Chemistry

Chemistry

                                             

Best Bets

American Chemical Society Publications
Journals and ebooks that cover analytical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, biochemistry/medicinal chemistry, environmental sciences, chemical engineering and computer science, food science and technology, physical chemistry and polymer and materials sciences. 

SciFinder  Provides access to single- and multi-step reactions, synthetic preparations, predicted and experimental properties, the CAS REGISTRYSM database, patent records, and sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases. Note: Users need to register and create an account.  

See also the 
SCiFinder Resource on Demand tutorial on the Sci Finder Training Page.  These tutorials explain the basic search techniques in SCiFinder: searching for references, substances, or reactions.

Biological Abstracts
Provides abstracts and bibliographic references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Includes some linked full text.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.

Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine


Google Scholar
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases. Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.

ChemWeb.com
Provides access to abstracts, papers, books, conferences, news, and Chemistry forums. (Registration required)

WorldWideScience.org
An online global gateway to science information from 28 national databases.

Science.gov
Research portal that allows searching across 38 scientific databases from the US government.

CAS Source Index (CASSI)
Database of journal and series titles indexed by CAS since 1907.  Especially useful for de-coding journal abbreviations.
 

General Reference

ChemEd DL (Chemical Education Digital Library)
Very extensive site covering (mostly) undergraduate level chemistry.  While intended primarily for educators, ChemEd DL can serve as a valuable reference for students as well.

Handbook of Organic Chemistry
Ref QD251.2 .B4813 1996
Comprehensive guide to all things organic.

Kent and Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology
Ref TP145 .R53 2007
Features specialized chapters on a host of topics in practical chemistry, from green chemistry to the nuclear industry.

Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Ref TP9 .K54 2007
Fifth edition of this definitive reference for applied chemistry.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Ref Q121 .M3 2007
Illustrated encyclopedia of all the sciences.

Vocabulary and Concepts of Organic Chemistry
Ref QD291 .V63 2005
Excellent reference work on organic chemistry. Contains chapters not only on the different classes of organic and organometallic compounds, but also on methods in organic chemistry such as separation techniques and spectroscopy.

Property Data

ChemidPlus
A resource from the National Library of Medicine that provides access to structure and nomenclature information for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases. The database contains over 380,000 chemical records, of which over 263,000 include chemical structures.

Comprehensive Organic Name Reactions and Reagents
Ref QD77 .W36 2009
Three volume encyclopedia of named reactions in organic chemistry.  Entries are generally 3-5 pages and include lists of references.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Ref QD65 .H3
Immense compendium of chemical and physical data.

Handbook of Organic Compounds
Ref QC462.85 .H36 2001
Title continues: "NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-Vis Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants"  3-volume set of spectral data and techniques.

ChemSpider
Chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Household Products Database
Health & Safety Information on Household Products from the National Library of Medicine. Information is taken from a variety of publicly available sources, including brand-specific labels and Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) prepared by manufacturers.

Organic Syntheses
Database of organic reactions that can be searched by keyword or structure (with a ChemDraw plugin).  Also features tables of contents for the print volumes of Organic Syntheses, for the easy location of known citations.

PubChem
Free database of biologically active chemical compounds from NCBI. Searching help is available here.

Periodic Table
Interactive periodic table from Chemicool.
Interactive periodic table developed by David D. Hsu of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  It provide infomration about the elements properties, discovery, uses, appearances, characteristics and more.

Periodic Table Live
Interactive periodic table from the ChemEd Digital Library.  Provides extensive historical, physical, and atomic data about each element.

The Periodic Table of Videos.
This website was created by the University of Nottingham, oofers short videos about the elements and other chemistry topics.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Ref T55.3.H3 L494 2004
Three volume handbook of toxicological data of common chemicals.

Sigma-Aldrich
A commercial chemical supplier whose website offers spectral and other property data on their products.

Toxnet
Toxicology data network from the National Library of Medicine. Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. The most complete toxicology information is often found in the entries from the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB).

Scientific Biography

African American Women Chemists
QD21 .B69 2012

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Ref Q141 .B5285 2000
Two-volume biographical dictionary. Articles are brief, but often include lists of sources.



Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Ref Q141 .D5
Eighteen-volume encyclopedia containing detailed biographical essays on scientists and mathematicians. Articles are signed and generally include extensive bibliographies.

National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs
Biographical treatments of notable scientists.

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Four volume biographical encyclopedia of 20th century scientists. Articles include lists of works by and about the subjects.

Scientific Writing

Art of Scientific Writing (2nd ed.) by H.F. Ebel, C. Bliefert, & W.E. Russey
QD9.15 .E23 2004
Covers reports, dissertations, journal articles, and books.  Aimed specifically at chemists, but applicable to any scientific writing.

Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! by Daniel Holtom & Elizabeth Fisher
T11 .H582 1999
"A step by step guide to planning and writing dissertations and theses for undergraduate and graduate science students."

Scientific Papers and Presentations by Martha Davis
T11 .D324 1997
Especially valuable for its discussion of presentations for scientific meetings and job interviews.

Scientists Must Write by Robert Barrass
T11 .B37 2002
"a guide to better writing for scientists, engineers and students"

Writing for Science by Robert Goldbort (e-book)
Includes a chapter on "undergraduate reports in the sciences."

Writing Science: How to Write Papers That Get Cited and Proposals That Get Funded by Joshua Schimel
T 11. S35 2012

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students (Penn State)
Discusses not only formal papers such as lab reports and theses, but also scientific correspondence and resumes.

Writing in the Sciences (UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center)
Focuses on grammar and usage.

Contact Us

Picture: Lisabeth Chabot
College Librarian
(607) 274-3182

ACS Style Guide

The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information. American Chemical Association, 3rd ed., c2006.

Science Direct Top 5 Articles

Loading ...

Periodic Table

Interactive Periodic Table
This periodic table offers a “what’s this?” approach to exploring the chemical elements. It includes graphical highlights of various relationships among the elements. Courtesy of W. H. Freeman, publisher of Chemistry in the Community and CADRE design.