Culture & Communication

Best Bets: Databases

Note:  The "Article QuickSearch" in the dashboard (see right column) searches across all EBSCO scholarly datbases including:  CMMC, BSP, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, SocIndex, PsycInfo, and Academic Search Premier.  I reccommend it as a starting place.  For more search control using field codes and databases thesaurus, search the databases one at a time.

Communications
  1. Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)   Top index to the field of communications. Trade and scholarly.  EBSCO interface.
  2. Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection  Twelve fulltext journals in the field of communications by the publisher SAGE
  3. Film Literature Index (Archive) Online (1976-2001)
  4. Film Literature Index (Print)(1973-2004) REF PN1993.A1 F4
Social Sciences
  1. ERIC (Ebsco interface)   Top index for education research.
  2. Professional Development Collection   Smaller index that focuses on professional education.
  3. SocINDEX with Full Text  Top index for sociology research.
  4. PsycINFO  Top index for pscyhology research.
Humanities:
  1. Art Full Text  Top index for art and photography.  See Art Index Retrospective for indexing from 1929-1984.
  2. Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
  3. ARTstor
  4. JSTOR  Full-text of top journals in the humanities. Moving wall of 3-5 years.
  5. MLA International Bibliography  Top index for literature, language, and film.
  6. Project Muse  Full-text of top journals in the humanities. Moving wall of 2-3 years.
General
Any of the databases below are good to search on any topic.
  1. Academic Search Premier   (EBSCO) Multidisciplinary database on an 
  2. ProQuest Research Library  (ProQuest) Multidisciplinary database.
  3. Academic OneFile (GALE) Multidisciplinary database that focuses on academic research.
  4. General OneFile (GALE)  Multidisciplinary database that focuses on top newspapers and magazines articles.
  5. ebrary   Multidisciplinary database of full-text ebooks.
News
  1. LexisNexis Academic  International and national news, wires, and transcripts.
  2. Gannett Newsstand Complete (ProQuest, includes the Ithaca Journal)
  3. New York State Newspapers  (GALE, does not include the Ithaca Journal)
  4. AP Images  Photojournalism database.

Reference

Books:
  • Communication Abstracts v. 3 (1980) - v. 27 (2004) PER P87 .C59733  Use Communication and Mass Media Complete for current scholarship.
  • Communication Yearbook P87 .C629
    Published by the International Communication Association. Approximately 25 state of the art review essays on research and theory from each of the ICA's divisions and research groups.
  • Critical dictionary of film and television theory REF PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
    Definitions related to film and television theory
  • A Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
    Bloomsbury Academic, 2012, 8th ed.
  • Dictionary of the Social Sciences
    The over 1,800 entries in this dictionary contains definitions and biographies of major figures. Entries span from classic to modern theories and include major issues and methodologies.
  • Bacon's Radio Directory
    REF HE8664 .B33
    Lists radio stations by geography, lists radio programs by title, and also lists the top 210 Designated Market Areas (DMAs) for radio as compiled by the AC Neilsen company. Information for each station includes wattage, a short profile, lead times for advertising, and contacts.
  • Encyclopedia of communication theory
    REF P87.5 .E496 2009
    SAGE, 2009.
  • Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film
    REF PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006
    International in scope, this 3 volume set contains over 800 entries and 200 film stills. Entries cover film makers, films, themes, styles, techniques, and production companies.
  • Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
    Scholarly overview of international media topics. Covers all media types (advertising, books, Internet, etc.) & media outlets (radio, television, etc.). Provides history, theory, and topical issues such as ethics, reporting of disasters, and copyright.
  • Encyclopedia of media and politics
    REF P95.82 .U6 E47 2007
    CQ Press, 2007.
  • Encyclopedia of political communication
    REF JA85 .E65 2008
    Kaid & Holtz-Bacha (eds.). Sage Publication, 2008.
  • Encyclopedia of Television
    Published by the Museum of Broadcast Communications, this resource includes nearly 1,000 entries covering all aspects of television. Articles are signed and contain photos as well as bibliographic references.
  • Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 through 2007
    McFarland, 2009.
  • Greenwood encyclopedia of world popular culture
    REF HM621 .G74 2007
    Greenwood Press, 2007.
  • The handbook of communication ethics
    P94 .H353 2011
     Cheney, May & Munshi. New York: Routledge, 2011.
  • The handbook of critical intercultural communication
    HM1211 .H34 2010
    Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2010. 
  • The handbook of gender, sex, and media
    REF P96.S5 H36 2012
     Ross (ed.) Malden : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
  • The handbook of intergroup communication
    HM716 .H36 2012
    Giles (ed.).  New York : Routledge, 2012.
  • The Handbook of Internet Studies
    HM1017 .H36 2011
    Consalvo and Ess. Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
  • The handbook of media and communication research: qualitative and quantitative methodologies
    London ; New York : Routledge, 2012.
  • History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
    REF P92.U5 H55 1998
    Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c1998.
  • Hollywood Creative Directory
    REF PN1998 .A1 H58
    A directory of the motion picture industry including producers and directors. Current year only.
  • International Television & Video Almanac
    This annual reference covers: the year in television &video, biographies, television series, stations & ownership, networks-cable- satellite & wireless, production services, DVD &video distributors, professional organizations, and coverage of the world market. Latest ed. is at the Reference desk. 1957+ (with some gaps) are in General stacks.
  • Mandy's International Film and Television Production Directory
    Includes a searchable database of jobs and Internship opportunities in theatre, fim, TV, and radio.
  • Mass media : a chronological encyclopedia of television, radio, motion pictures, magazines, newspapers, and books in the United States
    REF P92.U5 H77 1987
    Garland Pub., 1987.
  • Media effects : advances in theory and research
    New York : Routledge/Taylor and Francis, 2008. e-Book (single user only).
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio
    REF TK6544 .M84 2004
    New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. 3 vols.
  • OECD Communications Outlook 2013
    OECD, 2013. Communications Outlook reports on the communications industry of member countries: trends, policy, telecommunications market, networks, and internet infrastructure. Available free in PDF format. 
  • OECD Information Technology Outlook 2012
    OECD, 2012. 280 pages.   Downloadable as a PDF.
  • Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 2010
    Industry reports on the entertainment and media industry. Only one person at a time can view this e-book.
  • SAGE Handbook of Media Studies
    REF P90 .S18 2004
  • The SAGE handbook of media processes and effects
    P94 .S24 2009
     Nabi & Oliver. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
  • The SAGE handbook of political communication
    JA85 .S24 2012
    Semetko and Scammell (eds.). Los Angeles ; London : SAGE, 2012.
  • Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
    Provides a comprehensive introduction to film and film studies, covering topics such as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory, and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting, career profiles, etc. 
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
    REF E169.1 .J3 2013

