Communication Graduates: Basic Skills

Welcome Graduate Students!

Each student at Ithaca College has a “library liaison” that specializes in a subject area. As liaison to the Park School, I hope to assist you with you information needs. If you have any questions about access to information through the IC Library please contact me.   As much of your work will be done online, I've linked to primarily only information below, including articles, e-books, and websites.  Note that many of the canned searches are starting points only.  I can assist you with more targeted research by phone or email (see top right); I can also create a visual how-to on the fly using SnagIt or share my screen using join.me.

Let's stay connected:

Get to know the library

In addition to our databases did you know:
  • The library is on the 2nd through 5th floor of the Gannett Center. Here are some maps to find our service points and books.  There is wireless access in the library.
  • Digital Media Lab (3rd floor). Practice presentations, scan images, plug in your laptop, or use the software to create and edit multimedia projects.  There is a "Hardware and Software" guide to the library that lists what the library has.
  • 24/7 Access. Authenticate into library computers and databases (on campus or off) using your Netpass account (email user name and password). 
  • We have wireless access. Bring your laptop or borrow a library laptop at the Circulation desk.
  • Printing is free.  Sign into a library computer using your Novell account.  Printing goes to the IT student helper at the Circulation desk.
  • Check the library hours at the top of the library's homepage.
  • There is a tab to access Reserves. E-Reserves can be accessed in Sakai. Books on reserve can be accessed at the Circulation desk.
  • Check out books, laptops and supplies at the Circulation desk.  You'll get an email reminder when the book is almost due (generally you can have books out for a "block" -- a half a semester).   Renew books through the library's catalog (click "login" from the library's homepage).  Here is our Circulation Policy that defines how long you can check out different items (DVDs, books, computers, Reserves).

Selected databases & reference books

On the graduate level, you’ll likely search in subject-specific databases. If you use my for Communication Management & Design, you’ll view some of the best resources we have on the subject.  Find  a full list of guides by clicking on the Research Guides tab from the library's homepage. For a list of guides that I have created click here

The following resources cover literature in communication, business, education, sociology and psychology.  LexisNexis is great for business, news, and legal information.  The Business databases (Business Source Premier and ABI/Inform) are especially good for case studies. The Encyclopedia of Communication Theory is a great resource for theory.  Access all of the library's databases from on campus or off 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  You may be prompted for your Netpass.  This is another word for your email user name and password. 
  1. Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)   Top database for communication research.
    Demo search: "strategic communication" W5 plan*
  2. Encyclopedia of communication theory
    REF P87.5 .E496 2009  It is in the Reference section (back right of the 2nd floor)
  3. LexisNexis Academic Use this for current news, law and business information.
  4. Business Source Premier (Original Interface)   This is on an EBSCO platform and can be searched with CMMC.
  5. ABI/INFORM Complete A good business database.
  6. ERIC (Ebsco interface)   Top database for education research.
  7. Professional Development Collection
    Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
  8. SocINDEX with Full Text   Top database for research in sociology.
  9. PsycINFO   Top database for research in psychology.
  10. ebrary
    Over 109,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use. Demo search "Communication in management" as a subject

Music and Film: Multimedia Services desk

Find Music (CDs) and Films (feature films, tv shows, and documentaries) at our Multimedia Services desk on the 3rd floor of the Gannett Center (the library occupies the second through 5th floors of Gannett --here is a map). Be sure to search for the CD or DVD number before you go to the Multimedia services desk.  They'll pull the disc and check it out to you.  Items should be returned to a slot on the desk. These are videos I tagged in Pinboard, a social bookmarking software:

Browse Journals for Strat Com

Lists of fulltext journals by category: Specific journal titles that might be of interest. You can set up content alerts through the databases.  Sometimes you may wish to set up alerts via the publisher's website:

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

Interlibrary Loan

If the library does not own a book or article you need, will borrow it through our Interlibrary Loan (a.k.a. ILL) service.  A link to it can be found under the Services tab of the library's homepage.. There is no fee for this service.  Books can take a week or two.  Articles are often received within 2 business days; the process is done electronically.   I'm also welcome to taking suggestions for book purchases.  Just email me your suggestion.

Cathy's blog

Loading ...

Clicking the GET IT arrow

GET IT icon

When searching, if you see the "GET IT" icon, click on it. You'll be taken to the full text or to ILL if full text is unavailable.

Citing Sources Using APA

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for many disciplines in the social sciences. The current edition is the sixth (2010).

What is Zotero?

Zotero is software that allows you to easily collect, manage, and save bibliographic information about the items you find on the Web. It also works with word processing programs to help you easily cite your sources as you write. You can download Zotero from the Zotero website.

Ron Gilmour, our Science Librarian, created, "A Brief Guide to Using Zotero"