Communication Management & Design

Best Bets: Databases

Note:  The "Article QuickSearch" in the dashboard (see right column) searches across all EBSCO scholarly datbases including:  CMMC, BSP, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, SocIndex, PsycInfo, and Academic Search Premier.  I reccommend it as a starting place.  For more search control using field codes and databases thesaurus, search the databases one at a time.

Communications
  1. Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)   Top index to the field of communications. Trade and scholarly.  EBSCO interface.
  2. Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection  Twelve fulltext journals in the field of communications by the publisher SAGE
Business
  1. Business Source Premier (Original Interface)  (BSP) Top index to business information. Trade and scholary.  EBSCO interface.
  2. ABI/INFORM Complete   Also a good index to business information.  ProQuest interface.
  3. ScienceDirect   Mainly science information but contains some strong public relations titles.
  4. Business Insights: Essentials   Good for searching company and industry information.  Compares to the Company Dossier in LexisNexis. 
  5. Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records
    The Hoover's Company Records - In-Depth Records Database contains information for more than 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide.  In-Depth Records include overviews and histories, up to 10 years of key financial and employment data, lists of products and key competitors, names of key officers, addresses, and phone and fax numbers.
  6. Social Science Research Network (SSRN)  Working papers in business, law, economics, etc. Some fulltext.
  7. Prendismo Video Clip Collection
    16,000 video clips from 750 experts. These 2-minute video clips cover 200 business topics, such as ethics, finance, innovation, sales, strategy, women, and leadership. Provided by the Ithaca College School of Business. No off-campus access. There is a fee to download a clip.
Social Sciences
  1. ERIC (Ebsco interface)   Top index for education research.
  2. Professional Development Collection   Smaller index that focuses on professional education.
  3. SocINDEX with Full Text  Top index for sociology research.
  4. PsycINFO  Top index for pscyhology research.
General
Any of the databases below are good to search on any topic.
  1. Academic Search Premier   Multidisciplinary database on an EBSCO interface.
  2. ProQuest Research Library  Multidisciplinary database on a ProQuest interface.
  3. Academic OneFile  Multidisciplinary database on a GALE interface.
  4. ebrary   Multidisciplinary database of full-text ebooks.
News
  1. LexisNexis Academic    Top database for current news.
  2. Gannett Newsstand Complete
    Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal (Full-text for 2002 - present), Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).

Reference: General Communication Studies

General Reference in Communication Studies
  • Encyclopedia of communication theory
    REF P87.5 .E496 2009
    SAGE, 2009.
  • Communication Abstracts v. 3 (1980) - v. 27 (2004) PER P87 .C59733
    A bibliography of communication-related articles and books, arranged by subject category in each bimonthly issue. Lacks volume 4. No longer received.  If you don't find what you need in the Communication and Mass Media Complete database, you could check this print index.
  • Communication research measures: a sourcebook REF P91.3 .C62 2004
    Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004.
  • Communication research measures II: a sourcebook
    New York, NY : Routledge, 2009. ON ORDER June 2013
  • Communication Yearbook P87 .C629
    Published by the International Communication Association. Approximately 25 state of the art review essays on research and theory from each of the ICA's divisions and research groups.
  • A Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
    Bloomsbury Academic, 2012, 8th ed.
  • Dictionary of the Social Sciences
    The over 1,800 entries in this dictionary contains definitions and biographies of major figures. Entries span from classic to modern theories and include major issues and methodologies.
  • Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
    Scholarly overview of international media topics. Covers all media types (advertising, books, Internet, etc.) & media outlets (radio, television, etc.). Provides history, theory, and topical issues such as ethics, reporting of disasters, and copyright.
  • The handbook of communication ethics
    P94 .H353 2011
     Cheney, May & Munshi. New York: Routledge, 2011.
  • International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies
    REF HD31 .I564 2008
    Sage Publications, 2008. 
  • SAGE Handbook of Media Studies
    REF P90 .S18 2004
    Covers articles on theory and evidence in the field of media studies. Pt I. Prolegomena; Pt. II. Audiences, Users, and Effects; Pt. III. Economy and Power; Pt. IV. Specific Areas of Media Research
  • The SAGE handbook of media processes and effects
    P94 .S24 2009
     Nabi & Oliver. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
  • TeachingWithData.org : Pathway to Quantitative Literacy in the Social Sciences
    Teaching and learning resources (such as student exercises) for quatitative literacy in the social sciences.