    Substantive essays and brief entries on all aspects of popular culture in the United States during the 20th century. Most include bibliographies. 5 vols.

  • Television cartoon shows: an illustrated encyclopedia, 1949 through 2003
    2nd ed., McFarland & Co., 2005.
  • Television variety shows : histories and episode guides to 57 programs REF PN1992.8 .V3 I56 2006
    McFarland, 2006.
  • Television & cable factbook
    REF TK6540 .T463
    Lists cable and television stations by geographic area. Shows coverage area maps, DMA information including # of households with cable and television. Programming offered by cable companies, etc. 4 volumes. Library retains current edition only.
  • TV Guide Periodicals PN1992.3 .U5 T12
    Popular magazine that lists television shows and industry stories. Library has v.22, no. 1 (1974) to current. Bound volumes are in Periodicals (4th floor) and current issues are in to Pop Periodical section near the reference desk.
  • World Radio TV Handbook (WRTH)
    REF TK6540 .W67
    A directory of global broadcasting (radio and television) now in its 60th year of publication. Arranged alphabetically by country.
Website Portals to television and radio:
  • Blinkx
    Video search engine.
  • epguides.com
    Episode Lists for over 4000 TV shows. Each list displays only titles and airdates, in most cases the episode title is a link to the page for that episode at TV.com, where there is more information such as guest stars and a plot summary.
  • IMDB Internet Movie Database
    Provides background information on motion pictures, television shows, and series.
  • iTunes (Apple)
    Movies, music, television, lectures, games, etc. from Apple. Users must download the iTunes software.  Digital Media can be streamed through a personal computer or downloaded to an iPod.
  • Pandora
    Internet radio established in 2000 that uses the Music Genome Project to select songs that appeal to individual listeners.
  • RadioTime (Radio Time)
    Listen live to radio broadcasts from around the world.  Browse by continent, then by country to find a desired language and format (talk radio, music genre). Or search by country (Israel or Saudi Arabia for example), Create an account to select your favorite stations, and sync with your personal devices.
  • Radio Locator
    Radio station search engine with links to over 10,000 radio station web pages and over 2500 audio streams from radio stations in the U.S. and around the world.
  • Radio Station World
    An international listing of radio stations around the world.  Listen to broadcasts in the language of your choice.
  • Spotify
    Free online music streaming service that allows users to create playlists, share music, and find music.  Premium accont holders can use Spotify on their mobile phone and in an offline mode.
  • TV Guide: Online Video Guide
    Video portal that contains current tv clips, search engine, browse by genre, commercials, etc. Search by date, genre, and/or network.
  • Veoh
    TV site that is unique for its inclusion of Disney's ABC TV shows such as Lost, Desperate Housewives, Grey's Anatomy, Jimmy Kimmel Live and Ugly Betty. Additionally: ESPN programs, Anime, and some gaming videos are included. Some videos are from sourced from Hulu.
  • Vevo
    Site for streaming music videos created by a partnership between Universal Music Group, Sony Music Entertainment, and Abu Dhabi Media company.

Associations

Children and the Media

Background:
  • Children, adolescents, and the media
    HQ784.M3 S78 2009
    Strasburger, Wilson & Jordan. Los Angeles : Sage , c2009. 2nd ed.
  • Children, adolescents, and media violence : a critical look at the research
    HQ784.M3 K5677 2012
    Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2012.
  • Children, Young People and Media Globalisation. Yearbook 2002
    Nordicom, 2002, 262 p. Editors: Cecilia von Feilitzen, Ulla Carlsoon. From the International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media. This yearbook is available in PDF format.
  • Contemporary youth culture: an international encyclopedia
    REF HQ796 .C8454 2006
    Greenwood Press, 2006. Covers popular culture, subculture and youth culture worldwide.
  • Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents and the Media
    REF HQ784 .M3 E53 2007
    Sage Publications, 2007. Entries on children and the internet, video games, television, etc.
  • Handbook of children and the media
    REF HQ784.T4 H29 2012
    Edited by Dorothy G. Singer, Jerome L. Singer. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, c2012.
  • The handbook of children, media, and development
    HQ784.M3 H26 2008
    Calvert and Wilson (eds.).  Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2008.
Books by Subject: Articles: Journals Organizations: Related Guides

