Business Faculty Library Resources


By Subject/Disciplines -cover broad areas and sources
By Course/Class
By Course/Class
- ACCT-22500-Financial Accounting
- FINA-32100-Security Analysis and Portfolio Management
- FINA-41000-Real Time Portfolio Management
- GBUS-20300-Legal Environment of Business
- MGMT-31200-Leadership, Power and Politics in Organizations
- MKTG-48600-Senior Seminar in Marketing
- Best Practices for Research -includes a plagiarism tutorial, how to write and cite, using scholarly journals, etc.
- Business Ethics
- Company Research
- Competitive Analysis
- Economic Indicators
- Ethnic Group Marketing
- How to Research an Industry
- Private Company Research
- Researching New Products
- SWOT Analysis
- Types of Journals
These are both databases and task/assignment specific
Instructional Videos using Captivate and Jing
Using SEC documents_9-08-10.ppt
How to Find the S.I.C. and N.A.I.C.S. Codes for a Company
How to Find Companies with Similar S.I.C. Codes
Attributes of Trade, Scholarly and Popular Journals
Guide to Using the International Financial Statistics Database
How to Read an MRI Report
Instructional Videos using Captivate and Jing
- Finding the S.I.C. Code describing an Industry
- Finding the N.A.I.C.S. Code describing an Industry
- Using Lexis/Nexis Academic to Find the Primary S.I.C. Code for a Company
- Finding a List of Companies with the Same Primary S.I.C. Code
- SWOT Analysis Using Business Source Premier
- Using the Morningstar Database to Screen for Mutual Funds
Using SEC documents_9-08-10.ppt
How to Find the S.I.C. and N.A.I.C.S. Codes for a Company
How to Find Companies with Similar S.I.C. Codes
Attributes of Trade, Scholarly and Popular Journals
Guide to Using the International Financial Statistics Database
How to Read an MRI Report
ebrary
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
- Search by Title, Subject, Author or Keyword
- Listed and searchable in the IC Library Catalog.
- Can be saved to virtual bookshelf and highlighted, margin notes may be inserted, look up terms, definitions, etc.
- Can be saved to the chapter level and page levels, then placed in Blackboard or other classroom managment software. (Directions)
Select databases let you develop a search strategy which you only need to conduct once. The search can then be conducted on a frequency that you decide with only the latest updates sent to your computer.
- Can be single or multiple classes
- Ask that you be there. Students get more out of it.
- Attendance Mandatory
- Can be on specific resources or assignments
- Guides can be tailored to the specific class, topic, assignment
- Can advise if we have adequate resources to conduct research
Searchable list of questions found on the Library Home Page
Many are business related:
- Form 10-K Time deadlines to file from financial year end
- Form 10-Q. Unaudited quarterly financial report.
- Form 20-F - Definition
- Form 8-K definition.
- How do I find a company and its subsidiaries?
- How do I get company or industry ratios using StockVal?
- I am looking for information on business culture and business etiquette in foreign countries.
- I need to find consumer information about products--who uses them and how frequently.
- How do I find the current and historical budgets of the United States?
- I need to find the age breakdown and definitions of various age groups such as Baby Boomers, Millennials, Generation Y, etc.
- I need to find the distribution channel used for a particular product. Where can I go?
- International banks and statistical agencies.
- My professor has asked me to find the estimated earnings per share for a list of companies. Where do I go?
- Where can I find an association related to the topic of my paper or presentation?
- Where can I find current and historical Consumer Price Index data?
- Where can I find industry financial ratio information?