Communication Management

Change Management, Crisis Management, Coaching, Employee RelationsLeadership, Performance Improvement, Strategy

Books
​​Journals Websites
  • Academy of Management (AOM)
    Organization of scholars studying management and organizations. They publish four scholarly journals: the Academy of Management Learning and Education (AMLE), the Academy of Management Journal (AMJ), the Academy of Management Review (AMR); and the Academy of Management Perspectives (AMP).
  • American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
    United States institute that creates and promulagetes guidelines for businesses in a variety of sectors.
  • CEO Talk Radio
    Streams on YouTube. "CEO Talk Radio provides senior executives with practical advice on enhancing the competitiveness, profitability and market capitalization of their companies. Guests include leading CEOs, CFOs, authors, academics and other renowned management  thinkers. Each episode is produced and hosted by Robert Barnwell, a professor, speaker and advisor on strategic management practices of large multinational corporations."
  • Changing how you manage and communicate change: focusing on the human side of change.
    Ely : IT Governance Pub., 2009.
  • Harvard Business Publishing
    Non-for-profit organization whose mission is to improve the practice of management and its impact in a changing world. Publications are geared two three markets: academic, enterprise and individual managers. Topical tabs include: leadership, innovation, strategy, you at work, communications (in organizations, strategy, crisis communication, interpersonal, management, negotiations, and public relations), finance and accounting, global business, organizational development, sales and marketing, and technology and operations.
  • International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
    International developer and publisher of international standards. 
  • Improvisations : An MIT Sloan Management Review blog about innovation
    An MIT Sloan Management Review blog about innovation
  • Investopedia
    Online guide to basic information about investment.  The video page is especially useful for understanding investment concepts.
  • Institute for the Study of Coherence and Emergence (ISCE Group)
    Provides research, events, and publications on the application of complexity thinking in organizational management.
  • International Special Events Society
    Organization that educates and sets standards for special events professionals.
  • Internet Intelligence Index by Fuld & Company
    Fuld & Company is a consulting firm that specializes in competitive intelligence. They developed this useful portal to business and industry resources.
  • Financial Times Management Blog (FT.com/managementblog)
    Discussion form for business leaders and senior managers led by Stefan Stern.
  • Knowledge@Wharton
    An online business journal from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.   Covers the following topics: Finance and Investment, Leadership and Change, Executive Education, Marketing, Insurance and Pensions, Health Economics, Strategic Management, Real Estate, Law and Public Policy, Human Resources, Business Ethics, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Operations Management, and Managing Technology.  Visitors can subscribe to updates.
  • On Leadership (Washington Post)
    Page of the Washington Post online that is collates news that concern leadership.
  • Rutgers Accounting Web
    Accounting research website that covers: associations, SEC documents, annual reports, dictionaries, encyclopedias and standards. 
  • Work Matters (Robert Sutton)
    Prof. of Management Science & Engineering at the Stanford Engineering School who studies the connection between managerial knowledge and organizational performance.
Videos:
  • Bloomberg Businessweek Videos
    Interviews with business leaders about technology, investment, management, etc.  Users can create a playlist.  Videos can be browsed or searched.
  • FORA.tv
    Streaming video of lectures in politics, business, technology, the world, and culture, from academics, think tanks, authors, politicians, etc.  Some videos are free and some are pay-per-view.
  • Prendismo Video Clip Collection
    16,000 video clips from 750 experts. These 2-minute video clips cover 200 business topics, such as ethics, finance, innovation, sales, strategy, women, and leadership. Provided by the Ithaca College School of Business. No off-campus access. There is a fee to download a clip.
Research Guide:

Events Management

Organizational Communications

Corporate and Nonprofit, Corporate Social Responsibility, International and Intercultural, Internal and External Communication, Theory