Historical Media

Databases:
Articles: Journals: ​Reference:
Websites:
  • AdViews
    Over 1,500 historic TV commercials from the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in the Duke University Special Collections Library.  As of fall 2009, the majority of advertisements are from the 50s and 80s.    Requires iTunes software.
  • Al Jazeera: Creative Commons Repository
    Footage released by Al Jazeera network under a Creative Commons license. As of October 2009 the repository contains Arabic and English video footage from the war on Gaza.
  • American Black Journal: Documenting Detriot & American History from African-American Perspectives
    This televsion program filmed in Detroit provides media coverage of the African American Community. 1968+    Michigan State University and Detroit Public Television collaborated on preserving the program. 
  • American Memory: Advertising
    From the Library of Congress's American Memory project, this site includes 6 collections: Duke University's Emergence of Advertising in America (E.A.A.) (1850-1920); Broadsides and Printed Ephemera (1600-2000); Coca-Cola Advertising (1951-1999); Coolidge Era (1924-1929); Edison Companies; and Posters, WPA (1936-1943). Collections contain images and streaming video.
  • American Memory: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
    150 digitized films from the Library of Congress. Includes agricultural, industrial and recreational activities of Americans from 1894-1915. See also:  American Silent Feature Film Database, 1912-1929
  • American Memory: Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals
    Twenty three 19th century periodicals have been scanned in fulltext. Includes the Atlantic Monthly, The Century, Scientific American, and Harper's. The collection can be browsed or searched.
  • American Memory: Photos and Prints
    An historical collection of images reflecting the life in the United States
  • American Rhetoric
    A database of over 5000 full text, audio, and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates and interviews.
  • American Women Making History and Culture
    A collection of historical (1950s-70s) audio recordings concerning women and the women's movement produced by a consortium of Pacifica Radio and the UC Berkeley Social Activism Sound Recording Project.
  • Archive of American Television
    Access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession. 
  • BBC Motion Gallery
    BBC programming (over 70 years) and CBS News footage.
  • C. Hadley Smith Photograph Collection
    Digitized photographs of Ithaca College people, events, and buildings, from 1950 into the 1980s.  Part of the New York Heritage online database.
  • C-SPAN Video Library
    A digital archive of C-SPAN's extensive video coverage. The site provides access to 98% of all C-SPAN programs aired since 1987.  Search by speakers, subjects, sponsors, keyword, words spoken or date. The Congressional Chronicle feature is a chronological organization of all speakers and actions on the floor of the U.S. House and Senate. Each speaker's appearance is linked to the remarks as printed in the Congressional Record and to the related video clip. The Flash video player allows for clipping, posting, and mailing of individual speeches.
  • Cigarette Ads

    Online color magazine ads from the 1920s through the 1950s glamorizing cigarette smoking.

  • Digital Collections: a Gateway to Materials held by the NY State Archives, Musuem, and Library
    Primary source material collections include: Native American Collection, Environmental History Collection, Harlem Hellfighters Collection, Factory Investigating Commission, NY Chamber of Commerce Portraits, NY Lantern Slides Collection, Fairchild Aerial Surveys, NY State Conservation Department Photographic Prints and Negatives, Erie Canal.
  • Early Visual Media
    by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
  • Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
    Duke University archival collection of over 9,000 advertisements from 1850-1920
  • Experimental Television Center (ETC)
    A Center founed in 1971 that supports the media arts community.  The website includes the Video History Project that provides information about people, tools, collection, preservation, etc. on video history.
  • Folkstreams.net
    A national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures are streamed on the website.  The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. These background materials highlight the history and aesthetic importance of the traditions and the films.
  • Google Books
    Search the full-text of millions of books and magazines -click the "Full view only" button to find full-text books or magazines.   Newer titles still under copyright can be searched, but the full-text is not viewable.  Use the "Find this book in a library" link to see if the IC Library has the title. Enter 14850 to see a list of local libraries that own the book.   If IC is listed, clicking on the link will take you to the record in the IC Library catalog, displaying its call number and availability.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library
    A collaborative project of several research-level academic libraries across the United States, HathiTrust is a digital repository for scanned books and other digital materials similar to Google Books.  In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are available in full text at HathiTrust.
  • Internet Archive Includes the CNN Transcript Collection and a News and Public Affairs collection (see also listed as the "Prelinger Archives" below)
  • National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)
    The Mass Media & Culture special collection at the University of Maryland Libraries is an archival collection of audio-video recordings, broadcast transcripts, pamphlets, periodicals, photos and other materials focusing on the history of broadcasting. 
  • List of online newspaper archives (Wikipedia)
    Lists online newspaper archive projects by nation and by state. Distinguishes free collections from fee-based ones.
  • Media History Digital Library
    A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.  
  • Movieclips
    Over 12,000 short movie clips from major studios. Either search or browse to find clips.  It even searches dialogue. Clips can be shared.  Users are prompted to create an account and agree to the Terms of Service.
  • NBC News Archives on Demand
    Subscription database of NBC news stories (Ithaca College Library does not subscribe to this).  Guests can browse and search videos.  A 30 day free trial is available.
  • New York Heritage Digital Collections
    A research portal to hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions. Search the digital collections from libraries, museum, and archives.
  • Mike Wallace Interview
    Collection of broadcasts from the the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. Interviews from the the early 1960s broadcast features leading senators, artists, and politicians from the period.
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC): Archives
    Located in Chicago, the MBC provides publications, events, a searchable archive, and a Radio Hall of Fame to preserve and protect the history of radio and television. MBC's archives includes television and radio programming, commercials and images.  Users must register for a free account.  Check the Digital File Available box to retrieve fulltext. NOTE:  the archives server is currently not working; MBC is working on it and it should be fixed by Fall 2013.
  • Museum of the Moving Image
    Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media. It does so by collecting, preserving, and providing access to moving-image related artifacts; screening significant films and other moving-image works; presenting exhibitions of artifacts, artworks, and interactive experiences; and offering educational and interpretive programs to students, teachers, and the general public.The site includes a Research Guide.
  • National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)
    The Mass Media & Culture special collection at the University of Maryland Libraries is an archival collection of audio-video recordings, broadcast transcripts, pamphlets, periodicals, photos and other materials focusing on the history of broadcasting. 
  • Newseum
    Front pages from US newspapers and international newspapers are posted daily. Geographic and alphabetical by title searching is available. 
  • Open Vault (WGBH)
    Free online streaming video of historically significant videos produced by WGBH. Includes transcripts. On a separate site is the WGBH American Experience television series; many of the the episodes can be viewed online.
  • Paley Center for Media
    With Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio. Paley Center on YouTube.
  • Pulp Magazines Project
    An archive of all-fiction pulpwood magazines from 1896-1946.
  • Reanimation Library Image Collection
    Images (photos, drawings, illustrations, etc.) collected from outdated instructional books and manuals. Useful for historic look at graphics, or pop culture kitsch.
  • Richard Balzer Collection
    Contains online versions of early opitcal illusions such as zoetropes, dissolve slides, and thaumatropes.
  • Shorpy Photo Archive
    High quality archive of old photos particularly from the 1850s to the 1950s.
  • Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
    Professional organization of college and university educators who study the history and creation of film, television and media. Publisher of the Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film & Media Educators.
  • Thanhouser Films Online
    A collection of streaming silent films from Thanhouser Company Film Preservation, Inc.  The company seeks donations to help support future releases.
  • Tellytunes.com
    British site that contains TV tile videos, lyrics, radio jingles, and advertisements. Content is not limited to Great Britain; many of the programs are from the U.S.
  • UCLA News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection  The UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
  • UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScape (2005-present).  Contains streaming news content to the UCLA community.  Streaming of current news programming from major networks will be embargoed for 30 days.  
  • Wellcome Collection
    Over 40,000 high quality images in both color & black and white covering "2000 years of human culture". Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences.
Archival Coverage of Special Events
  • Superstorm Sandy  National Association of Broadcasters released these mini-docs, "highlighting the role of local radio and TV stations during Superstorm Sandy...The videos were produced by the University of Oklahoma and University of Alabama..."
  • Understanding 9/11 : A Television news archive From the Internet Archive this is, "a library of news coverate of the events of 9/11/2001 and thier aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters. ".
  • NOLA.com  : Hurricane Katrina. "Latest news, photos, videos and complete archives of storm, struggle and recovery"
  • Shots of War: Photojournalism during the Spanish Civil War
    Contains photos of the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) from the Mandeville Special Collections Library at UC San Diego.
Related Guides:

