BIOL 11600: Biology of Birds

Birds

conures

Article Databases

Biological Abstracts
Provides abstracts and bibliographic references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Includes some linked full text.

SORA, Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
An open access electronic journal archive of publications from major ornithological societies. Provides access to ornithological literature from over 120 years. Does NOT include articles written within the last five years.

JSTOR
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.
ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.

General Bird Reference Works

Birds of North America Online
Life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in North America. Features include images, sounds, data tables, conservation, management and priorities for future research.

Internet Bird Collection
Extensive collection of video and audio files of birds.

Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Eastern North America
QL681 .S564 2003
Popular, easy-to-use field guide to eastern birds.

North American Breeding Bird Atlas
Detailed distribution data on U. S. and Canadian bird species.

New Encyclopedia of Birds
"The New Encyclopedia of Birds is the definitive single-volume guide to birds of the world. Entries prepared by a team of renowned biologists and conservationists give a systematic account of every family, covering their form and function, distribution, diet, social behaviour, and breeding biology. With one-eighth of all bird species now under threat, special attention is given to environmental and conservation issues."

Handbook of the Birds of the World
Ref QL673 .H265 1992
Ten-volume encyclopedia of bird life worldwide

Biographical Resources

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Ref Q141 .B5285 2000
Two-volume biographical dictionary. Articles are brief, but often include lists of sources.

Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Ref Q141 .D5
Eighteen-volume encyclopedia containing detailed biographical essays on scientists and mathematicians. Articles are signed and generally include extensive bibliographies.

National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs
Biographical treatments of notable scientists.

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Four volume biographical encyclopedia of 20th century scientists. Articles include lists of works by and about the subjects.

Scientific Writing

Writing in the Sciences (UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center)
Focuses on grammar and usage.
Writing for Science by Robert Goldbort (e-book)
Includes a chapter on "undergraduate reports in the sciences."

A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology (3rd. ed)
QH304 .K59 2009
Provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology, including numerous examples of faulty writing (along with revisions) to alert students to pitfalls when writing sections of a scientific paper. Most of the sections are designed to stand alone so that readers can look up a topic in the index and find the answer to their question.

Contact Us

Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Call Number Locations

       ITHACA COLLEGE LIBRARY
         CALL NUMBER LOCATION

           A-HB     4TH FLOOR
           HC-Z      5TH FLOOR

Finding a topic

Sometimes finding a topic can be easy .  You already  heard a story on the news, read an article in the newspapaer or science blog or scholalry article.   However, this first step to conducting research can also be the most difficult part of the research process, especially if you have not selected one or more possible topics. 

Below is a list of places to look for science topics that may  allow you to brainstorm OR inspire you to get started with a topic of your won.

 Browse them to find stoires about the latest research that you may find of interest .

New York Times Science Section 
Well written reviews  of recently published resaerch

New York Times Health Section
Recent resaerch on health fitness, medicine and nutrition , among other topics.

Science News
Scientific research written in lay language.

Scientific American
All aspects of science and technology.

New Scientist
Science for the scientist, written with a humor and flair!
 
Adapted from Purdue University Libraries; Biological Sciences