Reference
  • Gower handbook of internal communication
    Ashgate Pub. Company, 2009.
  • IABC handbook of organizational communication : a guide to internal communication, public relations, marketing, and leadership
    HD49 .H35 2010
    Jossey-Bass, 2011.
  • Handbook of communication and corporate social responsibility
    HD60 .H334 2011
    Edited by Øyvind Ihlen, Jennifer L. Bartlett, and Steve May. Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
  • The handbook of critical intercultural communication
    HM1211 .H34 2010
    Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2010. 
  • The handbook of intergroup communication
    HM716 .H36 2012
    Giles (ed.).  New York : Routledge, 2012.
  • Managing the communication function : a blueprint for organizational success
    HD58.821 .G39 2007
    San Francisco, CA : IABC, c2007. Dr. Gayeski is Dean of the Park School.
  • Making the connections : using internal communication to turn strategy into action
    Gower, 2008.  2nd ed.
  • Nonprofit Almanac
    REF HD2769.2 .U6 N64 2008

    Urban Institute Press, 2008.  Provides statistics on the nonprofit sector. Chapters: 1. The Nonprofit sector and its place in the national economy ; 2. Wage and employment trends ; 3. Trends in private giving and volunteering ; 4. Financial Trends ; 5. The Size, scope, and finances of public charities.  Includes a glossary and index.

  • Oxford handbook of corporate reputation
    HD59.2 .O94 2012
    Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2012.
Books Journals Websites Videos
  • Pop!Tech Pop!Casts
    Pop!Tech is a conference of big thinkers on science, technology & the future of ideas. Subscribe to Pop!Cast videos or audio Pop!Casts via iTunes.
Research Guide:

Instructional Design & Technology

Reference:
  • Educational Media and Technology Yearbook
    General Stacks LB1028.3 .E37
    Educational Media and Technology Yearbook describes current developments and trends in the field of instructional technology. Explores the ways in which media and technology are currently being used to enable or enhance education. Latest edition in Reference. Others in General Stacks.
  • Handbook of research on educational communications and technology
    General Stacks LB1028.3 .H355 2008
    New York : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2008. 3rd ed.  9/2013 4th ed. on order
  • Handbook of visual languages for instructional design: theories and practices
    General Stacks LB1028.38 .H36 2008
    Information Science Reference, 2008. Luca Botturi and Todd S. Stubbs.
  • What video games have to teach us about learning and literacy
    by James Paul Gee. Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
Books: Journals Websites
  • ADA Home Page (United States Department of Justice)
    The Americans with Disabilities Act page by the Department of Justice provides tabs on the following interest areas: Design Standards, Information Line, Technical Assistance Program, Enforcement, Code Certification, Business Connection, Status Reports, New or Proposed Regulation, Mediation Program, and Publications.  You can sign up to receive email updates. 
  • American Society for Training & Development (ASTD)
    Founded in 1943, the ASTD is a worldwide organization dedicated to workplace learning and performance.  They hold conferences and publish T+D Magazine.
  • Annenberg Learner - Teacher Resources
    Educational, online videos in many subjects. Select from the list and then look for the VoD (Video On Demand) icon for the free content. Free registration required.
  • Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT)
    Promotes scholarship and best practices in the study and application of educational technology.
  • Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE)
    This international organization founded in 1981 holds conferences and provides publications pertaining to educational uses of information technology.
  • Coursera
    Free "massively open online courses" (MOOCs) from top instutitions such as Princeton, Stanford, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, University of California at Berkeley and the University of Pennsylvania. None of the courses are for credit but certificates may be issued.
  • Educause
    Nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of higher education through information technology.
  • Kids.gov
    Links to government learning sites for kids including games.  There are tabs for grades K-5, grades 6-8, and for educators.
  • Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT)
    Peer reviewed online materials for teaching and learning. Indexes, defines, and links to online materials on the web.
  • National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
    Source for data, including surveys and topical reports, on education in the United States and other nations. Includes the Digest of Education Statistics.
  • New Media Consortium
    Nonprofit consortium of organizations that explore media and new technologies.
  • Society for Applied Learning Technology (SALT)
    Professional organization that provides conferences and publications to those utilizing educational technology.
  • Spotlight : Digital Media and Learning
    Blog by the MacArthur foundation that focuses on digital media and learning.
  • TED : Ideas worth spreading
    Nonprofit that sponsors a conference that explores Technololgy, Entertainment, and Design. The annual TED prize offers "One Wish to Change the World" in addition to a monetary award.  The organization also sponsors TED Talks (disemminating "Ideas worth spreading" online).
  • ZDNet
    News, blogs, white papers, and reviews about computers and online technology.
Videos
  • LearnersTV
    Provides free lectures on a variety of subjects.