International & Intercultural Communication

Reference: Books by Subject: Books: Journals: Websites
  • American Black Journal: Documenting Detriot & American History from African-American Perspectives
    This televsion program filmed in Detroit provides media coverage of the African American Community. 1968+    Michigan State University and Detroit Public Television collaborated on preserving the program. 
  • ARGYLEtv
    Distributes international television programming worldwide in numerous languages.  Try clicking one of the counties at the base of the homepage to begin. May require a special plugin to view; Many not run on Macs.
  • Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC)
    Non-profit NGO located in Singapore that promotes media and communications in Asia. This membership organization offers research, publication and events.
  • Babelgum
    Free (ad supported) international film and television site that streams through Internet.
  • BBC News: Country Profiles
    Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives. Contain information on the different types of press available in the country.
  • Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)
    Formed as a result of EU Telecom reform, the BEREC promotes consistency amongst electronic communications regulations.  The Documentation tab contains pdf versions of ERG documents.
  • Centre for Intercultural Learning: Country Insights
    From the Canadian Department of Foreign Affairs, this resource  assists with intercultural communications.  You can choose a country and learn about conversation and communication styles. See also: Culture Crossing
  • Center for Media & Communication Studies (CMCS)
    Research Center based at Central European University in Budapest that researches media and communications for public policy development.
  • China Media Observatory (CMO)
    Created in 2006 by the Faculty of Communication Sciences at the University of Lugano in Switzerland, the CMO studies Chinese media. It generates research, newsletters, and other documents that are available through its website.
  • Cineuropa
    This European cinema portal contains news, trailers, interviews, and reports about the European film industry.
  • Communication for Governance & Accountability Program (CommGAP)

    Part of The World Bank, CommGAP, "promotes the use of communication to help governance reform programs work under real-world conditions, as well as promote the building of democratic public spheres."

