Business--International

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
note: Also available via Special Business Interface
ABI/INFORM Complete Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Search all three ABI/Inform databases together here or search one at a time below. ABI/INFORM Complete provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. The database covers finance, management, marketing, operations, accounting, business conditions, sports and business, entertainment, and case studies.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
New York Times (1980-present) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full-text of The New York Times from 1980 - present. For Historical coverage please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
Newspaper Source Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. Abstracting and indexing for all titles and full text for the Christian Science Monitor begins 1/1/95. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Additional data provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers. Additional data also provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service: full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers. Total coverage includes over 500,000 articles.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the  Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.

Web Sites

Country Profiles from QFinance
The country profiles are to help you quickly ascertain the current state of a particular economy. Data is from official government sources as well as from respected organizations such as the World Bank, the OECD, and the IMF. The countries profiled include EU, OECD, and OPEC members, plus composites of MSCI, emerging markets, and MENA indices. Also included offshore banking centers and the major global financial centers.

Doing Business - The World Bank Group
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

Governments on the World Wide Web
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995.
Central Bank lists from Bank for International Settlements
Link to Central Banks for countries around the world. Useful for getting statistics, exchange rate information and news and policy briefings.
Thunderbird University Global Gateway
Lists Internet sites that provide country information, coverage of business topics, government information, and information providers/services
BBC News: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives. Contain information on the different types of press available in the country.
Global Edge
Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University (MSU-CIBER), It is web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
National Association for Business Economics-Links
This set of links is a guide to useful and interesting information in the field of business economics. Includes micro & macro data, international links, Finance news, Federal Reserve, economic blogs and more.
Bloomberg
Get news, stocks quotes, etc. for both domestic and international markets.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Europa world year book
Print Location: REF DESK JA 51 E85
Gives descriptive information and overviews on countries around the world. Includes history, politics, economics, education, media (magazines, television, radio, newspapers), etc. Latest at REF DESK. Older editions in General Stacks.

Directories

LexisNexis corporate affiliations
Print Location: REF HG4057 .I59
8 volumes. Covers both public and private companies in the U.S. as well as major international companies. Lists subsidiaries, joint ventures, etc. Useful for example to find out if a company has foreign offices.

Encyclopedias

Exporters' encyclopaedia
Print Location: REF HF3011 .E9
Lists countries from around the world. Give information such as trade practices, rules/regulations, embassy's, boards of trade, transportation, communications, etc. Helpful to any one looking at exporting to a country or doing business internationally.

Government Information

Background Notes -U.S. Department of State
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.

Eurostat Some full text available
Statistical data for European Union members.
Official Statistics on the Web (OFFSTATS) Some full text available
Free statistics from official sources, including current data and time series for regions and topic categories. Many data sets are downloadable as text or spreadsheet files.
Trade Statistics from Business.gov
Here you will find statistics on U.S. trade and exports.

TradeStats Express
Get the latest annual and quarterly trade data.  U.S. merchandise exports, imports and trade balances. Also state and regional exports of merchandise. Find trading partner countries and specific exports/imports between that country and the U. S. Two parts: National Trade Data and State Export Data


International Data Base (IDB). U.S. Census Bureau
The International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
International Trade Administration. United States Department of Commerce
Office of Trade and Industry Information. Link to statistics and information about industry, country and trade data including overviews, tarriffs, exports, etc.

Interactive Tariff and Trade Dataweb. U.S. International Trade Commission
U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information are available back to 1989.
Europa : European Union On-Line
Gateway to European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Go to the Documents tab to connect to EUR-LEX (E.U. Law), the Bulletin of the E.U., and other agency materials.
NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)

Uses a 6 digit numbering system to classify industries that either make a product or offer a service (such as banks)in North America. You can search the database by code or by text describing the industry. These codes can be used to generate a list of companies in an industry and to compare them using other directories found both print or online. You may find the codes and an explanation of them here:  http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/


SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
Search by keyword or 2,3 or 4 digit number to get a description of an industy and the code assigned to it. These codes allow one to find similar companies in an industry (either service or manufacturing) and to compare them.

Handbooks & Guides

Country Commercial Guides Some full text available
The U.S. Commercial Service's Market Research Library contains more than 290 country-specific "Doing Business In" market reports, authored by specialists working in overseas posts.
International Business Culture and Etiquette
Guides to a wide variety of countries from Executive Planet. Such things as business dress, meetings, gifts, gestures, behavior, protocol etc. are discussed.
Country Guides from Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Some full text available
Deloitte Country Guides, featuring online content for 60 countries in a dynamic new web site designed to provide convenient, searchable information and insights on tax and business issues in key trading nations. Business investors, human resource, tax and financial executives, and international assignees alike will find analyses that will enhance their understanding of operating conditions, regulations and issues in key countries around the world. These guides have been written in co-operation with The Economist Intelligence Unit, NA, Inc.
Doing Business by the World Bank
Gives information on conducting and setting up businesses in over 100 countries. Covers such thins as hiring/firing workers, ownership, registering property, getting credit, etc.
Executive Planet Some full text available
Focusing on country-specific business customs and etiquette, features information on negotiating, business entertaining, and communication across cultural barriers in a business environment. Along with basic cross-cultural business protocol, it also provides information regarding business dress, international business culture, gift-giving, and more in a series of country profiles.

