCATION

           A-HN     4TH FLOOR
           HB-Z      5TH FLOOR

PLoS Biology: New Articles

Loading ...