  • Crunchyroll
    Leading global video service for Japanese anime and Asian media. 
  • Current TV (Al Jazeera)
    Established in 2005, Current TV is a leading cable and satelite television network.  News and information programming is produced and programed by its youth audience.  In January 2013, it was sold by from co-founders Al Gore and Joel Hyatt to Al Jazeera who plans to use it to distribute news in the United States.  see also: Al Jazeera: Creative Commons Repository
  • DRACE : Digital Radio Cultures in Europe
    Research group from the Dept. of Info. Science and Media Studies, University of Bergen, that specializes in cross-national research about digital radio and sound media.
  • EUscreen
    "EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today." Content is included in the Eurpeana online archive.
  • Europa : European Union On-Line
    Gateway to European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Go to the Documents tab to connect to EUR-LEX (E.U. Law), the Bulletin of the E.U., and other agency materials.
  • Europa Film Treasures
  • Europe's Information Society
    European Union thematic portal on information society and media and policies (audiovisual, copyright, digital libraries, internet, etc.).
  • European Broadcasting Union (EBU-UER)
    An association of national broadcasters that promotes the exchange of audiovideo content.  Publications include: EBU viewpointEBU Technical, and various strategic reports Topical issues include reports on specific issues under the categories of: Cultural diversity, sports, copyright, and DRM.  The EurovisionTV page includes tabs on: Music &Dance, Children &Youth, Fiction, Entertainment, Documentary, Science &Education, etc.
  • European Television History Network (ETHN)
    Research network of scholars, archivists, and institutions that research the history of television in Europe.
  • Europeana
    European collection of cultural materials from museums, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. Includes images, texts, sounds and videos.
  • Eurovision Song Contest
    European television show founded in in May,1956. The History tab includes an overview year-by-year or by country.
  • Gateway to Associations
    Searchable site from the American Society of Association Executives.
  • Immigrant Archive Project
    Established by the Latino Broadcasting Company (LBC), Immigrants from all nations can record their stories and post them to this site so they can be shared.
  • Inter Press Service (IPS)
    Global news agency that commits itself to underreported stories. Global themes include: Poverty, Civil Society, Sustainable Development, Globalisation and the South, Dialogue among civilisations, and Human Rights &Gender issues. Member of the COM+ Alliance of communicators for sustainable development.
  • International Association of Business Communicators (IABC)
    Founded in 1970, this organization serves business communicators who work in PR, Corporate communications, Public Affairs, Investor relations, Government Relations, etc.
  • International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR)
    Worldwide professional organization in the field of communication research (more About IAMCR). They have compiled a list of Open Access Journals in the field of communications.
  • International Communication Association (ICA)
    Associated with the UN, this organization consists of international scholars in all aspects of communications research.
  • Krogh Foreign Affairs Digital Archives
    Digitized episodes from three television series between 1981 and 2005: American Interests, World Beat, and Great Decisions (the latter in collaboration with the Foreign Policy Association). Topics covered:  energy, human rights, media and communications, defense, environment, immigration, and terrorism.
  • Media Cloud
    Data tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visulizes the flow of the media.
  • Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI)
    Description from the website: The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East through the region's media. MEMRI bridges the language gap which exists between the West and the Middle East, providing timely translations of Arabic, Persian,Turkish, Urdu-Pashtu media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East.
  • MoviePlex (Yahoo! India)
    Free ad-supported Bollywood movies.
  • Native Networks
    Initiated by the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, this site is a guide to media produced by people in Hawaii and the Americas.
  • New America Media (NAM)
    Founded by Pacific News Service in 1996, NAM collaborates with over 2000 ethnic news organizations to disseminate stories. Readers can chose stories by ethnicities or by special beats.
  • Newslink
    Portal to newspapers, radio and t.v. stations, magazines, and international news. Can browse by state or search by city.
  • Pew Global Attitudes Survey
    Gauges public attitudes toward globalization, democracy, and other issues. Users can view all of these reports on the site and also see the datasets used to craft each report.
  • Pop!Tech Pop!Casts
    Pop!Tech is a conference of big thinkers on science, technology & the future of ideas. Subscribe to Pop!Cast videos or audio Pop!Casts via iTunes.
  • Producers' Guide to Digital Rights Management
    An online document prepared by California Newsreel to assist media with understanding digital distribution. The document is presented from the perspective of a distributor and reflects that point of view.
  • Towards a New Model: Media and Communication in Post-conflict and Fragile States
    World Bank, Sept. 2008. Shanthi Kalathil with John Langlois and Adam Kaplan. To download the pdf, you must put in your name, organization, and field of work.
  • UNESCO Communications and Information Sector
    UNESCO's CI sector provides resources and information to communication issues worldwide. Programs include: International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) and Information for All Program (IFAP). Issues include: access to information, capacity building, content development, freedom of expression, media development, and memory of the world. Users can sign up for the CI Weekly News for updates.
  • Union of International Organizations : databases
    The following UIA databases are searchable for free: Encyclopedia of World Problems and Human Potential, IGO Search, Logotypes of International Organizations, and Transnational Associations Online. Users can create an account for added features.
  • World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA)
    International organization located in France that supports the ideals of newspaper reporters and publishers worldwide.
  • YOU on Demand
    Video on demand and pay-per-view platform for China.
Related Guides:

Media Ecology

Definition: 
Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Semiotics
    REF P99 .E64 1998
    Bouissa (ed.).  New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. Articles on the theory of signs, signification, representation, communication, and meaning.
  • Critical dictionary of film and television theory REF PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
    Definitions related to film and television theoryEncyclopedia of communication theory
    REF P87.5 .E496 2009
    SAGE, 2009.
Books by Subject: Books by Author: Articles Journals: Websites: Related Guides: arch Methods
Television - Radio

Media Effects

Definition: "Effects of the Mass Media" in Dictionary of Media and Communication.

Reference: Books (General) Books (Special Topics: Press Coverage)
(do an Advanced Search on the phrase Press coverage to find additional topics) Books (Special Topics: in Motion Pictures)
Refer to the Research Guide:  Reel Diversity

Articles Journals Organization: Related Guides:

