Business--Company Information

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
note: Also available via Special Business Interface
Business Source Premier (Special Business Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
note: Also available via Original Interface
ABI/INFORM Complete Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Search all three ABI/Inform databases together here or search one at a time below. ABI/INFORM Complete provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. The database covers finance, management, marketing, operations, accounting, business conditions, sports and business, entertainment, and case studies.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the  Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
New York Times (1980-present) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full-text of The New York Times from 1980 - present. For Historical coverage please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1995) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Includes the full text, full image, and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates. 
New York Times (1851-2009) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising.  Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.

Web Sites

Merger and Acquisition announcements via Yahoo
Announcements of mergers and acquistions searchable by month with news.
Yahoo! Finance Some full text available
Find business news, market news, indices, information on companies and industries including stock price, charts, etc.
Symbol Lookup from Yahoo Finance
Find symbols for companie and indices.
Bloomberg
Get news, stocks quotes, etc. for both domestic and international markets.
Business Ethics
A site by Sharon Stoerger MLS, MBA. This is a compilation of websites having to do with ethics and business. Includes case studies, articles, corporate codes of ethics, etc.
Business Journalism.org : tutorials Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Combination of web & audio files provides a primer to a variety of topics such as how to cover: the Business of Health Care, Private Companies, the Business of Sports, S.E.C. filings, Financial Statements, use & interpretation of numbers and the Economy, etc.

Blogs

10-Q Detective
Investors often overlook SEC filings, and it is the job of the 10Q Detective to dig through businesses’ 8-K and 10-Q SEC filings, looking for financial statement ‘soft spots,(depreciation policies, warranty reserves, and restructuring charges, etc.) that may materially impact Quality of Earnings.

Directories

LexisNexis corporate affiliations
Print Location: REF HG4057 .I59
8 volumes. Covers both public and private companies in the U.S. as well as major international companies. Lists subsidiaries, joint ventures, etc. Useful for example to find out if a company has foreign offices.
ThomasNet Some full text available
Online register of US manufacturers and distributors. Search by product, service, company name, or brand. Links to thousands of online suppliers catalogs and web site links; over 2 million line items available for secure online ordering; and, over 1 million downloadable CAD drawings.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
To find both publicly traded and private companies, choose "Companies," then "Company Dossier." There are other options as well such as searching by NAICS and SIC codes.

Government Information

Regulations.gov Some full text available
Government website for finding regulations issued by U.S. government agencies.
NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)

Uses a 6 digit numbering system to classify industries that either make a product or offer a service (such as banks)in North America. You can search the database by code or by text describing the industry. These codes can be used to generate a list of companies in an industry and to compare them using other directories found both print or online. You may find the codes and an explanation of them here:  http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/


S.I.C. codes (Standard Industrial Classification)

A series of 4-digit codes used to help describe what a company does and to assign it to a specific industry or industries.


Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Some full text available
Information on patents, trademarks, and copyright.

Handbooks & Guides

Business Plan Database (SBA) Some full text available
Sample business plans for a variety of business types. Developed by the Small Business Administration.
Business Plans Handbook
Print Location: Ref. HD62.7 .B865 Some full text available
Sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries.

Business Journalism.org : tutorials Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Combination of web & audio files provides a primer to a variety of topics such as how to cover: the Business of Health Care, Private Companies, the Business of Sports, S.E.C. filings, Financial Statements, use & interpretation of numbers and the Economy, etc.

Newswires

IPO's (Initial Public Offerings) News from Yahoo
News about initial public offerings.

SEC Filings from Yahoo
Announcements of SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) filings updated daily from Yahoo.

Statistics/Data

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Yahoo Finance-Historical Quotes Some full text available
Historical stock quotes for companies and indicies. Some as far back as 1962.
SEC Info Some full text available
Securities Information from the SEC EDGAR database. Search by Name, Industry, Business, SIC Code, Area Code,Topic, CIK, Accession Number, File Number, Date, ZIP. You may have to join but membership is free.
Morningstar.com Restricted Resource Some full text available
Stock and mutual fund research resource. Gives independent analysis and recommendations. Screening capability.
Value Line Investment Survey Restricted Resource Some full text available
Weekly stock reports about approximately 1,700 companies and 98 industries. Each company report contains a timeliness, safety, and technical ranking, current stock performance, beta, historical data for the previous 15 years, financial and stock price forecasts, and an analyst's written commentary.  Online: current quarter only.
BigCharts.com Some full text available
Investment research web site - provides access to interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis, intraday stock screeners, as well as market news & commentary.

Annual Reports Service Some full text available
A service of Wall Street Journal Online. Download or request hardcopy annual reports. Search rnby industry, company name/ticker symbol, or exchange.rn
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Print Location: REF HC106.6 S74 Some full text available
Coverage of major industries in the U.S.,quarterly. Statistics, suggested sources, overviews including trends, major players, regulatory issues, etc. Supplemented by Monthly Investment Review. Latest two years in REFERENCE. Older editions in stacks.
EDGAR Database (Securities and Exchange Commission) Some full text available
Official SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) documents such as Form 10-K, 10-Q, Proxy statements, registration statements, and merger and acquisition documents.

*Be sure to look at the DEF14A (Proxy) statements and the Management Discussion and Analysis sections of Form 10-k, Form 10-Q for insights into management.

Transcripts

Seeking Alpha Some full text available
Corporate Earnings call transcripts. These are the transcripts from quarterly and yearly earnings announcements are done by corporate officers to various finanical analysts.

Contact Us

Picture: Jim Bondra
Business Librarian
(607) 274-1962