Political Communication

Reference:
  • Encyclopedia of media and politics
    REF P95.82 .U6 E47 2007
    CQ Press, 2007.
  • Encyclopedia of political communication
    REF JA85 .E65 2008
    Kaid & Holtz-Bacha (eds.). Sage Publication, 2008.
  • Propaganda and mass persuasion : a historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present REF HM1231 .C85 2003
    ABC-CLIO, 2003.
  • The SAGE handbook of political communication
    JA85 .S24 2012
    Semetko and Scammell (eds.). Los Angeles ; London : SAGE, 2012.
Books: Journals: Websites: Videos:

Visual Design

Books: Journals: Websites:
  • American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA)
    The professional association of design.
  • IDEAlliance
    The International Digital Enterprise Alliance is a non-profit organization that creates standards and best practices for the delivery of multimedia content.
  • Information Aesthetics
    Blog of the intersection between creative design and information visualization. One especially good example is "5 years of Infosthetics": http://moritz.stefaner.eu/projects/5yrs-infosthetics/
  • International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA)
    From the website: "The International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA) is an association of educators in partnership with industry, dedicated to sharing theories, principles, techniques and processes relating to graphic communications and imaging technology."  They publish the Visual Communications Journal.
  • Logo Design Love
    Blog devoted to logos by David Airey, a self-employed graphic designer.
  • Nielsen Norman Group (NN/g)
    Based in Fremont, CA, the NN/g helps companies design human-centered products. Their Publications page includes reports and whitepapers.
  • Trademarkia
    Non-governmental free search engine for finding United States federally registered trademarks. 
  • Web Style Guide
    Covers web site functionality, accessibility, Cascading Style Sheets, and flexible page design. Additional sections on information architecture, site maintenance, and multimedia design, including site examples that reflect current best practices.
  • TED : Ideas worth spreading
    Nonprofit that sponsors a conference that explores Technololgy, Entertainment, and Design. The annual TED prize offers "One Wish to Change the World" in addition to a monetary award.  The organization also sponsors TED Talks (disemminating "Ideas worth spreading" online).
  • Visual.ly
    Collaborative storytelling platform for distributing visual content.

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

LexisNexis: Business information

LexisNexis maintains a wiki expalining how to search for business information.

To search for news on your company or industry, they recommend, "..., use the Advanced Options section of the main search form. There, use the "Add Index Terms" feature to access the SmartIndexing terms for industries and specific companies. Using index terms is far more accurate than doing a free text search on the company name. In the People index, you will find terms for many high-profile corporate executives, allowing you to search for stories on them as well."

ComLaw News

Loading ...

Writing & Presentation Resources

Writing Presentations
Find books and articles, click on the subject:
  • Business presentations.
  • Visit the Digital Media Lab on the 3rd floor of the library.  It includes a Presentation Room that features a 60" plasma screen where students can test out their presentations.

Journals: Browse

It is preferable to search one of the databases listed to the right when seeking information. You can browse titles to gain a sense of the type of resources available for these areas:

Statistics

  • Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
    Organization of academic and research organizations that maintains a data repository.  Some data is for members only.
  • NationMaster
    A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
  • Statemaster.com
    Compilation of data from several sources. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of state statistics and comparisons.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition.  The 2013 edition forward are available at the IC reference desk in print.

IABC News

Loading ...

Melcrum News

Loading ...

Ragan News

Loading ...

Associations & Social Networks