Media Literacy & Critical Thinking

Definition: Databases:
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    Database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Use to research contemporary writings on general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, science, theater reviews, and film reviews.
  • Tompkins County Public Library (TCPL)
    The local public library is located at 101 East Green Street not far from the Ithaca Commons.   All residents, including students, living in Tompkins County can be issued a library card.  The library is especially useful for researchers needing popular magazines for media literacy research. They keep 3 years of most titles. They provide local history information, too.  The Finger Lakes Library System catalog (PowerPAC) has holdings for all public libraries in Tompkins County (DVDs, CDs, audobooks).
Reference: Books: Articles: Journals: Organizations:
  • Adbusters
    From the Adbusters Media Foundation, this is the online companion to the activist magazine that mocks commercial advertising and offers media criticism through edgy articles and images.
  • AdSlogans
    AdSlogan.com, a UK company, posted materials for students and educators such as SloganMaker, Sloganalysis, Brand Categories, & the Advertising Slogan Hall of Fame (the best ads of the past 100 years). TV ads can be viewed in full. Note: this page is no longer updated as of 2006 but is still useful
  • Advertising Educational Foundation (AEF)
    Educational arm of the advertising industry. the On campus page includes case histories, educational materials, speaker presentations, etc.  Here is the Ad Council Retrospective page.
  • Annenberg Learner - Teacher Resources
    Educational, online videos in many subjects. Select from the list and then look for the VoD (Video On Demand) icon for the free content. Free registration required.
  • Association for Informal Logic & Critical Thinking 
  • Bag News Notes
    Progressive blog by Michael Shaw, clinical psychologist, that analyzes news images.
  • Center for Media Literacy (CML)
    Educational organization that helps put research into practice.
  • Fast Food FACTS
    Yale University health researchers (Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity)  developed this site of facts on advertising food to youth for consumers and researchers.
  • International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR)
    Worldwide professional organization in the field of communication research (more About IAMCR). They have compiled a list of Open Access Journals in the field of communications.
  • Media Education Foundation
    Organization that produces educational documentaries that examines American mass media's impact on society.
  • Media Education Lab
    University of Rhode Island, Harrington School's program that focuses on media education through curriculum materials, publications, workshops, seminars, etc.
  • Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT)
    Peer reviewed online materials for teaching and learning. Indexes, defines, and links to online materials on the web.
  • NARC Online Archives
    Case reports of the National Advertising Division (NAD), Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU), National Advertising Review Board (NARB), and the Electronic Retailing Self-Regulation Program (ERSP).  NOTE: See the reference desk; A reference librarian will sign you in to access the fulltext of the cases.
  • National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)
    Organization focused on media literacy in the United States. 
  • News Literacy Project  A national program to teach news literacy in high schools.
  • Open Thinking Wiki
    Dr. Alec Couros's list of videos that can be used in teaching technological and media literacy including: copyright, media influence, the history of technology and media, social networks and identity, mashups, stop motion, animation and short films, public service announcements, cyberbullying and internet safety, and documentaries.
  • Ofcom : Office of Communications   OfCom has a whole page of Media Literacy Research.
  • Project Look Sharp
    Project Look Sharp provides materials, training and support to help teachers prepare students for life in today's media saturated world. Project Look Sharp promotes the effective integration of media literacy and critical thinking into classroom curricula at all educational levels and instructional areas. Project Look Sharp also evaluates the effectiveness of school-based media literacy education.
Related Guides:

News Analysis Organizations

  • Editorials on File REF AP2 .E2
    Loose-leaf volumes that compile editorials of the day. Also a source to find political cartoons. Library has from 1995-2004. Continued by Facts.com
  • Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
    A national media watch group that monitors media bias and censorship.
  • Pew Research: Journalism Project
    Assesses the state of news in society. Includes a link to The State of the News Media Annual Report as well as other research reports and analysis.
  • Media Cloud
    Data tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visulizes the flow of the media.
  • Media Channel
    Non-profit organization conducting analysis of the media in the public interest.
  • Media Education Foundation
    Organization that produces educational documentaries that examines American mass media's impact on society.
  • Media Education Lab
    University of Rhode Island, Harrington School's program that focuses on media education through curriculum materials, publications, workshops, seminars, etc.
  • Media Matters for America
    Progressive news monitoring organization.
  • National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)
    Organization focused on media literacy in the United States.
  • Newsflow
    Real-time map of news reporting from the MIT Center for Civic Media.
  • Newsy: Multisource video news
    According to the About page, Newsy is the, "only video news service that allows users to compare bias by highlighting nuances in reporting."
  • On the Media
    On the Media is a National Public Radio Program that reflects on how the media covered events in the weekly news. It also discusses issues in the media such as freedom of information.
  • Pew Research Center for People and the Press
    Organization that conducts national surveys on the politics and the media. Includes data sets, reports, and links to polls.
  • Project Look Sharp
    Project Look Sharp provides materials, training and support to help teachers prepare students for life in today's media saturated world. Project Look Sharp promotes the effective integration of media literacy and critical thinking into classroom curricula at all educational levels and instructional areas. Project Look Sharp also evaluates the effectiveness of school-based media literacy education.
Related Guide:

Political Communication

Reference:
  • Encyclopedia of media and politics
    REF P95.82 .U6 E47 2007
    CQ Press, 2007.
  • Encyclopedia of political communication
    REF JA85 .E65 2008
    Kaid & Holtz-Bacha (eds.). Sage Publication, 2008.
  • Propaganda and mass persuasion : a historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present REF HM1231 .C85 2003
    ABC-CLIO, 2003.
  • The SAGE handbook of political communication
    JA85 .S24 2012
    Semetko and Scammell (eds.). Los Angeles ; London : SAGE, 2012.
Books: Journals: Websites: Videos:
  • C-SPAN Video Library
    A digital archive of C-SPAN's extensive video coverage. The site provides access to 98% of all C-SPAN programs aired since 1987.  Search by speakers, subjects, sponsors, keyword, words spoken or date. The Congressional Chronicle feature is a chronological organization of all speakers and actions on the floor of the U.S. House and Senate. Each speaker's appearance is linked to the remarks as printed in the Congressional Record and to the related video clip. The Flash video player allows for clipping, posting, and mailing of individual speeches.
  • FORA.tv
    Streaming video of lectures in politics, business, technology, the world, and culture, from academics, think tanks, authors, politicians, etc.  Some videos are free and some are pay-per-view.
  • Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2008

    From the Museum of the Moving Image, visitors can stream political ads through history. Site includes lesson plans for high school teachers and links to online resources.