Statistics/Data

Economy Watch -Economic Statistics/Indicators database
Worldwide, by country, economic region and geographical region
from 1980 to 2016 forecasts. Over 50 indicators from our database of 1,000 are currently display by Econ Stats.

Data Sources: IMF, World Bank, UN, OECD, CIA World Factbook, Internet World Statistics, The Heritage Foundation and Transparency International


Eurostat Some full text available
Statistical data for European Union members.
GeoHive
A site with all kinds of statistics. The main component is population statistics: historical, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In addition, some economical statistics and an up-to-date list of all known national statistical agencies.


IMF World Economic Outlook Reports
A Survey by the IMF staff usually published twice a year. It presents IMF staff economists' analyses of global economic developments during the near and medium term. Chapters give an overview as well as more detailed analysis of the world economy; consider issues affecting industrial countries, developing countries, and economies in transition to market; and address topics of pressing current interest. Annexes, boxes, charts, and an extensive statistical appendix augment the text.
See also, the World Economic Databases
OECD Factbook Some full text available
OECD Factbook 2010 is a comprehensive and dynamic statistical annual from the OECD. More than 100 indicators cover a wide range of areas: population, economic production, foreign trade and investment, energy, labour force, information and communications, public finances, innovation, the environment, foreign aid, agriculture, taxation, education, health and quality of life.  Data are provided for all OECD member countries with area totals, and in some cases, for selected non-member economies.

World Bank: Data
Access to more than 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development indicators for over 200 countries, with some of the data going back 50 years. Search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.  Includes World Development Indicators and Global Finance Indicators as well as detailed country profiles. 
World Economic Forum-Reports
The World Economic Forum publishes a comprehensive series of reports which examine in detail the broad range of global issues it seeks to address with stakeholders as part of its mission of improving the state of the world. Besides reports on its key events and standalone publications such as the Global Competitiveness Report, the Global Risks Report and the Global Gender Gap Report, the Forum produces landmark titles covering the environment, education, individual industries and technologies. 
World Trade Organization-International Trade & Tariff Data
International trade and market access data.The WTO's databases and publications provide extensive access to trade and tariff data.
EDGAR Database (Securities and Exchange Commission) Some full text available
Official SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) documents such as Form 10-K, 10-Q, Proxy statements, registration statements, and merger and acquisition documents.

*Be sure to look at the DEF14A (Proxy) statements and the Management Discussion and Analysis sections of Form 10-k, Form 10-Q for insights into management.

Direction of trade statistics yearbook
Print Location: REF HF91 .I65 Some full text available
Covers import and export statistics between countries. Latest 2 years in Reference. Older editions in stacks.
International financial statistics
Print Location: REF HG3881 .I626
Published monthly by the International Monetary Fund. Gives a wide variety of ecomomic and financial statistics on countries around the world. Latest two years. Cummulated in the International Financial Statistics Yearbook
International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Time series data for major economic aggregates as well as current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, currency, interest rates, prices, production, trade, government accounts, GDP, and national accounts.
note: Access is limited to five simultaneous users 
Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce
Covers a wide variety of economic indicators at the national, international, regional and industry levels, including: Gross Domestic Product(GDP), Personal income, Balance of Trade, and an overview of the U.S. Economy.
Direction of trade statistics quarterly
Print Location: PER HF91 .I652 Some full text available
Covers import and export statistics between countries. Quarterly.
Economic Data - FRED II-Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Federal Reserve Economic data. A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. With FRED® II you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.

There is now a FRED App – available free for iOS and Android Devices.  The FRED app lets you access the full range of economic data.

Federal Reserve Board -Statistical Releases Some full text available
Various statistical releases such as: foreign exchange rates, interest rates, commercial paper, banks, flow of funds, etc. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual statistics both current and historical
International financial statistics yearbook
Print Location: REF HG3881 .I6265
Gives a wide variety of economic and financial statistics for countries including GDP, money rates, CPI, etc. Latest 10 years.
Morningstar.com Restricted Resource Some full text available
Stock and mutual fund research resource. Gives independent analysis and recommendations. Screening capability.
Official Statistics on the Web (OFFSTATS) Some full text available
Free statistics from official sources, including current data and time series for regions and topic categories. Many data sets are downloadable as text or spreadsheet files.
NationMaster
A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
Economagic
Gives all sorts of economic time series data which can then be copied and put into Ms-Excel.
Value Line Investment Survey Restricted Resource Some full text available
Weekly stock reports about approximately 1,700 companies and 98 industries. Each company report contains a timeliness, safety, and technical ranking, current stock performance, beta, historical data for the previous 15 years, financial and stock price forecasts, and an analyst's written commentary.  Online: current quarter only.
Yahoo Finance-Historical Quotes Some full text available
Historical stock quotes for companies and indicies. Some as far back as 1962.