Related Guides:

Pop Culture Studies

Database:
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    Database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Use to research contemporary writings on general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, science, theater reviews, and film reviews.
Reference:
  • Contemporary youth culture: an international encyclopedia
    REF HQ796 .C8454 2006
    Greenwood Press, 2006. Covers popular culture, subculture and youth culture worldwide.
  • Greenwood encyclopedia of world popular culture
    REF HM621 .G74 2007
    Greenwood Press, 2007.
  • The handbook of gender, sex, and media
    REF P96.S5 H36 2012
     Ross (ed.) Malden : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
    REF E169.1 .J3 2013
  • Television cartoon shows: an illustrated encyclopedia, 1949 through 2003
    2nd ed., McFarland & Co., 2005.
  • Television variety shows : histories and episode guides to 57 programs REF PN1992.8 .V3 I56 2006
    McFarland, 2006.
  • TV Dimensions REF HE 8700.8 .T917
    Covers a wide variety of topics having to do with television viewership and programming including advertising, revenue, trends in viewing, etc. Published annually. Library retains 3 years in Reference.
Books: Journals: Websites: Related Guides:

Technology & Culture

Reference: Books: Journals: Websites: Related Guides:

Visual Communication

Be sure to aceess films in the library by searhing the FILM tab on the library's homepage.  For comics, pulp fiction and video games, see Pop Culture, above.

Databases: Reference: Book Subjects: Articles: Journals: Websites:
  • AATA Online (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)
    Abstracts of international literature for those involved in conservation of material cultural heritage, including works of art, cultural objects, architectural heritage, archaeological sites and landscape architecture/gardens.  Produced by the Getty Conservation Institute.
  • Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS)
    Preeminent motion picture association that is well known for the Oscars. The record of past Academy Award winners and nominees are included in the Academy Awards Database.
  • Ad*Access
    From Duke University Library's J.W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History, this database contains 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. & Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911-1955. Main subject areas include: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. Ads can be searched or browsed.
  • Advertising Icon Museum
    Search the toy icons of the online version of the museum to find out some of the history of the images including: Mr. Peanut, Tony the Tiger, and the Energizer Bunny.
  • American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA)
    The professional association of design.
  • American Memory: Advertising
    From the Library of Congress's American Memory project, this site includes 6 collections: Duke University's Emergence of Advertising in America (E.A.A.) (1850-1920); Broadsides and Printed Ephemera (1600-2000); Coca-Cola Advertising (1951-1999); Coolidge Era (1924-1929); Edison Companies; and Posters, WPA (1936-1943). Collections contain images and streaming video.
  • American Memory: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
    150 digitized films from the Library of Congress. Includes agricultural, industrial and recreational activities of Americans from 1894-1915. See also:  American Silent Feature Film Database, 1912-1929
  • American Memory: Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals
    Twenty three 19th century periodicals have been scanned in fulltext. Includes the Atlantic Monthly, The Century, Scientific American, and Harper's. The collection can be browsed or searched.
  • American Memory: Photos and Prints
    An historical collection of images reflecting the life in the United States
  • All Graphic Design (AG Design)
    Contains posts related to graphic design, including hints about graphic design software, typography, and more.
  • Art Museum Image Gallery

    Art Museum Image Gallery draws on the collections of museums around the world. The images cover a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples.

  • ArturoSinclair.com
    Prof. Sinclair's site includes three blogs: 1) iMachina (research and practice in virtual worlds), 2) Interactive Storytelling (games and digital media) and 3) Experimental Hybrids (documents Sinclair's first multinational collaborative project and now his autonomous robotic marionette).
  • C. Hadley Smith Photograph Collection
    Digitized photographs of Ithaca College people, events, and buildings, from 1950 into the 1980s.  Part of the New York Heritage online database.
  • Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood (CCFC)
    A coalition of health care professionals, educators and parents who advocate against children's' exposure to commercialism through marketing. There are almost 30 member organizations.
  • Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU)
    A unit of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. that offers guidelines for advertising messages to young children.
  • Cigarette Ads

    Online color magazine ads from the 1920s through the 1950s glamorizing cigarette smoking.

  • Collect Britain

    Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs,newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings. Includes the Penny Illustrated Paper (1861-1913).

  • CPANDA (Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive)
    Archives data on arts, media, and cultural policy.
  • CRETV, Center for Research on the Effects of Television
  • Critical Commons : For Fair & Critical Participation in Media Culture
    This non-profit site supports teaching and research by hosting media clips that can be used for classroom instruction.  Faculty can add clips with commentary for class instruction by registering on the site as an advanced user.  Students who register as basic users can create links and post comments to videos.
  • Early Visual Media
    by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
  • Emmy Awards Official Database (Academy of Television Arts & Sciences)
    The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences awards database. Search for actor, program, network, or award category.
  • Family Online Safety Institute
    Non-profit organization of internet leaders working to develop a safer internet.
  • Harvey Richards Media Archive
    "The Archive contains a  treasure of images of the political and social upheavals of the 1960s on the west coast and of the devastating impact of capitalist resource exploitation in western forests, among other subjects."  The archive is created by Paul Richards, son of the artist.
  • Hermitage Museum: Digital Collection
    The outstanding collection at the Russian Hermitage Museum can be browsed or even searched by color.
  • Identity Archives
    A keyword-searchable database of logos and brand identity designs from around the world.
  • IMDB Internet Movie Database
    Provides background information on motion pictures, television shows, and series.
  • In Media Res
    A MediaCommons Project. This academic blog by the Institute for the Future of the Book (Annenberg Center for Communication at USC) and the MacArthur Foundation promotes discourse by posting 30 second clips by media scholars.
  • Information Aesthetics
    Blog of the intersection between creative design and information visualization. One especially good example is "5 years of Infosthetics": http://moritz.stefaner.eu/projects/5yrs-infosthetics/
  • International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media
    Located at NORDICOM, Goteborg University, Sweden, the Clearinghouse collects research on children and the media worldwide. Some books are free online; also check the library's catalog.
  • International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA)
    From the website: "The International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA) is an association of educators in partnership with industry, dedicated to sharing theories, principles, techniques and processes relating to graphic communications and imaging technology."  They publish the Visual Communications Journal.
  • International Visual Literacy Association (IVLA)
    Non-profit association of visual literacy educators and artists. Publishes the Journal of Visual Literacy.
  • Interactive Television Research Institute (ITRI)
    Educational Institute at Murdoch University, Australia, that teams academics with renowned commercial sponsors to produce reports, news, and study opportunities.
  • Internet Archive
    A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form - includes links to video, images, animation, live music, audio, text, and software.  Use the TV News Search and Borrow to find clips from news shows from 21 networks back to 2009.  There is a fee to borrow the entire program.  The Prelinger Archives includes over 5,000 videos, over 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, advertisements and industry films)
  • Life Magazine Photo Archives (powered by Google)
    Search LIFE Magazine images by keyword, browse by decade, or explore featured events, people, or places, from the 1860s - 1900s.  Names of photographers and the dates that photos were taken are identified.
  • Many Eyes
    Data analysis using visualizations to seek patterns.
  • metacritic.com
    Website that collates reviews from respected publications and applies an average score to the following categories: Movies, DVDs, TV shows, Music and Video Games.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art :Timeline of Art History (Heilbrunn)
    A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Includes chronological narratives, topical essays, and color illustrations of works of art. Covers 8000 B.C. to present.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: Works of Art
  • National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture (NAMAC)
    Advocates organization for independent media arts. Prof. Zimmermann will blog with the NAMAC's Idea Exchange.
  • No Caption Needed: Iconic Photographs, Public Culture, and Liberal Democracy
    Blog by Hariman, Northwestern University and Lucaites, Indiana University.
  • NYPL Digital Library
    Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'.  High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division.
  • Parents Television Council
    "A non-partisan education organization advocating responsible entertainment" -- website
  • Peabody Awards
    Presented annually since 1941 by the Grady College of J&MC at the University of Georgia the Peabody distributes awards to electronic media.
  • Posters and Election Propaganda
    A blog by Dr. Prof. Steven Seidman dedicated to the examination of communications in election campaigns.
  • Project Look Sharp
    Project Look Sharp provides materials, training and support to help teachers prepare students for life in today's media saturated world. Project Look Sharp promotes the effective integration of media literacy and critical thinking into classroom curricula at all educational levels and instructional areas. Project Look Sharp also evaluates the effectiveness of school-based media literacy education.
  • Reanimation Library Image Collection
    Images (photos, drawings, illustrations, etc.) collected from outdated instructional books and manuals. Useful for historic look at graphics, or pop culture kitsch.
  • Researcher's Toolbox (Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division)
    Website provides information and methods for exploring image history, processes, content, and meaning.  Includes a VIsual Literacy exercise and information on dating photographs based on clothing and portraiture styles.
  • Richard Balzer Collection
    Contains online versions of early opitcal illusions such as zoetropes, dissolve slides, and thaumatropes.
  • Shorpy Photo Archive
    High quality archive of old photos particularly from the 1850s to the 1950s.
  • Shots of War: Photojournalism during the Spanish Civil War
    Contains photos of the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) from the Mandeville Special Collections Library at UC San Diego.
  • Time Magazine Cover Archive
    Images of Time Magazine covers from 1923-current.
  • TVEyes: UK television and radio transcripts
    October 26, 2012- present. "TVEyes' provides real-time coverage of all terrestial & sattelite TV and radio broadcasters in all regions of United Kingdom. It provides a time-efficient and economical way to find out what is being said about any issue, any subject or any person through video and audio files including transcripts." -LexisNexis source information
  • Ubu Web
    Contains avant garde films, sound recordings, and papers of modern cinema, music, dance, theater and poetry.
  • Visual Literacy Toolbox: Learning to Read Images
    College of Arts &Humanities, University of Maryland College Park.  Resource for faculty who plan to incorporate visual literacy skills into their curricula. Includes: online activities, activity plans, questions to explore, and learning objectives.
  • Wellcome Collection
    Over 40,000 high quality images in both color & black and white covering "2000 years of human culture". Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences.
  • World Images
    The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. The images can be located using many search techniques, and for convenience they are organized into over 800 portfolios which are then organized into subject groupings.
  • Worldmapper
    "A collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest. The maps presented on this website are equal area cartograms, which re-size each territory according to the variable being mapped."
Related Guides:

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

New books on Communication

Loading ...

Find books by subject

Access Images in Popular Magazines

Need magazines with images?  Try this list of Popular Magazines available at or through I.C. Library.

Also try the Tompkins County Public Library.  Under their Reference and Research tab they have a link to Magazine and Newspaper titles.
 

Library Videos: Culture &Com

Loading ...

Library Videos: Youth Culture

Loading ...

Explorations in Media Ecology

Loading ...

National Alliance of Media Arts &Culture

Loading ...

NAMLE

Loading ...

Library Videos

Loading ...